We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book on-line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I made a reservation through the TripAdvisor advertised special. The banner for Litchfield Inn appeared, so I proceeded to book a room. I double checked that I could cancel the reservation. An email arrived from front desk at Litchfield confirming the reservation, giving a reservation number and having a return email address and phone number at the Inn. It restated the cancellation policy.

When I called to cancel, they claimed no knowledge of the reservation. When I replied to the email, again I got the Inn, but they claimed I had to "cancel through TripAdvisor".

Apparently they're running a "special" through a third-party system, but they won't honor those reservations.

Book only through reputable companies. Litchfield Inn has a problem.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
6  Thank SeeAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

We are very sorry that we did not put our best foot forward. We should have done a much better job understanding your needs and trying to meet those. Because of comments like these it will allow us the opportunity to retrain and work more diligently with our staff to assure that this does not happen to other guests staying at our resort. We strive daily to make sure that items like this do not happen but occasionally they do and once again we apologize. We do hope that when you are in the area again you will allow us to prove to you that our service is and can be Superior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,683 - 1,689 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here one night on the last night of our trip to the coast. We had reserved a room in the lodge, but were upgraded to poolside at no extra charge. The room was large and included a kitchen area with a fridge, hot plate, microwave. Everything was spotless. The windows actually opened and you can hear the ocean at night. Great location, convenient but off the busy main drag. Check out Brookgreen Gardens if you are in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

The management and staff would like to thank you for the positive comments you expressed concerning our beautiful Inn. Because of positive comments like yours it creates excitement within our Team that all the hard work does not go unnoticed. Every day we strive to meet all the expectations of the traveling public. As you may have noticed our property is clean, with great customer service and one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We feel that the Pawley’s Island/ Litchfield area has a more laid back atmosphere that allows you to not be part of the hustle and bustle of most Resorts. I do hope that you will allow us to serve you again when in the Pawley’s/Litchfield area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is just South of Myrtle Beach, and what a cool place. My girlfriend and I on a quest to visit as many beaches as possible this year have already completed 6 trips to several beaches together. This is probably one of my favorite places on the east coast. The staff were incredible, we stayed on a livingsocial purchase that we had misplaced and had technical difficulties utilizing, (no fault of the Inn or LivingSocial) They worked with us for the whole weekend.

During our stay the people were our age or a little older, so very few little children here. Something that parents of 3 chldren and also 3 granddaughters, will definately appreciate! The beach front bar served pretty good fair with decent service, the finer restaurant upstairs served outstanding food and the Sommelier was knowledgable and quiet friendly. Overall i would stay here rather than most any place in Myrtle again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor great Ocean front view, Stay here if you want a quiet vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkern70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

The management and staff at the Inn are so proud that we could be part of your recent get a-way to our area. It is rewarding to see that our customer service and the quality of the product met your expectations. Your positive comments will serve as a great motivation tool for our staff. The beach in Pawley’s/ Litchfield area is one of the most beautiful and also allows families to enjoy some of the items we take for granted. We do hope that you will return to the Litchfield Inn on your next visit to our area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our second time at the Inn was even better than the first. We went on a Groupon (hope they do that promotion again next year!). Though the Inn was virtually full, the staff handled us personally and courteously--especially Laura at the front desk. Being able to get the Tower king unit we requested made a big difference. Since the units are individually owned and decorated, it's really important to check out what you get. The big plus of our visit this time was that the pools and Cabana Cafe were open. The Cafe's menu is outstanding--it's linked to Austin's Restaurant upstairs and they offer all kinds of fresh seafood. Plus--you can't beat the Happy Hour (4-6) prices on beer and wine! The Cafe service also was great. We can't wait for our next opportunity to return!

Room Tip: Check out the unit first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

The management and staff of our property would like to thank you for allowing us to be a part of your recent stay. Your kind words make us push forward even more toward our goal of Superior Customer Service. We are so glad that you had a memorable and enjoyable visit to our property. I do hope that when you are in our area again you will allow us to make reservations and continue to give to you the best service and peaceful surroundings you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We loved this hotel. My husband and I bought a Groupon for a 3-night stay (4/27 - 4/30/12) and could not have been more pleased. We had a 4th floor oceanfront room in the tower, with a marvelous view. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and there is nothing like going to sleep with the sliding glass door open to our balcony, listening to the gentle sounds of the surf rolling in all night. The room was decorated more like a condo, with warm touches of nice artificial plants and artwork, mirrors, etc. The bathroom was huge (by medium-priced hotel standards) and very clean. There was a nice size refrigerator, a large microwave, a toaster, some dishes, flatware and wine glasses for our use in the room. Our second morning for about 15 minutes we watched a school of dolphins surfacing about 100 feet off the beach. Beautiful!! We recommend you plan your stay so that you can be there for low tides during times that you can walk the beach and go all the way down to the inlet on the south side of the beach. Low tide for us was 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., so we got up early one morning in order to be at the inlet around 7:30 a.m. Were we ever rewarded! Found lots of intact shells, but our prize was two conch shells (a large one and a small one). We also found two starfish stranded on the sand, but since they were still alive, we tossed them back into the shallow water in hopes they would survive. We will definitely return to this hotel for another stay.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the tower. Ask for a room at least as high up as the 4th floor to get a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybugRockHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

We would like to thank you for the positive comments concerning our property. It is so nice to know that our hard work does not go unnoticed. We strive very hard to make your visit to our Inn a positive and memorable one. We do hope that when you are visiting the Pawley’s Island/Litchfield area again that you will allow us to make your reservations and Welcome you back home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

we stayed for 3 days.the rooms are very clean.we were on the 2nd floor veiw of the pool.their was,nt much activities their.so we drove to myrtle beach for dinning, movies etc.the staffs and guess was very nice and freindly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allaboutval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you very much for the positive comments. We are so glad that we had an opportunity to assist you and your family to create positive memories that will last a life time. It is important to us to know that we as a team made your visit to our area a fun and relaxing one. Your comments will be shared with the entire staff. I know that they will take great pride in knowing that all of their hard work did not go unnoticed. I do hope that as you plan future vacations you will remember the Litchfield Inn and continue to allow us to create special memories for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We loved this spot. We only stayed one night to experience the beach on a "college scouting trip," but wished we could have stayed longer. They upgraded our room to an oceanfront which was fabulous. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We opted to eat at the casual restaurant at the inn and loved it. Good service and good food. A fun place for a family or couple. I was there with my daughter. There was easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frumpyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

We would like to thank you for the positive comments concerning our property. It is so nice to know that our hard work does not go unnoticed. We strive very hard to make your visit to our Inn a positive and memorable one. We do hope that when you are visiting the Pawley’s Island/Litchfield area again that you will allow us to make your reservations and Welcome you back home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,913 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
212 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range: £64 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing