We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not 5 star, but it is a wonderful older beach hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
NEWTON, NC, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's not 5 star, but it is a wonderful older beach hotel!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Check-in was fast, efficient and friendly. Yes, parking is an issue if the hotel is full, but I don't mind walking across the street. It was wonderful not to have to worry about cooking breakfast or going out to eat. Again it was not a $10 breakfast buffet, but there was plenty to choose from. The eggs needed some serious help, but everything else was very tasty. Maybe they should take away the "Fake" scrambled eggs and have boiled eggs. The staff was constantly at work, cleaning and refilling. The room we stayed in was VERY clean. Yes, I saw some sand in the corners and there were a few spots on the carpet, but again I say this is an older hotel. Carts are a little hard to find, so I suggest packing in something that rolls. I think there are plenty of carts, but guests are just not considerate and don't return them to the correct place. The pools were clean and well maintained. Didn't visit the Tiki Bar, but it appeared to have a good variety of drinks and snacks. I can't say enough good things about the staff here. Everyone we encountered was friendly, considerate, and seemed to be enjoying their job. That, to me, says a lot about the owners of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front. The higher up you are, the quieter it is and the better the view is. Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    470
    176
    83
    60
See reviews for
548
556
71
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I love Best Western Ocean Sands. It is rare that you see the General Manager working the front desk. I really appreciated Dan helping us with our stay and also assisting with being credited back our funds after we cut our trip short. The oceanview is super and the resort is located only 8 mins away from Walmart. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and will definitely come back. The staff was great. Housekeeping kept our room clean and nice. I enjoyed hanging out at the Tiki Bar. The oven and the stove were nice sized. Easy for cooking and clean up! I will see Ocean Sands next time.

Room Tip: If you are able to get a room in South Tower do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great access to ocean, six nice pools for kids and family. Room was clean and the hotel was close to everything there in North Myrtle Beach. Would recommend this hotel as an inexpensive option. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seymour
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Its a great place to take your family,clean,great beds,good food,everyone is so helpful.Its in a great location.It has everything a child or adult would want to play with at the beach from the pools to the lazy river and hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was good,staff great,parking is a nightmare! Unloading your luggage is tuff for there is not enough parking if front to unload. Pools are really small and the lazy river is very small.Oceanfront super!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmarice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have stayed at ocean front property before, and the rooms are usually not very well kept. The Best Western Ocean Sands was very well kept, the housekeeping was wonderful! The beds were nice and comfortable, with plenty of pillows. The staff went above and beyond to do anything they could to make you comfortable! I would highly recommend this hotel! I know this is where I will be staying the next time I visit Myrtle Beach! The only negative, as it is will all the hotels there, was the lack of easy parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindyrb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to this hotel not knowing to much about it and boy were we pleasantly surprised. Loved loved loved it. The room was great and the housekeeping was great and so was everyone at the front desk. Complimentary breakfast was nice and the view was awesome. Great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raybobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
1.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort

Property: Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Address: 1525 South Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel in North Myrtle Beach SC has the relaxed vacation atmosphere and friendly service of a family owned hotel with the security and peace of mind of the Best Western national chain.Accommodations feature 95 ocean front one and two room suites and efficiencies, along with 21 side view king rooms, the Best Western Ocean Sands Resort Hotel has a long standing reputation as one of the best beach hotels for your Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean Sands Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Best Western North Myrtle Beach
North Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing