We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst stay ever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppertree by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peppertree by the Sea
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
randallstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst stay ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

great view of ocean an nice pool,but A/C wall units very loud,bedroom is like a shoebox,the sofa should have been thrown out,killed 3 roaches an was infested with aints,called maintiance several times no response.left in 3 days,place needs some serious upgrades.never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    35
    23
    22
    30
See reviews for
59
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paulding ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Indoor pool and outdoor pool. Beautiful beach. Older hotel is a timeshare resort no one bugged us. We had a 1 bedroom and it pulled down from wall very uncomfortable. We bought the use of the week on ebay only 400 for the week. Peaceful relaxing close to downtown. Would stay again here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We began our four night stay on Apr 2. Previously did some research online and chose Peppertree because of price and location. It was easy to find and a short drive from attractions, restaurants, etc. It was our first time at Myrtle, and we weren't disappointed. I booked through their office. When I called with questions, they had a few more rooms that were not listed on websites. Shortened our trip by a day and opted for the 2 bedroom ocean front rather than the one bedroom parking lot view. It was well worth it. We have went to Florida the last few years for spring break. I am spoiled with the ocean views.
Overall, our unit was excellent. The interior was spacious and very clean including carpet, linens, and furniture. The master bedroom had an older, jetted tub. The common bathroom had a steam type shower. Beds were comfortable and master was a king. My daughter and friend enjoyed their stay. Felt completely safe being there with teenagers. Yes, the building is older but it was clean, and staff helpful. Probably would check out another hotel if in the area again. Not a negative. . . I like to try and stay at various places.

Room Tip: Two bedroom unit on fourth floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkatsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I consider myself to be a fair person when it comes to reviews. So, you can expect me to be fair with this location as well. Yes, it is dated, I will tell you that right from the beginning. It is also smaller than the newer resorts built in the last 10-20 years. Therefore, please don't expect a newer property with modern amenities. What you can expect is a clean place in a good location right on the beach. Chances are, your room won't face the beach because they are usually given to the owners who have faithfully maintained their memberships even though the place is declining. When I say clean, I don't mean Four Seasons or even Marriot clean because you can't make a place new just by cleaning it. I mean it is old and clean. I am thankful that I was able to get this at the very last minute during Spring Break. Of course, I would rather have gone to Florida or South Myrtle Beach, however, I waited until the last minute and this place was available. For that, I give you 3 stars. Had I planned months in advance like I normally do, I would have opted for something a little more modern. Let me also add that I might some owners while vacation there and they were the nicest people! I have been to four and five star properties all over the world and the people are always so nice. The owners at this location seem to be pretty nice people who come here on a regular basis and like to relax and have a good time. The area is nice and clean although you are 15 minutes away from South Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seabow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We visited North Myrtle for the first time and found this place on the Internet and booked a 2 night stay. Upon arrival we were checked in by a frumpy man who looked very unclean and was not the least bit friendly. We went to our room and were surprised to find no balcony or exit other than the main door...A tiny window was our only view of the ocean...Extremely disappointing for an "ocean front room". The room was disgusting and not clean. We asked for a different room and were told none were available. We also asked for a refund due to terrible conditions in the room. We refused to stay, took a cancelation fee and went to another hotel! I would not recommend this hotel. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank uncangel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days over the MLK weekend. We booked online and had no problems and it was a good value. This is an older property that has been updated and was more spacious than some of the other condos we have stayed in at NMB. We stayed in a one bedroom but there was actually sleeping space for six (bunk beds in the hallway and pull out sofa as well as the bedroom). The kitchen was huge with generous cabinets and countertops. The kitchen was well equipped and even included wine glasses and a beautiful salad set. Our coffeemaker went out on the first morning but a call to the office brought us another one within minutes. All interactions with the staff were very pleasant. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean. We did not visit the pools or spas on this visit. We were attending a dance event with most of the activities on Main Street which was just a ten minute walk. We would definitely stay here again and would even consider purchasing a time-share at this property. Our only complaint was that our room was an end unit and near the outside steps. Some of the guests were checking out on Sunday morning and bringing their luggage down the steps rather than using the elevator which caused us to get up a little earlier than we had planned.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We loved the location. The sunrise and sunset was beautiful to watch from the unit. The first unit had a large crack in the glass due to the storm and when I found out about it, the staff imediately moved us to another unit. The indoor pool was kept at a cozy temperature considering it was Dec. when we were there. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Maritime Beach Club
Maritime Beach Club
#25 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resor...
#17 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppertree by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppertree by the Sea

Property: Peppertree by the Sea
Address: 305 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3203
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peppertree by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peppertree by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree By The Sea Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing