We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck! Dingy and Musty, non-helpful employees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We took a chance on this place because the reviews were all over the place, but trust me the bad ones were on the mark. When we checked we were told the room we had reserved (oceanfront suite, or something like that) was not available because the staff did not enter our reservation that was booked thru a travel site so we were down graded to the best available even after being charged for the higher priced room.

This room (359) was a total nightmare and I am no hotel snob. It smelled of mildew, the beds seemed to be 1000 years old and the windows did not open. Also believe it or not there was no smoke detector in the room. It appeared as if someone had ripped it from the wall.

The bathroom was tiny and I am not sure if even the best of cleaning crews could have brought it back to life. Parking was also difficult and we ended up parking in a no parking zone. Noise was not really a factor as we were in a end unit and I do not think anyone was next door.

I can not believe a place like Litchfied Beach would have such lousy accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChick1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jearlcollins, Director of Sales at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2010

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sending us your comments on the Oceanfront Litchfield Inn. We have been working with both our staff as well as the owners of our units to insure that you, our guests is getting the service and product they expect.

Our Inn is unique in many ways, such as the units are all individually owned which gives our owners the opportunity to show their style and flare.

We are in the process of beginning a renovation of the property and want you to know that we are working hard to make sure that future guests do not have the same opportunities.

We look forward to seeing you all again with our great changes coming on very soon.

Sincerely,
Kim Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,785 - 1,791 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed in room 201 right off of the ocean. If you are looking for a relaxing and laid back get away this is for you. You will enjoy it if you know what to expect. The Litchfield Inn is not a five star hotel. You are paying for the ocean view and quick access to the beach. There are a few hidden treasures such as Brookgreen Gardens and Primarily Pines (American made wooden tables) and lots of opportunity to watch nature, golf, and fish. For more upscale dining, shopping, and history you are driving distance from Myrtle Beach and Charleston.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aabbccddeeffgghhiijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfiwayne, Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2010

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your kind words of our classic seaside resort. We appreciate reading good reviews from our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The room was clean and well maintained. Our room had a screened in porch on the 2nd floor that look out over the ocean. Thay had 24 hr coffee in the lobby and a free beakfast every morning. Could not ask for much better and at a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfiwayne, Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Traveler,

I always enjoy hearing about our guests who enjoyed the hotel, but also like to hear of some of the small but important things that we can fix and become even better. Thank you for your recent feedback and we will continue actively to work on improving service levels in all departments.

We have addressed the issue with the latch on the gate and ensure this to not be an issue in the future. Please contact me at Wcribb@litchfieldinn.com so I may handle your reservations for your next visit with us. Thank You again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

In fairness a previous stay was very pleasant. However when we arrived for a second stay the room confirmed in writing was not available. Instead of a 2-bedroom villa for the three adults, we were given essentially a single room. The room had a noisy AC and had a lot of external noise.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phantom6_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfiwayne, Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2010

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your recent feedback and we will continue actively to work on improving service levels in all departments. I am glad to hear that you have had good stays with us in the past, but I am sorry that we failed to satisfy your request during your stay this time. Please contact me at Wcribb@litchfieldinn.com so I may handle your reservations for your next visit with us. Thank You again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Hotel location, bar, restaurant etc were great, but the room was definitely a dissapointment. The room smelled of mold as soon as we walked in, and paint was peeling off the walls. Wall paper in the bathroom(always a bad idea) was also peeling off the wall(as expected in the bathroom). Finally, our room was next to the gate leading to the pool area and the gate was broken. The gate would clang very loud every time it was opened/closed...all hours of the night so sleeping was hard and the hotel did nothing to fix the gate or change our room after multiple complaints...good thing we were not in the room much...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfiwayne, Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2010

Dear Traveler,

I always enjoy hearing about our guests who enjoyed the hotel, but also like to hear of some of the small but important things that we can fix and become even better. Thank you for your recent feedback and we will continue actively to work on improving service levels in all departments.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel by staying with us again. I can guarantee you that our standards of service will impress you on your next trip to the Grand Strand. Please contact me at Wcribb@litchfieldinn.com so I may handle your reservations for your next visit with us. Thank You again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Right up by the beach where you can heard it and enjoy it by day, The Litchfield Inn is it. The beach is perfect, not crowded. We've stayed in upgraded units and older cheaper ones and our trips are always wonderful. There are two very good restaurants, both overlooking the ocean. Poolside rooms are noisy but it does not bother us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myweekendtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfiwayne, Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2010

Thank you for your kind words. We are working very hard. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I really enjoyed the over all experience from the time we checked in...early I might add with no questiions or delays....our view was worth way more than we paid ocean view could lay in bed and all we saw was the ocean the rooms was spacious with two queen beds bath room was large water pressure was good...the employees knew us and they even remembered our drink orders...cool people and very friendly..from the front desk to the management....food was great can reccomend the fresh fish had it a couple times on the pool deck listening to live music......the beach chairs are well worth the 25.00 they put out when you order and where you want them...makes going to the beach easy...just take a book and something to drink and a towel light work ...you parents know what i am talking about dont have to move the house.....GREAT PLACE will be back...cant wait even thinking about buying there I feel you cant go wrong.........Thanks Wayne and staff for making our 13th anniversary GREAT

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbug44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lfiwayne, Manager at Oceanfront Litchfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words. As for my GM Fred Brown, my entire staff and myself included, we are taking great pride in our Classic Seaside Property and we are going to take this winter and work very hard at getting the rooms up to where the standards that they need to be. I look forward to seeing you again next year for another exciting celebration. Thanks...Wayne C-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
1.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
11.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
208 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanfront Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanfront Litchfield Inn

Address: 1 Norris Dr, at Litchfield Boulevard, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-5582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanfront Litchfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic South Carolina Oceanfront Resort. The hotel is situated on quiet and serene Litchfield Beach, yet only minutes from faster paced Myrtle Beach. Are attractions include Caledonia Golf and Fish Club, Brookgreen Gardens and Pawleys Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oceanfront Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanfront Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island
The Litchfield Hotel
Litchfield Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing