We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Class on the Bay”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

From the moment Carla greeted me at 9pm after a 10 hour drive, I felt the gracious Southern hospitality she extended. I thought I was being welcomed into her Plantation . . . pool, spa, common areas, all immaculate. Ocean front sister location's beach and bar, all available to residents here. Staff exceedingly polite, competent and genuinely interested in service. No request is a bother. Never too busy to assist. This Team is probably the best on the Island!

Room Tip: All 100% terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyAngel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    80
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
92
71
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom condo. It was very spacious (625 sf) and equipped with everything you need. The view of the marina and ICW was beautiful. The November rates were low and the weather was still warm.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnut1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I went for the weekend with my husband and we really enjoyed ourselves. Our room was clean, there was a separate living area with a complete kitchen, stove, fridge, dishwasher and even a washer and dryer. Our room overlooked the marina and the view was beautiful. The beach was near by and so were places to shop and dine. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed October 12 - 19. Two single men on a holiday.

The hotel was very easy to find and offered easy access to nearby major roads.

A pleasant surprise when we checked in - we had been booked to a three-bedroom unit although we had reserved a two-bedroom unit.. Check-in was done efficiently by a friendly professional. We also learned that we could use the facilities at the other properties managed by Oceana in the Myrtle Beach area.

The place seems just a bit dated and not altogether squeaky-clean. I noted some mold along the slider that opened onto the balcony from the bedroom and more in the bathroom. Not a lot of mold, but enough to be noticed. The furniture on the balcony consisted of molded plastic chairs and a small table. It was fairly weather-beaten and we had to search through the five chairs there to find two clean ones. The sofa had seen better days quite some time ago. There were three televisions, one in each of the larger bedrooms and another in the main room. No flat screens, just some old televisions. Our unit was about as far away from the swinging bridge as you could get, so we were never bothered by the bell that goes off as the bridge is opened or closed. There are ice machines on every other floor - they are a long way from the end of the hallways, where our room was. The elevators are there too.

That's the worst of it.

The unit was huge. Three bedrooms. Two with king bedding with en suite baths. The third bedroom featured queen bedding. Full kitchen - full sized fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, pots, pans, etc. Dining area and a couch and chair in front of the TV. There is also a stacked washer and dryer for laundry. The small balcony overlooked the marina and the Inland Waterway. Everything in the place worked - although it took a while to figure out which switches worked which lighting. There's a safe in one of the bedrooms, and an iron and ironing board in another. Ample parking and easy in/out.

The beds were comfortable and the entire staff was friendly and capable. The location is terrific. It's a hop and a skip to Cherry Grove Beach (Google Maps gives a distance of 1.3 miles) and Kings Highway is accessible directly from the hotel - just travel down Old Highway 17 for a half mile. There are more food options nearby than can be counted. Pam's Oyster Bar and Grill, across the street from the hotel is recommended. Good food and prices, homey atmosphere and friendly service. (try the scallops!) The Screamin' Pig, just down Route 9, towards the beach, is also recommended. No frills, but good food and friendly folks.

We noted that many of the units were decorated with homey touches, so there must be a considerable population that spends significant time at this resort - long-term condo rentals, I presume.

We did use facilities at another of the Oceana resorts - The Bay Watch. We went there primarily for access to their pools and the beach. Be wary of using GPS to find a street address on Ocean Boulevard - get directions from a local instead. Apparently there are several Ocean Boulevards in the Myrtle area and maps programs have a knack for picking the wrong one.

While the resort isn't a flagship property is probably due some touching up, if not a full-fledged upgrade, the value really can't be beat. Between great value pricing and location (unless you are looking for oceanfront), the Harbourgate comes out on the positive side of the ledger.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The bell on the swing bridge seems to go off at all hours. If you think that will bother you, ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Good location clean rooms. Staff very friendly. Best thing there are 9 hotels in this group close by and you can use them all, very useful for going to the beach and having free parking.
Pam's bar across the road offer good food and wine,and service with a smile.
Would recommend Harbourgate for hospitality and great value.

Room Tip: Try a get room close to lift less walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hap123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Harbougate hotel from 9/23-9/27/13. This was our second time there. My wife and I fell in love with it the first time. That is why I choosed them again. The front desk personell showed exceptional hospitality. The room was very nice. I will be going back there next year. I have recomend the hotel to my Pastor because him and his wife is getting ready to go on vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfred h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Too bad the smoking problem takes away from an otherwise decent place to stay. The spa had been out for a week by the time we got there. Stayed out the whole week we were there. And there were a few things missing from the kitchen - a corkscrew and bottle opener. But those issues pale beside the smoking. There were smokers in the rooms on either side of us - in the room and on the balcony. The smell was strong in the entrance. The room itself seemed OK, so we did not ask to move. Just did not use our balcony. But then when we got ready to leave we discovered that the clothes we had in the closets REEKED! We had complained earlier to the front desk, and a very nice lady explained that they could not prevent condo owners form smoking in their private rooms. She did try to contact the "neighbors" to see if they would stop. But she noted the management could just ask - not require. So the "non-smolking building" sign you see at the front door - as well as the non-smoking notice in the room materials....well, that's just not true. Bottom line - if you are the least bit smoke-sensitive, find another place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kp1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. Please know that the issue you mention is being addressed. We do hope you'll stay with us again in the near future, allowing us to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn North Myrtle Beach - Harbourgate
Hampton Inn North Myrtle Beach -...
#9 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts

Property: Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts
Address: 2120 Sea Mountain Hwy, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-6143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint North Myrtle Beach hotel features spacious suites featuring one, two or three bedrooms, each with a living area, kitchen and private balcony. Harbourgate offers amenities such as an outdoor pool deck, an outdoor hot tub, nearby dining, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Take advantage of our prime location on the Intracoastal Waterway for deep-sea sport fishing, cruises, jet-ski rentals and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourgate Resort And Marina, Oceana Resorts
Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Harbourgate Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing