We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Afton Mn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Was truly a wonderful place to stay, we had the second floor seaside room and view of the ocean were great. Food at both restuarants (Ocean One and Cabana) was very good. Ocean One is as good a fine dining expierence you will find anywhere with wonderful views of the ocean from every table. Totally awesome place, would visit here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
The staff would like to thank you for the recent comments concerning our beautiful Litchfield Inn. We are addressing the bedding issues in some of our units. We are so glad that you had a memorable and enjoyable visit to our property. Every day we strive to meet all the expectations of the traveling public. As you may have noticed our property is clean, with great customer service and one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We do hope that when you are planning another visit to the Litchfield/Pawley’s area that you will allow us to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    519
    194
    83
    80
See reviews for
539
752
70
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the Litchfield Inn last weekend after getting a great room rate. The oceanfront Dune rooms are right on the beach literally steps from the protected dunes: all you have to do is walk to a crossing ramp and the ocean is just a few more steps away. This area of Murrell's Inlet has a short - narrow - beach so the walk to the water is a short one. The Inn is real nice - very helpful staff upon check-in. The room was clean and perfectly appointed with a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. It had two double beds where we would have preferred one queen or king, but we caught the Groupon deal so we weren't complaining. i highly recommend the Litchfield Inn and especially if you can gab a room deal: this place is worth the full price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you very much for the positive comments concerning the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn. The staff and management are very excited that your visit to our property was a positive one. We work very hard each day to make sure that you our valued guest are pleased with the product that we present. I do hope that when you are in the area again you will allow us to serve your traveling needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We purchased a Groupon for our stay so we got a great price ($79/night!) for our oceanfront room. We were in the tower on the 4th floor (Room 430). Although it didn't look exactly like the pictures (which I expected) the furniture and decorations were nicely updated. The room was very clean. The view was wonderful and I could actually see the ocean from my bed. The hotel also has oceanfront rooms with screened in porches, I believe those rooms are larger. There are also oceanview rooms in another building, poolside rooms, and villas off the beach for larger groups.

I did not go in the pool but there are two pools (one only goes up to 2 feet deep). The cafe has a pool bar which is nice because every ocean view is better with a Pina Colada :). Unfortunately because we were there "off season" it was not open on Monday. The restaurant was closed also. I checked out the complimentary breakfast this morning and it was pretty standard, nothing exciting but good if you are in a hurry.

They seemed to be doing some work outside of the lobby. The hotel was nothing fancy but nicer than a cheap motel. The elevator in our building probably needs a redo - there was a hole in the floor and the panel with the buttons moves when you push a button.

The area is very quiet if you prefer to be away from Myrtle Beach but close enough to it's amenities. I recommend the Applewood House of Pancakes just a few minutes away for breakfast.

Overall I would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel stay in this area. I would consider going back if I'm able to afford it ($279 in July for the same room, ouch).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
The management and staff are so proud that we could be part of your recent visit to the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn. It is also rewarding to see that our customer service and the quality of the product met your expectations. Your positive comments will serve as a guideline for training programs thru out the property. The beach in Pawley’s/ Litchfield area is one of the most beautiful and also allows families to enjoy some of the items we take for granted. We do hope that you will return to the Litchfield Inn on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, NC
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

When we arrived the first thing we had to do was to ask for a room change. From the property description we thought all rooms in the area we requested were ground floor. We were reserved for 2nd floor which would not have been any big deal except the elevator was waaaay over on the other side of the facility. My wife has a walking issue and cannot do steps. The room change was easy and the help at the desk was fantastic. Since we arrived early we asked the desk associate where would be an interesting area to visit for a few afternoon hours. She suggested the nearby Brookside Gardens and explained how beautiful it was and that even though it involved lots of walking there were "adult strollers" available. We had a very, very enjoyable visit to a unique and beautiful area, thanks entirely to the friendly staff.

Our room was clean and furnished great. The view of the ocean fantastic (room 102). Our private, screened in porch permitted the sliding door to be left wide open to the screened in area. This was like outdoor living on the ocean!

Room Tip: If you have physical difficulties, mention it when making the reservation. Usually we don't worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you very much for the positive comments concerning our property. All of our staff work very hard each day to make sure that each guest stay is met with a clean, organized property and top notch customer service. Your comments will be used as a motivational tool with our staff to make sure that Superior Customer Service is a consistent product given to each guest that utilizes our Inn as a get-a-way or vacation. Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you on the next visit to our beautiful and relaxing property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We rented the two bedroom, two bathroom oceanfront villa for a girls' getaway weekend. It was even more than we had hoped for. Sliding glass doors from both the living room and the bedroom led to the screened porch which overlooked a low dune and the ocean beyond. Both bedrooms and the living room had flat screened TVs and DVD players. A fully equipped kitchen included a refrigerator, stove and dishwasher. The apartment was spotlessly clean, had comfortable bedding and great showers.
The Litchfield Inn has two swimming pools and two restaurants, one of which had outside seating that provided an ocean view. The continental breakfast included the usual, but was awkwardly situated in the lobby, making access difficult.
The staff was extremely helpful and the location was ideal. I cannot say anything negative about this place.

Room Tip: The oceanfront villas are a great choice for families or groups traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
The management and staff at the Inn are so proud that we could be part of your recent get a-way to our area. It is rewarding to see that our customer service and the quality of the product met your expectations. Your positive comments will serve as a great motivation tool for our staff. The beach in Pawley’s/ Litchfield area is one of the most beautiful and also allows families to enjoy some of the items we take for granted. We do hope that you will return to the Litchfield Inn on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We purchased a Groupon for the Litchfield Inn for Spring Break (April 1 - 5) and feel that this was a very good deal for the amount we paid, which was $99/night for an oceanfront room with a screened porch. I read other reviews indicating that this is a condo-tel and you should request a renovated room, which I did when I made the reservation. Our initial impression of our room (Room 205 Oceanfront Bldg) was that it certainly had not been renovated. We called to the front desk to explain this and were told that this WAS a renovated room and no other rooms were open for us to move to. Clearly, their definition of renovated is not the same as mine. That being said, we decided to look at this as 'beach camping' and decided to make the best of it. We ended up having a wonderful time since the proximity to the beach/pool could not have been better.

Positives - friendly staff, rooms were large and clean, pools were clean and well maintained, grounds were kept well, breakfast was included, cabana restaurant had good food at reasonable prices and best of all - perfect location on the beach.

Negatives - room decor was outdated and the room needed more comfortable furniture - especially a chair with good reading light. Also, there was not a luggage rack which meant you had to store your luggage on the floor or on the dresser top. There was a low 3 drawer dresser which did not provide a lot of storage. The bathroom was small and there was no exhaust fan in it - the ceiling was very low in the bathroom and it was a bit claustrophobic and extremely stuffy without a fan or air vent. (There was a small window above the sink but it did not circulate the air very well.)

Once we resolved to get past the outdated decor and less than super comfy room, we were quite pleased with the beach location and spent the majority of our time outside. Our daughter and her friend felt very comfortable here and were happy with how easy it was to go from the pool to the beach to the room and have it all so close together.

We would go back to the Litchfield Inn but would ask lots of questions about the accommodations prior to booking.

Room Tip: Ask for details on what a renovated room means!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaR718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
The management and staff would like to thank you for the comments concerning the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn. Each of our units are individually owned and are tastefully designed by each owner. In that some items in the unit are similar all of the units are different. Every day we strive to meet all the expectations of the traveling public. As you may have noticed our property is clean, with great customer service and one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We feel that the Pawley’s Island/ Litchfield area has a more laid back atmosphere that allows you to not be part of the hustle and bustle of most Resorts. I do hope that you will allow us to serve you again when in the Pawley’s/Litchfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the ocean front villa - Room 200. It had 2 bedrooms with 2 beds each, living room and nice kitchen. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom. The screened in porch facing the ocean was furnished with plenty of rocking chairs. The condo was clean and very pretty. We enjoyed our stay. The beach was clean and not too crowded. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from. Shopping was fun. Barefoot Landing was 45 minutes away. The staff was pleasant. I would recommend this villa to any family looking for a clean, family oriented place to vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the ocean. Views of the ocean from the first floor are blocked b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
The management and staff would like to thank you for the positive comments you expressed concerning our beautiful Inn. Because of positive comments like yours it creates excitement within our Team that all the hard work does not go unnoticed. Every day we strive to meet all the expectations of the traveling public. As you may have noticed our property is clean, with great customer service and one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We feel that the Pawley’s Island/ Litchfield area has a more laid back atmosphere that allows you to not be part of the hustle and bustle of most Resorts. I do hope that you will allow us to serve you again when in the Pawley’s/Litchfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Property: Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing