We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC”

Tidemaster Condominiums
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tidemaster Condominiums
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I'm sure the Tidemaster was nice at some point, but our experience there was certainly lackluster.

The common hallways on each floor appear to be home to many cockroaches. The carpet in those hallways need new /flooring badly; it was SO dirty.

Access to the beach is through the pool area and so the pool is always sandy, not to mention that it's just a cluster with people all the time anyway.

As another reviewer noted, the gaps between the balcony rails are wide and could pose a safety risk to a young child.

Finally, when we arrived, the water was not working at the rinse-off point from the beach back to the condo. Although they fixed it, it was a bad situation for several hours. While we were there, the button for the elevator broke and rendered it unusable from the ground floor.

Our unit was #203 and had 3 bedrooms. It needed major TLC: the garbage disposal didn't work, one of the bed frames was broken, and the recliner in the living room was broken. That's just what was actually wrong - there would be much more necessary in terms of updates to make the place appear less dingy.

I'm not sure I'll even be coming back to the area, but if I do, I won't be coming back here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We just returned from staying at the Tidemaster (Unit 301). The unit was a basic beach condo, comfortable enough but no frills. The furnishings are a little dated but that is to be expected. Overall it was fine for what we were looking for at that price point. My only complaints were that the cabinets smelled musty so we ended up leaving our food out on the counter, which wasn't a big deal. The other one was a BIG one for me. The patio railings were spaced so far apart that they pose a safety concern. My 22 month old son was with us and we wouldn't let him out there due to the fear that he could fit through the railings. All the units are like this but a few units have chosen to weave fencing through theirs to make it safer. my husband was actually able to fit his head through them up to his ears. He thought he could put his whole head through but didn't want to chance trying it. That said, if you don't have small children then that wouldn't be an issue for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NP1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have been to North Myrtle Beach and Myrtle Beach 12-15 times and this property would rank in the top two. We rented a 3 bedroom unit on the first floor. One big advantage of this for us was the proximity to getting to the pool and beach quickly. Often we took the stairs which was just outside our unit. The elevators were very fast. One thing I noticed here is that the stairways and elevators were clean and did not smell like other properties where we have stayed in the past. On the plus side.... Our unit had 4 beds and a large enough living space. The condo is only 5 blocks from main street which is an easy walk up to the Ocean Drive pavilion and restaurants. The beach when we were there has a very easy slope from the high tide mark to the low tide, no sudden drop offs which is great if you are there with small children. At loaw tide, the beach was very wide. Since this is the north end of North Myrtle Beach, highway 17 where just about everything is, is not too crowded. I see comments about this beiing an older building, but that in some ways works to its advantage. Some of the newer and much larger complexes have extremely crowded beaches. On the down side, and this would be nit picking, there is no covered parking and most parking is across the street.

Room Tip: Check out VRBO.com as an alternate. You may find a better deal here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was our first stay at Tidemaster. Our 1 bedroom unit was clean and quiet, but the couch smelled musty as if something had spilled on it and was never cleaned. The king bed was comfortable and the oceanfront balcony was direct and not angled, as many 1 or 2 bedroom condos can be. These condos are in an older building so, unfortunately, sounds of showers running and kitchen sinks being used could be heard. The price for the 1st week of June was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank SomethingPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We love the Tidemaster. It was another wonderful vacation. We rented the Tidemaster again through Condo-World June 11th-18th. Check in was easy, the unit was clean, well stocked and very roomy for a one bedroom. There were bunk beds in the hallway and a sofa bed in the living room. The view from the balcony is beautiful. The beach is just a few steps away. It is within walking distance to Main street with many restaurants, and dance clubs. We spent the evenings at Duck's and Fat Harold's learning the "Shag" and listen to great DJ's and Bands. Can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the Condo. All are Ocean Front. We have stayed in four different units and all w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vidalia917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is our 3rd year at the Tidemaster. We absolutely love it. We even thought about buying a unit. It is an older Condo, but kept in excellent condition. It is not fancy, but it just feels like home with a beautiful beach right outside your door. This year we only had 2 teenagers with us so we tried the 1 bedroom. Still very roomy with bunk beds in the hall and a sofa bed in the living room. Since it is not a high rise, the beach is less crowded and absolutely beautiful. The location is perfect. We love main street and all the shag clubs. Fat Harold's and Ducks are great fun and we were at one or another each evening. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance so a car is not a necessary. We will be back next June. We already miss it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vidalia917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

TideMaster Condominiums is a quiet, family-oriented place in a prime location. Located on Ocean Drive in North Myrtle Beach, it is within walking distance of Main Street with its restaurants, night life, and amusements for the kids. Check-in was handled smoothly by Condominium Rental Services (CRS) a short distance away. Although there is limited parking on site, there is a convenient drop-off zone with additional parking readily available across the street. Unit 203 has a great view overlooking the pool, dunes, and the beach. The spacious one-bedroom unit, which can sleep six, has plenty of storage and was furnished with all the basics. The unit is clean and well-maintained with full-kitchen, 2 TVs, DVD player, and washer/dryer. CRS was easy to work with and we look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppertree by the Sea
Peppertree by the Sea
#41 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mar Vista Grande
Mar Vista Grande
#9 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jamaica Motel
Jamaica Motel
#17 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#30 of 41 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Tide Motel
High Tide Motel
#35 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidemaster Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidemaster Condominiums

Property: Tidemaster Condominiums
Address: 517 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3207
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 332
Also Known As:
Tidemaster Condominiums Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing