We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad”
Review of Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seaside
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We rented condo 1201 through Thomas Beach Vacations. The unit was spacious and comfortable but I would not recommend renting with the intention of filling to capacity, which is 8 or 10 guests as the common living space and the kitchen is small. The kitchen is not as big as it appears online and only holds 2 people comfortably. The kitchen also lacks a garbage disposal. My biggest complaint is about the cleanliness of the unit. Not sure who is responsible for cleaning (Thomas Beach Vacations or Seaside.....I imagine its Thomas) but the unit was far from immaculate. The comforters and blankets needed to be washed, window seals and the deck need it to be washed down.. Also the cleaning crew left behind someone's old q-tip and sand in the bathtub of the master bathroom.

Regarding the property, the pools are small and it can be rather awkward to get to the beach. I think the lazy river could use an overhaul. Overall, not a bad place to stay, I would definitely stay again, however, I would avoid using Thomas Beach Vacations if I could.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhoenixFiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We appreciate the confusion sometimes caused by renting through an off-site company. Understandably most guest expect Hotel like services which is why we are here 7 days a week for our guest issues and understand your disappointment when we are not able to correct issues guest find. I do hope you let your rental company know that you were not happy with as they are not associated with Seaside Resort. Though we agree it is a little different having to walk to the public access to get to the beach it is only 15 feet from the property but in doing so we were able to keep the 7 ½ original pool and the wonderful view without any obstructions from t he pool deck. With only 69 units we have2 spas, 2 pools and a lazy river so you will find the area not nearly as crowed as a larger property which does give it that more relaxed and hopefully enjoyable feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    130
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
282
68
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom suite with 2 full size beds in each room and 2 full baths. Comfortable in every way. Only thing I wish it was closer to the shopping. But we had a car and we got around fine. Pool opens at 9 but if you are an early bird you can relax at the beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas available for rental as well.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Seaside and agree though the area is not in a commercial area, which is part of the charm for a restful and scenic stay, the attractions are within a 5 minute drive with Barefoot Landing right down the street for sightseeing and shopping. We hope you chose to stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had stayed at the Seaside many times over the past 10 years and find the rooms and service to have slowly deteriorated. From the moment we entered the parking garage and saw the employees, including the concierge, smoking in this "non-smoking" hotel, our vacation stay continued to disappoint. The rooms were outdated and the furniture dilapidated. Floors, bathrooms and towels were dirty. Although the addition of in-room moves was a plus, the remote controls failed to work on more than one occasion and the televisions were also getting old. The only time the breakfast employee moved was to grab tickets from guests. Many items were missing and we even had to ask for coffee to be made. As stated previously, for them to market this facility as "smoke free" is a farce. We could not sit on the balcony or even lounge by the pool with breathing the cigarette smoke from all over the hotel and garage areas. I think it is time for our family to find a newer better staffed vacation getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RobNeubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
First let me apologize as we are non smoking and concierge or any other employee should be smoking in the parking garage around any guests. We do try and notify guest and stop them from smoking on balconies but as you can imagine that is not so simple to do. I also want to apologize that you found the cleanliness not up to our standards and hope you notified the staff so they were able to make it right. No matter how busy we get we need to provide each new arriving guest with the highest standards of cleanliness so please always let us know if we do not as we are available 7 days a week to take care of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallulah Falls, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 6 at a 3 bedroom/3 bath room with ocean front. Loved the view and the apt was nice and roomy with a nice kitchen. Found the beds to be comfortable! The grandkids loved the lazy river! Nice access to the beach!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyPquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are glad to hear your entire family fit well and that you enjoyed your stay. We agree the view there is wonderful and you can sit right on the deck and relax while seeing the beach and your family. We hope you come back and visit with us again, bring more family if you like we will make room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, NJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Seaside Aug 4-7. Our room was booked at a discount since we agreed to attend a vacation club presentation. We got the smallest room, a one bedroom with an ocean view. The room was clean and smelled fresh when we arrived. Along with the ocean view was a nice view of the city from the balcony. The kitchen was fully stocked with silverware, dishes, cups, glasses, everything you would need to cook and eat in the room. The beds were comfortable and all the bed linens were clean and stain free. The bathroom was great. Spacious, clean with plenty of counter space and a nice large jetted tub/shower.The living room furniture was a bit dated but fine for us. The murphy bed was also comfortable. The a/c cooled the room nicely as we kept it set at 71. The balcony was a good size, clean and was furnished with two plastic chairs and a small table. The coffee maker looked fairly new and they supplied us with enough coffee for our 3 morning stay. Nice. The tv was nice even though we hardly used it and the free wifi in the room was good. It's also nice that the free wifi was also available at the pool.
There are 2 pools. The outdoor pool is a bit small but kept clean. We spent some time in it every day. The indoor pool is a kids pool with the depth being about 3 1/2. The lazy river really looks LAZY! Not much of a current. We never used it. They have 2 hot tubs. 1 outside, 1 inside. We only used the outdoor hot tub, which was set at a comfortable temperature. Someone told me the one inside was too hot. The access to the beach are narrow sand paths, very managable. Great ocean beach. The ocean was just a bit rough while we were there but we enjoyed it. Being from NJ, we weren't used to the ocean being as warm as it was. My wife especially appreciated that! Coming back to the pool area from the ocean, they have a hose to spray your feet and chairs and a shower to spray sand off the rest of your self.
As many other reviewers have said, yes the parking garage is tight. This being the 3rd resort we've stayed at in Myrtle Beach in the past 2 years, this is typical. They're pretty much all tight. If you take it slow and are real careful, you should do fine. There's a parking lot across the street if you prefer that.
Check in and out was easy and quick. We really didn't see many employees during our stay but the one's we did smiled and said good morning, afternoon, evening.
So, would I stay here again? Yes, I would. Would I recommend this to you? Yes, I would. One more thing...there really is nothing close to walk to as far as eating or shopping. But your only a 5 minute drive to hwy 17 where there is everything you'll need. I'm sure you'll like Seaside if you try it. We did.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view on the South side (1007) that also had a great city view. This worked just fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
First off thank you for visiting Seaside and for taking the time to write such a thorough review. We do appreciate your detailed information and I know many other guests will appreciate your observations. Seaside is in a great location with many things to do locally and we are always happy when our guest enjoy our area. After three visits to the Myrtle Beach area we hope you make Seaside Resort your "vacation Home". Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Purchased a time share there and did not get the room we were told. We were told we were purchasing an ocean front room and got an ocean view room deeded to us. The room was ok. But the dryer squealed, the stove did not work. Housekeeping did not leave kitchen towels upon the first night of the stay.

Although we had issues with the time share company that sold us the timeshare, when we called housekeeping or maintenance they were right on what ever we needed. the place really is in need of updates though. The pool chairs are old and pool area needs painted. The elevators kept breaking down and the front desk personnel were rude.

The continental breakfast was horrible! It should have been free - not a great value for the price. There was no onsite or within walking distance restaurants.

Room Tip: Do not let them show you room 903 and then sell you another room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I wanted to write to apologize for your issues. Though we have nothing to do with your time share of reservation I was disappointed to her some of our staff were rude and you felt the pool are furniture was old and worn. The property is located in a residential area so we get wonderful views of the beach and a great place for enjoying the view from the deck or taking a stroll on the beach. You do have to drive a short 2-3 minutes to be in town with lots of restaurants and the Barefoot Landing area for shopping and spending the day but the Resort is your place to relax. I do appreciate your noting the Housekeeping and Maintenance were quick and did a good job as we are proud of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Housekeeping did not clean rooms the entire week. The air conditioner was "fixed" to not allow temperature to get below 72 no matter what you set AC, and bedroom smelled musty and moldy. At one point the front desk told us room service was set to come in the middle of our stay but gave me a date to expect cleaning being the day we were scheduled to depart!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We do apologize for the confusion and that apparently no one explained what was occurring. The reason the FD stated you were scheduled for housekeeping the middle of your stay is that you opted for a discounted stay where you do not get daily housekeeping. Some guests do opt for this as they do not want to be bothered and I am sorry this was not made clear enough when you reserved the room. AS for the A/C no we do not program them not to get colder than &2 degrees but with guests going in and out to the balcony it is difficult to get a room into the 60's but I assure you the air coming out the vents is much colder. Again, please accept our apologies, as we should have done a better job of explaining things before you left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,475 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,245 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside

Property: Seaside
Address: 2301 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-4247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the ocean, the new SeaSide is a luxury boutique North Myrtle Beach condominium resort with spacious accommodations and attentive 4 star services. The white, sandy beach is just footsteps away along with all the endless excitement of North Myrtle Beach. At SeaSide, we provide only the most professional staff and the finest amenities for your unforgettable North Myrtle Beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside North Myrtle Beach
Seaside Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing