We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN! !!!!!!”
Review of Southern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hubby and I stayed one night on July 23rd
1. Would not honor internet rate or rate on flashing billboard.
2. Room reeked of smoke
3. Covers had cigarette burns
4. Housekeeping entered our room twice although *do not
disturb* sign was on door
5. Charged my card $5 more than what I was quoted
6. Didn't try to wow me as a possible returning customer after I advised my son was
in college and we would be back and forth at least for next 2 years!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deewash8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The bad first: pay in cash or your credit card will be charged an extra fee. Do not use Priceline or any other booking internet company, another fee added and do not stay on Saturday or Sunday or you will be slammed with another $30 for the weekend rate, even tough the lodge is barely full. Odd cancellation policy, therefore we were stuck. Read contract carefully before booking. Breakfast not great..frozen sausage biscuits, Sunny Delight for a choice of orange juice...



The good: friendly staff, clean room and bathroom, and a nice comfy bed. The room was a two star and not worth $92 with the taxes included. It is said you get what you pay for, but we learned a lesson...all that glitters is not gold and this lodge should not be rated #1 in the area.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank saldontur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

There are a lot of motels in Orangeburg. I stayed in a different one two years ago but it was no longer open. (It was fine when I stayed but later reviews indicated it had gone downhill badly.) I picked Southern primary because of its ground floor rooms and near door parking. I was absolutely amazed when I got to my room. It had everything I could think of. It was clean and comfortable. And the service staff was exceptional. (Thank you Tanika and Ieesha.) Highly recommended!
Only negative was the AT&T ISP which was not working and I was told wouldn't be until Monday. I was there on a Friday.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms. Near room parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on way to Florida, arrived around 1 am. Got in and out quickly. The staff was really nice . Room was clean. Breakfast was simple but included in our stay. Check out was easy and back on the road! I would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank sadie32199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Going on the advice of tripadvisor, I booked two consecutive nights at southern lodge on hwy 601 just off I-26. The servicing staff was excellent but I had more surprises coming. When we got our room, it was dimly lite and I guess to hide the dirt and dust. Sitting at the desk with my lap top, I felt something crawling on my knee. I was wearing shorts and looked down at a large black spider,which I killed and took the managers office. Asking if they had any other surprises for me, I was informed that when it rains, the spiders come inside. That's everyday for rain in SC.

We were booked in room 116 if this helps and we were sandwiched between two truckloads of Mexicans that hung sheet rock. They drank a case of corona beer every night and sat on the sidewalk just outside of our room until around midnight. So much for peaceful sleep when this talking and revelry is going on.

The coffee was excellent in the mornings but I could not stand the mildew covered rod ends in the shower, nor could I take the noise of fan in the bathroom. Dust bunnies covered the walls as well as plastered over wall paper that had never been sanded, just painted over. What a disappointment that lodging was. I guess you get what you pay for in Orangeburg, SC.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with sheet rock hangers on both sides of you. Stay in a higher priced hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jds754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My sister and I stopped here coming home from a funeral. The people were courteous and friendly. Didn't care for the breakfast, frozen stuff! Nothing very appealing. Hard to get in and out of it. Would stay again if up this way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We called when we were an hour away and Latoya was very courteous and helpful. The room is very clean, comfortable and well priced. The lobby had lots of good is for sale ad well as wine. We enjoyed the flat screen tv too!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lisalazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orangeburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 19 in Orangeburg
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Orangeburg
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Orangeburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Orangeburg
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 19 in Orangeburg
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orangeburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Lodge

Address: 3616 Saint Matthews Rd, Highway 601, Orangeburg, SC 29118-8214
Region: United States > South Carolina > Orangeburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orangeburg
Price Range: £40 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate Small Town America with a pause for the quiet life at an affordable Orangeburg SC hotel near a great restaurant. Savor the simple life, plus ground level rooms, at Southern Lodge amid country air, fertile soil, abundant wildlife & the world famous Edisto Gardens' 165-acre rose park. Leisure at the Orangeburg hotel-motel is as it should be: clean, simple, worry free... easily-a-bargain-packed-value, plus friendly service at the family-friendly Southern Lodge, a mellow, easy in/out I-26 hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Hotel Orangeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing