We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid or a miss!”

Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carolina native, Davis Love III embraces a tradition of Lowcountry character in his latest design. The Love course incorporates the recreated ruins of an old plantation home along holes 3-7. Wide open fairways and generous landing areas set the stage for an unforgettable round of golf.The Love Course at Barefoot Resort is a traditional course with a Lowcountry character and incorporates Davis Love, III's Carolina golfing experiences in the design. This visually striking course features course generous landing areas and greens complexes similar to those found on Pinehurst #2 at the 1999 U.S. Open. The Love Course is a Par 72 and plays over 7,000 yards. The course will challenge the good player, yet provide playability and enjoyment for the average player.Tee and fairways consist of GN-1, which is a hybrid turf developed by Greg Norman Turf. The approach areas consist of Tif-sport Bermuda grass. The greens surfaces are newly acquired Champion UltraDwarf and the rough areas are 419 Bermuda grass.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid or a miss!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've been to this place twice now. It's a real hit or a miss. Last time we went, the greens were amazing! The conditions of the rough/fairway was groomed and well maintained. The greens were aerated and rolling nicely. However, this time, it was quite the opposite. The greens were muggy on a dry day; rough grass all around and just was not enjoyable this time around. I am hoping its just the changing of the season. We love to come here whenever we visit so hopefully, this was a one time thing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoSpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Third time to play this layout. Like the design but conditions a bit rough. Fairways had been over seeded and HEAVY watering of the new grass made for mucky conditions. Was cart path only on the front nine and it took us five hours to play our round. Not sure where the holdup was, but never saw a pro shop monitor on the course.

In addition to the over seeding, conditions were a tad scruffy. New Champion Bermuda greens ( since my last visit two years ago) were hard to hold, and, for me, tough to read.

Staff was very friendly and professional.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rustic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Golfer's Dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Love course is one of the three courses at the Barefoot Resort. All 3 courses have the same clubhouse so you can play at least 2 courses in a day, which we did. Nicely maintained courses. Very challenging and scenic. Staff was great and managed all three courses and tee times excellently.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bhavesh511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskin, Florida
1 review
“great track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

had a great time great track we had 96 players from the world am and the course was in pristine condition

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank x2bogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We rented a condo and had a great time. The pool was great. Close to everything. A wonderful place to recharge your batteries and to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Barefoot Resort - Love Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing