We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we’re Use To…” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Prince Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we’re Use To…”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We are frequent visitors at the Prince. We have averaged two to three visits a year for the last four to five years. Our oldest son loves to fish off the Cherry Grove Pier. We have always stayed away from the busy vacation season (June – August) and booked our stay pre Memorial Day and post Labor Day. Needing to get away, we booked our stay for the week of July 4th, 2014. Major Mistake! We were met at the front desk the evening of our arrival by a very smart assed receptionist. He was short and stern with his comments and not willing to look for cancelled rooms upon request. With tropical storm Arthur brewing, I asked if there were any last minute cancellations, in an effort to get a better room. This request seemed beneath him and already had his response out of his mouth before I could even get the request out. “No, there have been no cancellations”, as if this was insulting. His body language suggests that he did not want to be there and that we were a distraction to whatever he was doing prior to our arrival. Sensing that I was not pleased with his stance, he tried to loosen up somewhat and made a weak attempt at small humor. This only infuriated me more. At the time, we were the only ones checking into a room, so it was not a busy time. After checking in we made our way to the room, only to find out that the door keys had not been programmed to our room. I’m not sure what the wife said at the front desk, but I’m sure it wasn’t pleasant. During the week, the elevators took forever, the beach was packed rear end to rear end, and there was no cart management as people took carts and stored them in their rooms the night before checkout. The only plus to the stay were the fireworks at the Cherry Grove Pier. They put on an awesome show. I will think twice before booking at the Prince again. I’d suggest that you shop around good before you do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, General Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank your for letting us know about your recent trip to Prince Resort. Your comments have been appropriately addressed so that your experience will not be repeated. I do hope that you will consider using us again in the future for your vacation needs.
Suzanne Fair-Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    277
    124
    63
    55
See reviews for
543
226
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The good...The views from this hotel are excellent, especially the higher floors and the end units have added windows for your viewing pleasure. We had a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit, it seemed to have been remodeled in the last couple of years. It is located in quiet/family orentiated Cherry Grove. The beach is nice and clean.

The not so good... The parking garage is one of the tightest I have ever had to park in. The wait for the elevator's in both tower 1 and 2 is horrible. My personal pet peeve was the cleaning staff never came remotely close to the same time each day. One day it would be noon and the next day it was 4:30 pm very aggravating when trying to schedule childrens naps or anything else.

We tried the breakfast in the 3500 grill, it was just ok. The pier needs some major renovations. I found it odd that they charge hotel guests to walk out on the pier, most of the hotels that I've stayed at before access to the pier is included in the room cost. The pools and lazy river are rather disappointing compared to the nice hotel exterior and views.

Its not a bad place but it could be so much better; my family has decided next year that we will look for another resort in the Cherry Grove or surrounding area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, General Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We really appreciate your candor in your review that you posted on TripAdvisor. We do strive to make everyone's vacation a memorable one and I am very sorry that you did not feel that Prince Resort was a place that you wanted to return. We would welcome the opportunity to impress you in the future if you would let us know when you are returning to the area.
Suzanne Fair-Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our family has been staying exclusively at the Prince for nearly a decade now - we love it to the point that we will not consider staying anywhere else during our beach trips. The lobby is lovely and vibrant and the condos are very spacious and comfortable. Great views! One of our favorite parts is the lazy river (we stay in Tower 2 where it is located) - we are people who adore the beach and ocean, but we find ourselves spending a lot of time in the lazy river here! The staff, from housekeeping and maintenance workers to front desk employees, have always been nothing but professional, friendly, and courteous. As a small business owner, I always notice this immediately and make a mental note of it :) We enjoy the proximity of the resort to the fishing peer and to Cherry Grove - it is an easy walk down to the IGA grocery store and gift shops or a short drive, if one prefers. The community is very nice with a sort of 1950's feel, very quaint, not loud and rowdy like main Myrtle Beach. No matter where we travel with our kids (ages 10 and 11) the first place they always want to return is to the Prince Resort.

Room Tip: Our family loves staying in Tower 2, which is where the lazy river is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mpkoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, General Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review and your loyalty to the Prince Resort. We love having you and your family stay with us and hope to see you back again very soon! Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The accommodations were pretty good and the staff seemed to be pretty good, we never had problems with our rooms being cleaned and the room (at least the one we were in) was pretty nice.
The biggest problem was check in and parking was a freaking nightmare and because of this we will not return.
When we checked in along with everyone else you have to take an elevator up to the lobby while everyone else is trying to do the same.
At least 15 mins. trying to catch one, then back down the elevator to unload and back to the elevators to go to your room and then back down the elevators to go park your car across the street!!! Yes across the street!! Then off to a different set of elevators located in the parking garage to get down to street level and across the street back to elevator hell again!!
Keep in mind this will go on thru out your stay and anywhere you go will require 25 mins of elevator hell and then try to manipulate your vehicle down a two way parking garage which can be a challenge (stay on your toes)!
If you stay a week be ready for a lot of elevator down time....Its Ridiculous!!!!!!!!!
So due to parking and checking in and out our family will never return to the Prince Resort again.
I do not expect this for the $$$$$$ spent.
There are much better places to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the way to go and ask for an upgrade to the better rooms...They have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knoxcabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, General Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We appreciate your input on how we can improve our services to our guests. I do hope that you can come to visit us again in the off season to enjoy our facility when there is less traffic in the elevators. Thank you for your feedback.
Suzanne Fair-Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

You can't top this the view from this hotel. The rooms are wall to wall windows and if you get a corner room you get views on 2 sides! The staff go out of their way to please, the food is excellent, Cherry Grove Pier is beautiful, fun, and busy with folks catching fish and 'sharks'! I've never had hotel staff so willing to go above and beyond to please and accommodate. They are very gracious. The only negative is that the rooms are a bit dated and they need to touch up some peeling paint around the kiddie pool! Don't let that stop you from experiencing this outstanding resort. We definitely would recommend!! Also, let me say that the beach is quieter during the week and not too crazy, busy as it is farther south on the Grand Strand, yet it is still a fun place for kids and teens!!

Room Tip: Get a corner room for more breathtaking views for an extra angle. We stayed on the 8th floor which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susannerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent vacation with us. I am so pleased the staff was able to help make your vacation a memorable one. The staff truly wants our guests to feel like this is their home away from home. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

2nd time at Prince Resort. We enjoyed both stays equally. The staff was friendly but not overbearing. Since our initial visit in August 2012 was so fantastic, I excepted this visit to not be as great. Sequals are rarely better than the original. Thankfully, our stay this past week was every bit as good as the 1st time. We had the corner room at 1902. There is no better view than a corner room and it is only a few dollars more per day. The 2 bedroom unit was in good repair with a large flat screen TV. It would be nice to have a TV directory but since all I wanted was the sports stations, once I located these I was satisfied.

The room had all the amenties you'd expect and worked well. The fry pan could have been non-stick. The room was very large and bright. Great and extended view of the ocean, Even the 2nd bedroom had a ocean view. Having gone in both August and June, we prefered August as the atmosphere seemed a bit more laid back. Additionally, the difference in price between mid-June for a Mon - Fri stay is approx $250.00 more than the same period is for mid-August. Plenty of parking but the spaces were tight for a Minivan. The elevators are slow but since on vacation, what's the hurry. The pool was a good size and very refreshing after being in the near 80 degree ocean. I would recommend the Prince Resort to anyone. Great get away location in the northern section of North Myrtle Beach but only a few minute drive to all the area has to offer. Not nearly so busy with activity as other section of NMB and MB.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubandbubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks to you for sharing your comments with others. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your second visit with us. We can't wait for you to have just as much enjoyment on your third visit. Thank you for choosing the Prince Resort as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were excited for a long weekend getaway to North Myrtle Beach, but things quickly changed on Saturday when we realized that the hotel cleaning staff had been in our room... and stole over $250 cash and a pair of earrings while we were out enjoying the beach and other activities. We reported this to the hotel manager, who was dismissive and callous. She was much more concerned about saving her reputation and the hotel's name than assisting a guest who was a victim of a crime. We filed a police report and spent much of the rest of our stay sitting in a back office talking with management. We were basically informed by the general manager that the theft had been our own fault because we had not used the in room safe. She also informed us that the hotel recommends that all valuables be left in your car (which must be parked in a parking garage across the street). I found this a little strange considering they had signs in the garage stating that all valuables should be removed from vehicles. I guess at Prince Resort you have the option of being robbed by common street criminals in the parking garage or by the hotel cleaning staff in the building. Guests should just carry all of their belongings with them at all times while staying here because no where is safe. Regardless, management refused to take responsibility for the actions of one of their employees and denied our request for a refund of a room.

Besides being victims of a crime... our hotel air conditioning did not work the entire time were were there. It ranged from between 77-84 degrees in our room at all times, despite the air constantly running. The elevators are horribly slow, and overcrowded. We often had to wait 15 minutes or more to get on an elevator. We eventually just started taking the steps... up and down all ten floors. The pools are small and unimpressive... certainly not "resort" quality. Finally, all of the condos are individually owned and rented out... so not all of them are the same from what I understand.

Just stay away from Prince Resort... there are much better places to stay at North Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S1010101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie1447, Manager at The Prince Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
I am very sorry that you did not have the vacation experience that you had hoped to have during your stay at Prince Resort. I have been in contact with the North Myrtle Beach police department and have taken the appropriate steps to have the staff member questioned. While we have done what we had to internally, we also want to make sure that you knew that we do feel that you were very forthcoming with your statements. Thank you for taking the time to speak with me this afternoon as we worked toward a resolution. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not all that it should have been. We do very much value our guests and their safety is our utmost concern. Please contact me with any questions or issues at any time.
Suzanne Fair, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#2 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
6.5 mi away
Beach Cove Resort
Beach Cove Resort
#8 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince Resort

Property: The Prince Resort
Address: 3500 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-1720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Prince Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, modern accommodations await you at beautiful Prince Resort, situated at the entrance to The Cherry Grove Pier. Find built-in fun along with easy access to all the excitement of the Grand Strand at your finger tips! You are our top priority here at Prince Resort. Whether you visit the beach for a romantic getaway for two or a large family reunion, let us make your ocean experience the best one, ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Prince Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Resort Condos Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Prince Hotel Condos
Prince Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing