We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hours of relaxation”
Review of Sea View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pawleys Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea View Inn
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“24 hours of relaxation”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I spent just 24 hours here as a night away while visiting family in Myrtle Beach. It was perfect! Great food, awesome beach, rocking chairs on the beach facing porch, no cell phones, no TV, no AC, no computers (except on the screen porch). They have an awesome system for alcohol - bring your own and tag it to keep in the common fridge or cabinet. Glasses, corkscrew, bottle opener, ice, and limes provided:) People actually made conversation with each other! No one sitting with their face buried in their smart phone. Absolutely lovely and just what we needed - wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a beach front room, the beds are full or twin so be prepared to be cozy!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jen_uhrlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    15
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Pawley's Island is totally non-commercial. The Inn is rustic, but very clean, and all (southern cuisine) food is included. We met 'old' friends who had come the same week for 25 years. The spot on the deserted beach is a million $ location. This has to be a unique experience in America - small, homely, no TV, no cell phones; Americana the way it used to be.

Room Tip: This place is reserved a year in advance. A sea view room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

WOW! Is the best way to describe our visit. If you are looking to relax and have some of the best food that you have ever placed in your mouth, this is the place. We actually near the ocean in Georgia and were told about this place from a friend of ours that owns a local B&B. When I first heard that there are no cell phones, lap tops or TVs I wasn't excited, but it was perfect. We are already planning our next trip there to relax some more.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage "B", you will LOVE the outside shower, really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

What a great place to kick back, make some great friends and completely relax. Out of this world food, right on the ocean. Creature comforts rest in your own thoughts and reflections. Great for walking the beach, shelling, sitting inside the inn, on the large porch filled with comfortable rocking chairs, reading a book, chatting with other guests or taking in some of the fantastic nearby shopping. There is local color as well as upscale in the shops, and Charleston is a mere 90-minute drive away.

Room Tip: There is one cottage with air conditioning but it is behind the main inn so no view of the ocean but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdithK597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOW
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I took a week to drive up the coast from Georgia's Golden Isles to Wilmington, North, Carolina. We were looking for that ideal place, a beach-side retreat away from traffic and commercialism. We drove out to Pawleys Island at suppertime and chanced upon the Sea View Inn, only finding it as we drove along the narrow road behind beach houses because of the several cars parked outside. When we walked up the steps, we felt like we were stepping back to an earlier era. We found simplicity and beauty in a classic southern beach inn. Meals were for boarding and pre-scheduled guests; nevertheless, the staff took us under their wing and allowed us to join in the evening meal, a generous low-country boil of shrimp, sausage, corn and potatoes. The sea breeze swept up the beach to the porch with its rocking chairs and into the common room and dining room...there is nothing formal about this inn, it's bare feet and sand and lovely weathered pastel wood. The Sea View Inn is on our A list for a future stay. The inn is perfect; we found nothing else like it on our trip. Room rates include three meals a day and are discounted for week stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank phil4dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I still enjoy my visits very much, but it is a little sad that very young children are now allowed to visit in the off season. Also the owners have forgotten how important it is to the guests to have them make an effort on a regular basis to meet and greet and interact with the guests. You can now stay an entire week and never see them. Everything else still makes this a great vacation destination and I would recommend it for those who really want to get away. Just check the weather reports first. There is no heat (other than space heaters) or AC, which adds to the charm for some.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Repsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Back again and loved it just as much. Food is great; people are interesting; scenery is lovely; room is quaint and traditional; the staff makes you feel like it is your own place. The only complaint is that we always gain weight when we go there!

Room Tip: We love the beach front - get a great breeze off the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyParisMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
3.3 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,710 reviews
4.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,834 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
15.1 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Property: Sea View Inn
Address: 414 Myrtle Ave, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-6212
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pawleys Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing