We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After years away, I'm impressed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog Heaven BBQ & Raw Bar

Hog Heaven BBQ & Raw Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgetown, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“After years away, I'm impressed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

It had been several years since visiting here. A lot has changed.

The eating area has expanded. There's an inside bar and outside bar. Great tables to dine at, too.

My friend and I ate outside and enjoyed the buffet. Not one thing I had was bad. The BBQ was sauced just right and the all-you-can-eat shrimp was seasoned a little differently than what you'll traditionally find in seafood eateries, so that's a plus if you are looking for something different from the norm.

Very impressed with the layout (new to me). Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    93
    25
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“South Carolina BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

An interesting experience. As a Kansas City resident I have tasted several very good BBQ meals. The ribs were very tender with a tangy vinegar flavor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank trailsidedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You're kidding. Right??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This place should be closed down by the health dept. it is so dirty. The food is awful. I couldn't even eat the barbecue pork. It was pure vinegar. The Mac n cheese was dried out. The apple was anything but crisp. No one helped us or seemed to care about us. The buffet was dirty and old. Ugh. Do not go. Please

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ConsAff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hog Heaven = Human He((”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had I not been so hungry and the food so good, I would have escaped right after the gum-chewing waitress (with her long unkempt hair) couldn't be bothered to bring me a straw. Instead, she pointed to some vague spot that was three barstools away so I could wrestle one out of the re-purposed mayonnaise squirt bottle (!). She stood around indiscriminately ignoring the other lunchtime customers and then complained to me that someone asked if more chicken were on its way. They were down to three breasts when I took one, but what did she care?
The nice young man behind the bar refilled my tea glass twice (great fresh tea, by the way--sorry I could not find you to go back and tip you personally, sir) while the unmotivated waitress was on the patio chatting with two other women (who also seemed uninformed about southern hospitality). The black lady chef was very nice and personable when I told her this was my first visit; the man in the orange refilling the buffet seemed annoyed when I stopped to ask about the greens and compliment the food. Maybe he was just wearing the Clemson shirt without being an alum.
Paying my bill was another ordeal as I did not receive a check and the lone cashier was in the middle of prepping a large take-out order. Devil forbid the waitress cash me out at the table or they put another person up front to ease the congestion! Not so surprisingly, they do not take DISCOVER cards, but I would have paid with my emergency $20 just to get out of that drab-looking inferno without so much as a fire-pit for atmosphere! I drive by at least twice a week and will risk a speeding ticket next time before I consider returning or recommending Hog and Human He (anything but Heaven!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpinachSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shrimp and fried chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Just enough breading to make you feel guilty for eating fried. Can't imagine better shrimp or chicken. Service is spotty. Would have had several more drinks if the waitress was more attentive. Disappointed that no oysters were available. Will go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog Heaven BBQ & Raw Bar also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hog Heaven BBQ & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing