We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views were outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views were outstanding!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a wonderful birthday weekend in Litchfield. The views were absolutely outstanding but with that said, I feel they need to update their rooms. The place really needs a facelift. It is looking old and tired inside and out. The staff were very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
I would love to speak with you further about your experience, please contact me at your convenience at:
(843) 237-4211
Sincerely,
Jeff Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    539
    204
    89
    84
See reviews for
575
789
71
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Went into this Vacation needing to hear waves on the beach and seagulls flying. Walked into the room and couldn't believe I had it all from the balcony of our ocean side room. Only a short walk and we were on the beach with sand between our toes. The on sight bar/restaurant had good food at a reasonable price. I believe some rooms are individually owned and rented out. The room we had was well maintained and decorated with small kitchenette, updated bathroom. I will go back if I get a chance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1sassymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Litchfield Inn.
We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I really want to write a glowing review of this inn. There were some issues that prevent me from doing so, however I will say there were a lot of positives also.
I'll start with the good stuff: the location is great (far away from the crowds of Myrtle Beach and other attractions but close enough to drive to them), beautiful beach, convenient peach/pool location to the poolside room (we were able to go to the pool area and beach via sliding door from our room), great place for families with small children, very friendly staff, free continental breakfast with plenty of options, free coffee available all day and very clean grounds.
Now unfortunately a couple of negatives, our room (111 poolside) was not very well maintained. The bathroom was pretty dirty and showed signs of much needed maintenance. The window was covered in cobwebs and dead bugs. The tiles had a very thick layer of dust/dirt as well as the under sink cabinets. This was a sign the room had not been cleaned very well for a while. It would have taken housekeeping just a little bit of time each day to prevent this layer of dirt from building up as I was able to use a washcloth to wipe a section away. The tub was not very clean or appealing looking. I would not let my children sit in the tub for baths. My three year old took showers and I gave my nine month old sponge baths. I wore flip flops in the shower. The provided utensils/dishes were kept in cabinets that looked like the also had not been cleaned in quite some time. There were cheerios on the floor when we got there. We had an issue with housekeeping. We needed the bedding on one of the beds changed, so we left it on the floor so housekeeping would know. Well, housekeeping came left some new towels in the bathroom but never even cleaned the room (cheerios still on the floor) and left the bedding on the floor. We had to go to the front desk to have this resolved and it took a bit of time as the day time housekeeping staff had left and they were attempting to get in touch with the night staff. Eventually a very nice staff member, Steven I believe was his name, came and took the bedding to be washed and did some sweeping and wiped down the counters. Later, he returned the clean linens in a bag for us to remake the bed. The front desk did check with us to see if we were taken care of. However, this incident and the condition of the room lead me to believe that housekeeping is an absolute weakness of this property.
Another negative, flies everywhere. Not sure this is the hotel's issue or just one for the area but I figured anyone going would like a heads up. They were all over the property!!!! In the rooms, by the pool, in the restaurant, in the lobby and not just one or two....tons!!!! It was so annoying. We actually went to buy bug repellant in the hopes it would work.
So with all that said, I am very torn as to whether or not I would stay here again or another property in the area. Cleanliness is obviously very important for me when staying anywhere especially with my children and I feel this inn needs some improvement there. We may check out the beach and golf resort next time.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Poolside 111...not sure about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaceyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
I would love to speak with you further about your experience, please contact me at your convenience at:
(843) 237-4211
Sincerely,
Jeff Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mckinney, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great view and access to beach. Great for families and couples and friends. Away from most of the masses at the beach, yet convenient enough to get to anything that you may want to see if you have a car..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shalmir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Litchfield Inn.
We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I love the Litchfield Inn. The staff are wonderful. The rooms are one of the best we have stayed in. You can't beat the view from the Towers. All Tower rooms have a terrific ocean view. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Litchfield Inn.
We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is so great. Right on the beach, surrounded by private houses. Very calm and charming. Rooms are clean, especially those in the towers. two pools, little pools but great for kidsI recommend it +++++++++

Room Tip: If you cans get it, take the rooms in the tower, the view on the ocean is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Litchfield Inn.
We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A friend and I spent 4 days at the Litchfield Inn in mid-August. It our first visit and it was FANTASTIC! We were looking for an oceanfront hotel close enough to Myrtle Beach that we could drive in to shop or eat out if we wanted, but far enough away that we weren't 1) swamped with traffic and a million other visitors 2) paying upwards of $250 per night for a room OR staying in a run down hotel on the strip. The Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel was perfect!

Litchfield Beach itself is amazing- it has a handful of restaurants and grocery stores and great proximity to Murrell's Inlet and Myrtle Beach. So you get the best of both worlds- the small beach feel with access to the activities of larger cities.

The hotel itself was clearly built a while ago, but our room (#428 in the tower) was beautifully renovated. We DID make sure to request a renovated room when we made our reservation. The room we had was on the end of the tower closest to the pools so we had not only a balcony but also a wall of windows overlooking the ocean.

The room had a granite kitchenette- a sink, small refrigerator/freezer combo, a coffee maker, toaster, and microwave. There was a round table for 4 and 3 chairs. The room also came with silverware, plates and bowls- which were perfect for eating lunch in the room.

The only complaints that we had were that, because it was the middle of summer and there were lots of families here, both pools tended to be pretty crowded. The beach however was not crowded, so we weren't too bothered. Also, in the tower (which is 7 stories) there is only 1 elevator, which could be pretty slow.

But otherwise the hotel was fantastic- the beach was gorgeous, the room very nice, and the staff helpful. I would recommend it to friends and family and we will definitely be back.

One last note- if you are a government employee, teacher, or military be sure to bring an ID and ask for the discount. We thought it was only for military, but when we told the desk that my friend was a public school teacher they gave us $150 off our room!

Room Tip: Call directly to make a reservation and ask for a renovated room. The rooms in the tower ending in 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W, General Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Litchfield Inn.
We strive each day to give the best vacation experience possible and feedback helps us better achieve that goal.
Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.0 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
186 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Property: Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing