We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as expected”

Barefoot Resort & Golf - Dye Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Barefoot Resort, Pete Dye set out to create something that would linger in the golfer's mind forever.Bordering the natural white sands of the Carolina Bays, this visually stunning design is filled with the infamous pitfalls for wayward shots that have become synonymous with the Dye name. Both beautiful and treacherous, the Dye Course is an experience you won't soon forget. The Dye Course is the only semi-private facility at Barefoot Resort.Pete Dye upholds his reputation of building memorable and challenging golf courses by creating a stunning design filled with his infamous pitfalls to capture errant shots. However, if played from the appropriate set of tees, players of all abilities will be able to navigate the Dye Course.The course is a Par 72, 7,343-yard layout within a gated community on exclusive real only on the exterior perimeter of the property.Pete Dye is famous for his use of native grasses. The fairways are GN-1 Bermuda grass, a hybrid developed by Greg Norman Turf. The approaches are Tifdwarf Bermudagrass, the greens are newly acquired Champion UltraDwarf and the dramatic visual effects are achieved by the Centipede and Zoysia grass roughs.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as nice as expected”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Challenging layout, no where near as nice of condition as one would expect. Certainly not worth the price of admission. Staff was okay. Greens were fast, but all greens were not healthy. Had to rent clubs due to United sending ours on an unscheduled excursion. Staff did not ask left or right handed, stiff or regular, etc. we still enjoyed ourselves, but expected more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nix338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    5
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not what I expected for the hype”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We did a guys trip and played here on 3/20/2014. There was a lot of hype built up about this course prior to our coming so perhaps that leds us to think this was going to be a lot better than it was and nothing could have lived up to it. But with that being said, we all had an enjoyable time but don't think we would ever play here again. The course we found to be quite ugly but I think it was because we went in March when the grass is still brown. We also had to play target golf which was a new experience for a lot of us. The staff was excellent and the views were nice but it was very pricey. To play an extra 9 holes after we were done was $55 and that was $15 more expensive than Tidewater which to us was a whole lot better. The greens were firm and fast but not unfair. However, they were not in as good as shape as World Tour. I am glad I had a chance to play here but this will be my only visit to this course.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shimmy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chilly but a nice track to play.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Grasses and sandtraps are prime targets spotting the open fairways with modest elevation changes. Fun to play.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank heywillie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough but Fair Track”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Dye course is an excellent course. My group of 26 played there last week, and it was in great shape. The greens, while they were clearly sprayed to provide a greener look, rolled true and fast. And while the course played tough, many of the high handicap golfers liked it because they did not lose that many balls. The staff was professional and were very nice to work with. After a little prodding, they even donated 2 golf towels as closest to the pin prizes for my group, which was a nice touch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickFrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“One of Myrtle Beach's finest”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Based on the reviews I read prior to playing this course, I was led to believe that the course was as hard as a US Open set-up and unfair. Nothing could be further from the truth. Even with a few wayward shots, I found the course to be somewhat forgiving and totally fair. The greens were slowed down a little by yesterday's rain, but were still what one would consider moderately fast. Be forewarned, though--there are a TON of bunkers and waste areas out there, so if you pull hook one off of the tee or block an iron into the green, you're gonna be on the beach. This course could be dismantled by a scratch player and is a fair test of golf for a low handicapper. It might be a little too much for a high handicapper, though. Even from the forward tees, there are a few tee shots that require you to carry the ball at least 180 yards, and there is no bail-out area. There is not too much H2O on the course, but when it comes into play, it's usually off the tee rather than by the greens. Price was moderate; I paid $60 in late February. Apparently, summer rates are around $120. It's a nice course, but not $120 nice. But it's your money, you be the judge. I plan on playing here again when I come back next year, so long as they don't raise the rates.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barefoot Resort & Golf - Dye Course also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Barefoot Resort & Golf - Dye Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing