We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ocean front room”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avista Resort
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice ocean front room”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Was glad we had second floor so we took stairs a lot... Elevators always an issue. Right on the ocean and great beautiful views.. Price was good for summer and oceanfront. Rooms big with a mini kitchen and was able to eat most meals there. Didn't leave at all some days the beach as places deliver and loved the beach.. Bit crowded this time of year but a lot of fun

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary21171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Glad to see you took advantage of the 2nd floor walk up as elevators do take time as I see children and sometimes adults going up or down one floor. Whenever I can walk I enjoy the steps myself. We also appreciate your visiting but I will say once we get into Sept the weather stays just about perfect for two months so please come back again and enjoy a little quieter time here…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    608
    240
    129
    115
See reviews for
1,062
478
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel!! Very clean! Great beach and nice clean rooms!! Plus a washer and dryer in the room was a big help!! Great location! Quiet and relaxing, but close to everything!! Only issue I had was I feel the parking garage is to small to move SUVs around because it was so small!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments and yes parking garages and SUV's are not a perfect match but fortunately NMB allows parking on the grass areas around the hotel, where they have signs of course, this plus the 3 public areas for parking help minimize the negative impact. Trying to maximize spaces in a garage does limit usable space for many of us but the Avista extra parking does some in handy. We are pleased you had a good time here and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem,NC
Level Contributor
337 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Location, North Myrtle, much less corwded that Myrtle itself - Parking across street- crowded parking but OK.
Upper floors nice view- we had 1 bedroom King Oceanfront - murphy bed, pull out couch - sofa horrid- really uncomfortable to sit on---needed a new one. Room shabby per repairs needed- curtains, carpet, some furn.
Rest of condo great- well stocked kitchen, washer dryer- wish people would use it to dry towels and STOP being so ghetto and hanging towels off balconey!!! Ice maker so you do not have to walk for ice.
Two flat screens and DVD players. FREE dvd's in lobby throughout stay.

A major con is that each tower is serviced by 3 elevators that have trouble moving the guests efficiently and the elevators and hallways could be very uncomfortable at times due to lack of proper air conditioning. There was not a day where we did not hear someone comment on the stifling conditions with the elevators and the wait.
People reserve chairs at pool and HOTEL STAFF does not enforce their own rules - so their is a real lack of seating at pool....Parents and young children enjoyed the pool and lazy river AND PARENTS ALLOW THEM IN HOTTUBS- this is dangerous for preteens- hotel STAFF ALSO DOES NOT ENFORCE THIS RULE WHICH IS UNPLEASANT DOE ADULT GUESTS.
To be honest many travelers seem happy here and see it as an upper tier option; I have come to expect more for my money. The decor was dated and beat up.
Parking is in a 7 story private complex across the street, spaces are VERY tight, driving lanes are VERY tight and most days I had to park on the 6th or 7th levels so be prepared to spend a little extra time parking.
The resort staff was courteous and helpful as well.
A resort the size of the Avista and with the rates charged should invest more into improvements AND ENFORCE THEIR OWN RULES AT POOLSIDE.
Would I stay here again? Yes inna pinch - but I think I would rather rent a house on another visit through VBRO for less $$.
Hopefully Avista will read this and amke improvements......

Room Tip: Oceanfront great - wifi awful - bring beach own chairs -
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimEg, Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and to give a thorough review. I want to provide the feedback you requested. First with regard to the Condo's, we do work with the owners but as these are all individually owned it will always by up to the owners to decide but most care a great deal about the property and work with us to maintain the standard we all expect. Please always let the staff know so we can pass along your take on the units. Next, thank you so much for the positive comment on our staff, we too are very please with them and the effort they all make to make this a resort we care all proud of and a great place to work. Lastly with reference to the pool and the rules. Though we do agree it would be better if our guest followed the rules we have no way to enforce them and have had guest make threats against our staff when doing so. We also have no authority when dealing with parents and their children in spas and the DHEC recommendation only state that children should not use the spa not that they cannot so we cannot enforce our opinion on our guests. We truly feel for all our guests when we have some who do not follow the rules and impact others, but we have found many more guest prefer we not become the police in these matters but assist as best we can so this is how we help, with hospitality, and we hope all our guest follow this same path and all our guest enjoy the use of the pools and pool furniture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The location was nice-nice beach and 3 block walk to Main St. BUT the layout of the resort was not great-
Indoor pool/lazy river/hot tub area was dark/very small and awkward to access. Like swimming in a parking garage. Access to beach was through basement.
awkward route from building entrance (parking garage/ground floor) to lobby for check in (walk through pool area/hard to find stairs)
Housekeeping only changed towels, never vacuumed and came very late in day. I left an item behind and have not had responses to phone messages or emails.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Sylvia H,

We are very sorry to see that you didn't enjoy the property set up and the layout of the resort and it may have possibly been due to the lack of info given on how to get around which is something that we are already working on solving. If you would please contact me at the resort and let me know what item you left behind, I will be more than happy to see if housekeeping has possibly already taken care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed at the Avista Resort before and had a pleasant stay. The rooms are clean and have good amenities. The beds were comfortable and the rooms bright and spacious. The staff is friendly and the onsite restaurant has a good breakfast. It is located on a nice beach and has numerous pools and a lazy river. There is a lot to do in the area for kids and adults.
We will return again.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a nice ocean view but some have a more direct view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leavey-andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear leavey-andrews,

Thank you so much for choosing the Avista for your return trip to North Myrtle Beach. We very much appreciate your continued support and patronage and are very happy to see that you had an excellent stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When we arrived the street wasn't as busy as we had thought. Less crowded than South Myrtle Beach. We parked under the hotel and asked one of the bellboys for a cart to take our luggage to our room. He rudely told us he was about to use it and walked away from us AND THE CART. So we took it anyway. Our room was not ready at check in but they were checking in other walk in guests and giving them keys to their rooms before us. We booked 2 months in advance. The room was not worth the price. The refrigerator would not stay cold. This was terrible considering we bought our food for the trip down there. We decided to go to the beach for about an hour and hoped it had just got warm where they had been cleaning. When we came back it was still warm. The front desk sent someone up and they used a screwdriver to try and turn it up. It didn't start getting cold until the next day. The dryer did not dry. The gentleman that came to fix our fridge told us it was a damp dryer and would not completely dry anything. So it was useless. The wait for an elevator was unreal. We got plenty of exercise the three days we were there since we were on the 10th floor. The parking garage was intense. BE AWARE NOTHING IS CIRCULAR! In the parking garage it just dead ends like the garage underneath the hotel. Backing up and getting turned around is ridiculous. Each level dead ends and does not circle around. We tried to park as close to the top as we could to avoid getting hit. Again, the elevator wait was unreal. We waited twenty minutes for the one elevator they had in the garage on the last day. We ended up taking the stairs and the elevator was on the main floor. So it wasn't even being held up by other guests. We had made reservations online and chose the dolphin cruise package. No one at the front desk knew about this or what to do about it. They were all amazed that they were offering this service. The day of the cruise the place called us an hour before to cancel due to the water being too rough. We had to go to the front desk and ask them to refund it for us. Again, the woman had no idea that they offered this. On the first day I had cut my leg on the beach and needed a bandaid. There was no first aid kit in the room. A guy maid was banging on our door later in the evening saying he had been told to get our laundry but we had not asked for such a service. I did ask him if he could bring me a bandaid. He had me write down what "I wanted", He never brought me one. Overall the beach and street was not busy but the hotel itself was way too crowded.

Room Tip: Ocean view means you will not have a perfect view of the ocean. We had a full window livingroom that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Chloe H,

We want to apologize and let you know how sorry we are that your vacation was not a memorable one and that we did drop the ball. I can assure you that all of your comments will be shared with our staff and that we will be correcting the unsavory behavior and making sure that he issues you had made us aware of are rectified. We do hope that you will return and see that this stay was more an a anomaly and not indicative of how great it is to stay here at the Avista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Twp
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was our first time visiting Myrtle Beach and all my friends stated to be sure to stay in the north Myrtle Beach area. All I had to go on was Trip Advisor and made our decision to stay here. The ranking seemed good and it had over 1400 reviews! The location seems to be one of the better resort/condo properties within the area. Of course there are some beautiful oceanfront homes you could rent but for a full resort with bar, pools, beach, kitchen, etc. this was perfect. My only complaint was the front desk check in. They did not seem to have any patience for people and would not allow us to check in early. They stated the one room we were set for was not ready - no other rooms available in the entire resort? We checked back an hour or two later and she wouldn't even look in the computer to see if if was ready. She seemed irritated and said it's not ready! That was slightly irritating because of the attitude. But we didn't allow the front desk experience to ruin our time there.

Tip: Beware that the bathroom is not on the pool level due to SC regulations so that was a major inconvenience. You also have to rent beach chairs for like $25 if you want to stay on the beach so bring your own. Rooms were clean, everyone was comfortable, and the view was pretty. I'd recommend this place for any family. It definitely felt like a family resort - probably not a great time for a couple looking for a romantic getaway. LOL Enjoy!

Room Tip: Stay on upper level if you want to avoid the pool noise outside. The higher level the better! Brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2014BoattownGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear BoattownGirl,

We appreciate the feedback and for you taking the time to let us know how your vacation with us had gone. We are pleased to see that you had a great time and that things were great for you and your family. I do also want to apologize for the lack of service you received at check in, I can assure you that is far from typical for our staff and will be addressed and I am positive rectified immediately. We hope that the inconveniences you did face wont deter you from staying with us again and we look forward to showing you how great and welcoming our staff truly is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
Wyndham Ocean Boulevard
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing