We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time visiting the Avista.”
Review of Avista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avista Resort
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd Time visiting the Avista.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Had a great visit with the family week of Aug. 24th. Place is clean. Great location. Many restaurants are within walking distance. Wanted a north side room but received a south side room. No big deal,still had a decent view of the ocean and the North Myrtle Main street area. The whole area is so laid back. Also a small amusement park 2 blocks from the hotel,which is great for younger children..Want a nice vacation in North Myrtle,start with the Avista.

Room Tip: Upper north side rooms have great views of Cherry Grove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranger319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear ranger319,

Thank you for sharing your comments with other prospective travelers and taking the time to let us know how your visit to North Myrtle Beach and the Avista Resort had gone. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed the many different things to do within walking distance and the breathtaking views that not only our oceanfront rooms but also our ocean view units do provide. We also want to thank you for choosing the Avista a second time and we do hope to have you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    622
    241
    130
    117
See reviews for
1,092
487
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have stayed at the Avista many times because we love the location; however, I think it is time for us to find a new place to stay when we vacation in North Myrtle Beach. While the staff and room were fine, we had an issue that we have never had before. We always rent an umbrella and chairs from the beach service in front of the Avista. The first time we went out there, I checked my name on all the open umbrellas and couldn't find it. I went to ask the guy renting them and was told which one it was and as I walked towards it a large group of Latinos who had been under it got up and walked away. I was told by the people under the umbrella beside us that these people had been sitting under our umbrella all morning. The same thing happened the next day to some people near us and I had to ask the chair rental guy to chase them away. While I realize this isn't the Avista's fault, I also saw large groups of people around the Avista pools in the late afternoon/early evening that I don't think were staying there. Several other guests mentioned this issue to me as well. They used to require pool bracelets but don't seem to require them anymore, which is encouraging people that don't stay there to hang out. We also had issues with the parking deck and people who were staying at the Avista almost ran us over several times. For these reasons, I think we are going to look for a more upscale place to stay the next time we come to North Myrtle Beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedAndHappy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear RelaxedAndHappy010,

Please accept our apology on behalf of the responsible parties for the chair mix ups you had faced while staying with us. I certainly understand how frustrating that can be, and I have shared your comments with the proper people to ensure that issues like these aren't negatively affecting our guests.In regards to the pool bands, we certainly do still require them and do multiple checks throughout the days and typically done by different staff members from our courtesy and engineering teams. However we do allow guests of the resort that are staying with a unit that is rented by an outside company to show their room card and verify where they are staying. This would explain why it may seem that at times there are people that don't belong but typically those people have been asked for verification. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future and give us the chance to continue to host you and yours as a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is nice but it is a little pricey given the parking "situation" and the cheap plastic chairs on the balconies. Check in at 4:30 pm was not as smooth as it could have been given that check in is at 4pm and the lobby was full of people being check in by 2 people. Since we were going for my friend's birthday, I had asked for some help with balloons, cake, etc... after I spoke with just about everyone in the hotel- I finally was charged an additional $60 for 3 balloons and a cheap bottle of champange. Our room keys didn't work and our entertainment the next morning was watching the servers in the hotel restaurant argue over sections and who had what tables. All in all it wasn't bad but for $300+ for one night- you kind of think it's not the Super 8 or what other less expensive hotel comes to your mind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Tracy D,

I am terribly sorry to see that you didn't have the experience that we believe you should have had and would love to speak with you about these issues a little further and hopefully we can make up for the shortcomings and have the chance for you to return so that we can be sure you get a memorable getaway. I look forward to speaking with you soon and hope you have a fantastic start to the upcoming fall season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in #932. It was a large one bedroom unit that was very tastefully decorated with a number of welcoming touches. This was our second time staying at the Avista. It was helpful having a refrigerator and washer/dryer for our use. The kitchen was small, but we were not there to cook gourmet meals so it met our needs perfectly. Our three children loved the beach and the pools. The pools were rather crowded at times, but the beach was terrific. It would be helpful to have a bathroom on the main level near the pool because we had to bring our young children upstairs to the restrooms when the need arose. The front desk employees were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0mT0Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear M0mT0Three,

Thank you very much for taking the opportunity to post your comments on your recent visit to North Myrtle Beach and the Avista Resort. We are delighted to see that this was your second trip and that everything was as great as the first visit with us and certainly appreciate the support and patronage and look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, NC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights recently and both agreed that the folks who run this place do an excellent job. Can't speak for other rooms but our room, #414 was beautiful, clean and tastefully decorated. The nice lady who checked us in (Trisha, I think her name was) could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Definitely set the tone for our trip with her warm and pretty smile. Myrtle Beach has many resorts but very few are on a par with The Avista. Would most definitely recommend and consider again if we were to come back to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear PhillyRick,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments in regards to your recent stay with us and letting us know the great start that Tri'Sha was able to take care of for you. She is an awesome person, who truly works hard to see that our guests are happy and satisfied and I will be sure to let her know the impression she left on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our last stay was ~5 years ago and we were pleased to note that the rooms have been updated with new living room furnishings (not high end but nice enough), carpet, tile, and counter tops. There are flat screen televisions in both the living and bedroom areas. The kitchen is a galley-style in the hallway. The refrigerator while not large is full size and there is a stove for those inclined to cook. Best of all, there is a dishwasher! Definitely more than adequate for our needs. Our balcony with two standard plastic chairs and small table afforded us a lovely view of the ocean and pool deck. The pool area was constantly attended to, with someone straightening up and mopping throughout the day and evening. We loved the Lazy River but noticed as did several others, that the flow seemed very slow even for a lazy river. One day, we discovered that they had forgotten to turn the "flow" on altogether, which was quickly rectified. Overall, not a major flaw, as the point is to float slowly around. The rooms were cleaned once midweek but we generated little trash and exchanged our towels easily enough with the very helpful, friendly maid as she serviced other rooms. My husband loved the fact that he could purchase coffee in the early morning and get free refills until 11 a.m. I loved being able to rent an umbrella and chairs on the beach - no dragging stuff back and forth. The setting is amazing and the location is convenient to all of the restaurants, shopping and other amenities of North Myrtle Beach and Myrtle Beach.

In regard to the hotel service, we arrived early and while our room was not yet ready, we were called within the hour by a staff member letting us know that we could check in. This extra touch was much appreciated. On the flipside, later that evening my husband was a bit cranky when he experienced a problem with the television, notified the front desk, and no one bothered to call back. It was probably just the flurry of arriving guests on a Saturday, as the next day (after we had figured out the problem) we received several voice messages asking about the issue.

Also on the down-side, the bedding didn't seem to have been updated with the rest of the room and appeared to be left over from "grandmother's house" with a standard mattress and lumpy pillows with cases that stopped well before the end of the pillow leaving about 4 inches of uncased pillow exposed. The sheets while very clean had seen a few too many washings and the comforter (I would swear) was the same as on our last visit. Definitely time for an update of the bedding.

Parking in the garage is tight but manageable if you keep a sharp lookout for the people who are clearly not used to maneuvering in tight parking garages.

Overall, any problems were minor and we loved the resort and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to NMB!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear casmith79,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and letting us know about your fantastic visit. We are happy to see that you had a great trip and that you enjoyed the resort and amenities. We look forward to your return and having another chance to serve you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The room is big, small kitchen real frig, stove. However. The shower is low low low pressure, the pull out couch is horrible and the towels are tiny. The pools are very small and the lazy river is boring at best. Close to the beach, elevators work fast. It was clean but not over the moon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gscharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach F, Front Office Manager at Avista Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Gscharles,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and letting us know how we can improve. We do constantly upgrade our units making for a more comfortable and relaxing experience. When you return should you have poor shower pressure or any other issues please let us know so that we can work on rectifying it for you and ensuring that you are satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
2.1 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,503 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,706 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista Resort

Property: Avista Resort
Address: 300 North Ocean Boulevard, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of North Myrtle Beach's newest oceanfront condominium resorts. Extraordinary features and architectural beauty combine to offer visitors the ultimate vacation experience. A condo to suit your every need and provide the finest experience possible; this is what differentiates between an average resort and the Avista Resort. As one of the first guests to have the opportunity to enjoy the experience of our new resort it will be our pleasure to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avista Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel Myrtle Beach
Avista North Myrtle Beach
Avista Hotel n Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing