We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and Smelly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Dirty and Smelly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One step in the hotel you know it is going to be bad. The hotel has a horrible smell (almost like cleaning products, BUT from someone that worked in a hotel, it is not). Staff was very nice.

Got in the room. It is dated, severely in need of a renovation. Put that aside, the room had a moldy smell. The room on the surface looked clean, but upon further inspection, their was hair on the floor, sink, and tub. Got a suite with a kitchen. What is the point of having a kitchen with no dishes?

The worst part was we went down for breakfast and there was no food. We had to go out for breakfast.

This certainly is not a Hilton, Marriott, or Hyatt product, but I expected a bit more. This goes to show that Choice Hotels certainly reminds you that you have a choice. DON'T STAY! I will certainly stick with Hilton Hotels. At least you know what you are going to get. EPIC FAIL!

Room Tip: Just don't expect much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank promus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    56
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
49
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here and we enjoyed it. The rooms were clean, free internet service, a big king bed. The staff was very friendly. The only con I can think of was the free breakfast. Danishes, waffles, boiled eggs and sausage and gravity biscuits. It needed more fresh fruit and some scrambled eggs. My wife developed a sickle cell crisis the night before our check out and we were allowed a late checkout of 1pm so she could continue to be on the heating pad. That was greatly appreciated. The service was A-1.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This Quality Inn is almost brand new, with spacious rooms and comfortable furnishings. King Bed, two easy chairs, a desk, flat screen TV and attractive furnishings make it a great buy for the price! The desk clerk sent us to Little River for a great fresh fish meal at a dockside restaurant, which was exactly what we were looking for. The Motel is located only a mile from Cherry Grove beach so it was an easy drive to get to the beach for a quick swim.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Wife and I stayed here for a week and have no complaints about our stay. We booked this on a moments notice after we discovered our original booking was unaccepable to us. It´s minutes away from Cherry Grove beach and about a 20 minute drive to South Myrtle. Entire hotel is clean and staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retroactive65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

For August, I had to booked a fast trip for business and went through Price Line which I got an excellent rate of $85.00 per night. Checking in around 7PM went well and the lady behind the counter being very helpful. The room was large and clean with a comfortable king size bed for the wife and I. Being on the second floor was worried about hearing people above us but maybe was lucky not having anyone above us but there was no noise coming from the room above. The only thing that I was extremely disappointed was their breakfast they offered. Most places I've stayed at offer a wide range of rolls, muffins, bread along with several types of hot and cold cereal, eggs, sausage or bacon along with waffles and many other items. Getting up on my first morning and going down at 7:30 AM the only had several types of bread for toast, biscuit and gravy, waffle mix, two types of cold cereal, one type of yogurt and lots of doughnuts. For the rest of my stay the wife and I headed down the road to several family name brand restaurants for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artgray44090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have no complaints about the room. It was large, spacious, pretty quiet, clean, and I found the bed to be comfortable. Plenty of hot water in the shower.
I checked in around 5pm. The employee at the check-in counter started to check me in, but then took a phone call. Instead of asking the caller to hold and completing my check in, she serviced the caller instead. I am sure she is probably told by management to take care of callers first because once the guests are in the lobby they are less likely to walk out than a caller is likely to hang up, but it was annoying to have to wait when she only needed at most another minute to finish my check-in. She did apologize, but I think management should rethink how they handle these situations. The continental breakfast had poor choices. Despite their "Hot, fresh, and healthy" banner, the only hot foods available were waffles and biscuits with gravy. There was no fresh fruit, only packaged fruit cup. Only two cereal choices and no cream cheese was offered.
This location is in North Myrtle Beach, so it is a bit of a distance away from the Myrtle Beach attractions, which can be a plus. It is closer to the northern beaches, such as Cherry Beach, which is quieter with ample free parking in lots along the street.
I would recommend Sleep Inn at Harbour View in Little River, SC over this hotel. It is not that much further north and is a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theduelingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed at this property for one night this summer before heading to a beach house reservation. Got up early to pack the car back up and realized my vehicle had been broken into (drivers side window shattered) and had anything that wasn't in our room stolen. I reported it to Management and the police were called, and I was then informed that "there are no camera's on that side of the building". I was hoping my room would at least be complimentary due to my horrible experience. It was not, full charge on checkout. I'll never stay here again. If you do stay here, don't park on the right side (facing hotel). Not a secure place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn North Myrtle Beach - Harbourgate
Hampton Inn North Myrtle Beach -...
#13 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
5.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#16 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1601 Highway 17 N, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Quality Inn North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing