We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Flying Fish Public Market & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bonz Restaurant Group's newest concept, Flying Fish Public Market & Grill, is located in Barefoot Landing in North Myrtle Beach. The newly renovated waterfront building located next to the Alabama Theatre features an assorted mix of local seafood, Lowcountry recipes and a raw bar with a wide variety of steamed shellfish and sushi. Flying Fish offers guests an additional and unique option for great casual dining on the water.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of visiting this restaurant a couple times over the years-- never a bad experience. There is typically a 40 minute wait for upper or outdoor seating, but the main floor is first come first serve and it is easy to get a seat there. I usually go during appetizer happy hour and get half off sushi and oysters. This week I got fresh swordfish with habanero chutney, and it was some of the best fish I have ever had. The side dishes they served with it were great as well. Service was good and the food was fantastic. I can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank lizgburg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish Public Market & Grill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for dining with us at the Flying Fish Public Market and Grill. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fresh seafood and attentive service. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,492
    734
    221
    68
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The food was Excellent, fresh fish, could pick out of case if desired. Great staff, dressed very nice. Expect a wait time if you get their around 6pm. They do have a nice bar if you want a cocktail while your waiting, pricing good & outdoor seating is available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sam414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish Public Market & Grill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for dining with us at the Flying Fish Public Market and Grill. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fresh seafood and delicious cocktails. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City
Level Contributor
159 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Discovery”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

In North Myrtle Beach looking for new places. We ended up in barefoot Landing which is a man made lake with shopping and restaurants. A really cool place with several options. We wanted something with fresh fish and was directed there by a friendly local. It is also located by the House of Blues so if they have booked a good band, dinner is just around the corner. It is a combination public fish market and restaurant. This scared me a bit but once inside, all fears went away. Very classy motif with the market/kitchen on the right downstairs. Cool bar and ample seating as well. we ate upstairs (inside) with a view of the inter coastal waterway and a harbor. Optional seating outside on the deck but they were busy. I had the grilled mahi and my gf had the blackened grouper. Both were excellent. The coconut shrimp appetizer can be a meal in itself - sooo good. 5 Fins! /\ /\ /\ /\ /\

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish Public Market & Grill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for dining with us at the Flying Fish Public Market and Grill. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fresh seafood and atmosphere. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have been to this restaurant a few times now and have never been dissapointed. The food is excellent and the service is great. Love the look of this place with the high ceilings, fish on display and boards that show frsh fish and oyster choices. Barefoot landing is a crowded area but it is worth the wait to get into this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSox1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish Public Market & Grill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for dining with us at the Flying Fish Public Market and Grill. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles, Mo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super good food !”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very nice casual restaurant. Reasonable cost and food was really good. Lots to choose from.
Clam Chowder was superb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ragmtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish Public Market & Grill, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for dining with us at the Flying Fish Public Market and Grill. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish Public Market & Grill also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Flying Fish Public Market & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing