We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Oceanfront View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome Oceanfront View”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is an older motel. Checking in was quick and front desk staff friendly.
Room was a lil out of date but clean with great ocean front view.
Path that leads to ocean needs some tlc, parking is tough to find, other than that good room for a good price. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    480
    180
    88
    60
See reviews for
566
565
72
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I just spent few vacation days this week at this resort. Every staff in any level of services / functions was very helpful and they went out of their ways to be sure we satisfied our needs. Although one old bed sheet and minor issues like old decor, we can say the management here did the best they can for their guests. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 367tungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Best Western at North Myrtle Beach is an oceanfront hotel that offers all the nice things you'd expect from a high dollar ocean front hotel. We stayed on the 2nd floor of the hotel and had a nice view of the ocean. I'd recommend requesting a 3rd or 4th floor to get an even better view and to avoid feeling like a stalker to the guest using the pool and TIKI bar that you overlook. There is one elevator in the building, so there is quite a bit of waiting for the hotel to make its cycle up and down before it gets to you. The breakfast was descent, again most oceanfront hotels do not offer breakfast for the high amount you pay. They had eggs, breakfast potatoes, and waffles most mornings and your typical continental breakfast items. Their indoor outdoor pool was pleasant but the lazy river was out of order due to leak. The rooms were average. The beds weren't the most comfortable but gave us adequate sleep at night. The carpets were dirty but that is expected when staying at an oceanfront hotel. The kitchenette came in handy and saved us money on going out for lunches. The hotel staff was helpful and provided outstanding service. We'd stay here again on price alone. The minor blemishes are overlooked when you know you are spending $120 a night as opposed to $220 at the hotel next door for the same experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is marketed as a non smoking hotel, yet when we arrived we found out that the hotel allows guests to smoke on the balcony of each room. So my wife and I would have our balcony door open to listen to the sound of the ocean and feel the ocean breeze only to start smelling cigarette smoke from others smoking on the balcony of other rooms. The smoke traveled then right into our room from the outside, so we would have to close the door or breath cigarette smoke. When we checked in, the room smelled of cigarette smoke. There is no parking here, four or five separate remote lots that you have to drive around and try to find parking every time you leave and come back. There is one elevator and the lobby is so small only two people can stand waiting for the elevator at any given time. The maid must've left a dirty rag on the back of the toilet when we arrived plus there was hair in the bathroom sink. My wife went and bought sanitizing wipes and we wiped down the room and restroom. We also bought Lysol spray to sanitize the room surfaces to try and get rid of the awful smells. There were clothes dryer vents right above our heads at the floor elevator "lobby" so while you were waiting for the elevator, you could feel heat and smell clothes drying. The place looks very dated. There is no good place to load and unload your luggage. The parking available is so tight that my truck had a very hard time driving into the small area to load and unload our luggage. So small that I had to leave my wife down at the truck to make sure no one needed to exit while we were taking our bags to the room. We will not stay here again. There are so many more better quality hotels to stay in this area that this one is very easy to pass by when looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Thought I had booked another hotel. Was presently surprised with room because the outside did not look so good. However, the room was very well appointed and very clean. Hotel staff very friendly, parking a nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a quick, one-night stay at this hotel. They gave us a well-appointed room, ocean view, room and were very friendly, allowing us an early check in and a late check out. The property was a bit dated, but well maintained and located right on the beach. The pool area was small, but clean. I was very very satisfied with our experience and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jason U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After leaving another Myrtle Beach hotel we checked in here to finish our vacation, not sure what to expect and may have found a new place to stay while in town. Very quiet, clean rooms, beautiful views and very friendly staff. The pool are and Tiki bar is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
148 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Property: Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1525 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing