We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to get beers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flynn's Irish Tavern

Flynn's Irish Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Main Street in the Ocean Drive section of North Myrtle Beach, Flynn’s Irish Tavern is a locals favorite and a must stop for annual and first time visitors to the Grand Strand. Just a short walk from the wide sandy beaches and first class accommodations of Ocean Drive, and a short ride from the many championship golf courses that populate the north strand. Flynn’s is a perfect place to enjoy a pint or two after a day on the beach or the golf links.Flynn’s is owned and operated by the Flynn Family and the authentic look and old country feel of the establishment comes from Marty’s place of birth, County Roscommon, Ireland. The tavern is housed in the former North Myrtle Beach jail, in fact, the jail cells are still here and tours are given upon request.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good place to get beers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Flynn's is a mainstay of NMB. My family vacations there every year and at least one evening is spent in Flynn's. The food is average, I always get the fish and chips, but the service and staff are always friendly. With a great atmosphere, plenty of room for friends to gather and live music, Flynn's is always a good place to go for a good time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    129
    48
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 Irish and a one legged man walk into this bar....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Let me explain....we love proper Irish Pub's.

Flynn's opens at 4:00 pm. The dining room from the parking lot is small and simple (reminds me a bit of a dutch amish place). The bar is small as well, with wall to wall signs, pictures and ads. We got there at 4:30 on a Saturday and the only other folks were 3 Irish throwing back Guinness on the patio and an old guy with a walker at the end of the bar telling one-legged man jokes.
I say a proper pub, because after the bartender gets your first drinks and takes your food order, you have to go to the bar to get your drinks. A proper pub.
Get there early as the crowd starts coming in at 5:30 and by 6:15 there's only a couple seats left at the bar. Most of the folks there were locals, and some of the friendliest and chattiest we've met.
The staff was great as was the food. The burgers are great as is the cornbeef and cabbage and potato soup.
Pricewise, one of the most reasonable around. app, three meals, two bowls of soup and 8 drinks at $89. CHeap, cheap, cheap for MB.
Make this a must on your trip. chat up a local, by the Irish a round and you'll have good luck for the rest of your stay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, EEUU
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luck of the Irish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were lucky to find this gem. Great service and food. The Shepard's pie, lemon pepper pork chops, roast beef with the best green beans and mashed potatoes and gravy I think I ever had. The she crab soup opened my eyes wide when it came with a splash of Irish whiskey on it. All the usual suspects for expected adult drinks. We enjoyed it so much we went again and bought a gift card for our family when they return to the Grand Strand. The only con is they are closed on Sunday. For a good laugh, enjoy the poster in the men's room. You will have to visit for the laugh. Yes, it's clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Intlflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A family owned and run Irish Pub that is worth stopping in for a drink, a quick sandwich or a meal. Entertainment on the weekends and a great atmosphere all around. Conversation is quick to come by and the service friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flynn's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Ate here tonight, I live two minutes away and eat here often. Tonight I had the lemon pepper pork chops for the first time and they were great. The salad is big and the mashed potatoes were great. Friday and Saturday is prime rib night and that is equal to any within 100 miles!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golfsupttdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flynn's Irish Tavern also viewed

North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Flynn's Irish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing