We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Raeford, United States
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I always enjoy this hotel because of it's roominess. This time was no different, lots of space for the adults and children. Lots of restaurants in the area so eating breakfast out may be a good idea for better variety.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    491
    188
    89
    61
See reviews for
585
575
73
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We've been staying at the Ocean Sands for over 10 years on our annual visit to the area. Pluses: can't beat the price, love the ocean view from the balcony and the kitchen facilities in the room. Equipment in Fitness Center relatively new. But the minuses are starting to get to us. There's a lot of walking around outside because the corridors are all open and we always get put in the tower, across the parking lot from the breakfast room/lobby building. This would be less of a problem in better weather, of course. Parking is scarce when business is good; on this stay we frequently had to park in the lot across the street. Another sign that business was good- the breakfast room was overwhelmed. The staff were clearly working hard but one morning all the regular coffee dispensers were empty. Sometimes people sat in the lobby eating their breakfast because there were no empty tables. There was a lot of attractive outdoor space with tables and a few stalwarts braved the elements but it was cold out there.

Breakfast itself was above-average and included ham, eggs (powdered/scrambled variety) and generally something else such as sausage and biscuits. There was a waffle iron, the usual selection of breads and a large bowl of vanilla yogurt with toppings. A few items missing compared to previous years: bananas and hard-boiled eggs.

Hot water in the bath has been a perennial issue on our visits: usually if you let it run long enough it gets hot, but this time that didn't work. One day I let it run at the hottest setting long enough to fill the tub and the water temp was mild enough that I could put my hand under the running water comfortably. We did report it and they said they adjusted it, but it wasn't much of a difference.

Housekeeping was diligent- they even cleaned our room on Christmas Day.

We've been able to deal with some of the shortcomings of the Ocean Sands because the price is right, but will likely look for alternatives next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Excellent stay on the 4th floor suite overlooking the ocean. The room was very clean and cozy. We had to run the heat due to the cold weather and the heater wasn't noisey. Good water pressure & good hot water. Overall this hotel stay was a 10.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Recently spent 2 nights at this hotel..Location was great, right on the ocean front. Hotel and rooms were clean. Little dated and the elevator was a little scary, but worked ok..Breakfast was plentiful and well presented. Overall good experience..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LindaClyde_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have been staying here for many years. Very convenient to Alabama Theatre which is why we go to North Myrtle Beach and everything else we are interested in. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The oceanfront rooms are updated and always clean..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank picker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was a get away weekend for the two of us just to have some peace and quiet and we had a great time . We went to a couple shows did some shopping for xmas and ate some of the local foods. The room was just right you could see the ocean from our balcony and watch the waves roll in it was just beautiful the peace and quiet no one to bother us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Rude staff, leaking roof, broken shower head. We had our room switched due to the leaking roof and were put in a terrible room that was outdated hard beds etc. Would never stay here again left a day early to go to another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,224 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#20 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Property: Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1525 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing