We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks and seafood”

Frank's Restaurant & Bar and Out Back at Frank's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Now entering their 25th year of operation, Salters and Elizabeth McClary have established what is irrefutably one of the Lowcountry’s best and most sought after restaurants. The story behind the dream-come-true is interesting. The restaurant was named for Frank Marlow – the gentleman who operated Marlow's General Store (for forty years!) where the restaurant now sits. Natives remember the store – and Frank – with obvious fondness.Salters worked as a bag boy at Marlow's during high school. Some years later he confided his dream of opening a restaurant to his former employer. Frank promptly announced his intention to retire and proposed his old store as the perfect spot for the new venture. In a matter of months, one Island institution was transformed into another. History repeats itself in that folks clamor to get to Frank’s. Then and now, Frank’s is a Pawleys classic.Featured in Gourmet, Bon Appetit, Southern Living, National Restaurant Magazine, and South Carolina Living Getaway with Sandra Lee, Frank's is really two restaurants in one. In the main dining room, there's candlelight and white linens and a bustling bistro atmosphere that is both intimate and energizing. The food is award winning. There is an extensive selection of appetizers for those who enjoy exploring lots of options or eating a bit lighter, as well as several new entrees. The ambiance here is decidedly elegant, but in no way stuffy. Don’t wait for a special occasion to give it a try.Frank's Outback is – quite literally "out back" of Frank's. Here, beneath an umbrella of trees strung with lights, there's a marvelous open-air bar, expansive decks, an enormous fireplace and a cozy indoor dining area, as well. Private rooms are available. It’s a bit more casual than Frank’s, but no less appealing. Lots of appetizers, small plates, gourmet pizza from the wood-burning pizzas and several specials daily.It must be noted that Frank’s and Frank’s Outback Bars have great atmosphere and are favored by locals. Many meet at Frank’s for an end of the day celebration. The wine list, hand-selected by the owners, is reasonably priced but reads like a who's-who of the world’s vineyards. Many of them are available by the glass. Both bars open at 4:00 PM. With free Wi-Fi, one could finish their work in a relaxed environment, grab a favorite appetizer or stay for dinner to make it the perfect ending to the day.There’s no place quite like Frank’s and Outback. The best advice comes firsthand, so ask any local where to eat. Chances are Frank’s will be at the top of their list. The professional wait staff is outstanding. Reservations are essential, so please call ahead!
Sharpsburg ga
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great steaks and seafood”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We ate at Franks on May 15, 2014. The food was excellent and the service was perfect. There were four of us and we all ordered different seafood and steak meals. All of the meals were exceptional. We will definitely go back to Franks on our next visit to Pawleys Island or Myrtle Beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    703
    148
    49
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hands down the best food, service, staff and atmosphere in Pawley's Island. A must go for summer vacationers.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014



I was in the area for pleasure and have heard great things about it. I called to find out about the restaurant. Walter answered the phone and was very helpful with directions. When we got there he worked us in and got us seated at the bar even thought the restaurant was full. We had dinner at the bar. Tony was very friendly, and was knowledgeable about the menu. Our meal was great and drinks were even better. If you go try the short ribs as an appetizer. They are amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pawleys
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wsy over rated - a local”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

So after all these years we thought we'd give it a try.

Not just poor service but what appears to be biased. With no one around and very few customers, the guy who was within 2 feet of me, who was facing me but talking at the bar, talked on & on for a good while as we stood there and waited and waited. He could clearly see we were there (nothing hidding us plus we were truly within a few feet of him).
Once seated, though we're locals from SC, the table beside us (all northerners - nothing wrong at all with that) was helped at least 3 to 1 times more often. Amazing! Even to fill our waters while they were filling the table beside us (same waitress even!) we had to wait until later or when we flagged them down.
Food was okay but for the price the size was terribly small. The main dish was the size of a small appetizer! It cost ~$30.00 ala cart (you pay extra for salad or veggies). Amazingly this was not an expensive dish either.

O well, if you are from here and want over priced food and poor service then Franks is the place for you. We'd rather go to any of the many great places including Chive Blossom Cafe around the corner!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salters m, Owner at Frank's Restaurant & Bar and Out Back at Frank's, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
I am a bit confused by this review. We have a female manager who also sits reservations so I am unsure of the "this guy" comment. Perhaps the guy was not a person who had the ability to sit a table but nonetheless, if he was an employee, he definitely should have greeted any guest. Unlike most restaurants in the area, Franks' serves freshly baked bread, house salads, starch and vegetable for EVERY entrée at no extra charge. We are NOT a la carte. Our menu is divided into two major categories: small plates and entrees. A small plate is large enough for many to have as a dinner but is also meant for group sharing. The entrees are regular dinner portions and all come with salad, vegetable and starch as well as freshly baked bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a must-dine restaurant”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We dined at Frank's in a party of eight on 4/30/14. It was our first time but the other three couples were multiple repeat customers, and raved about the place in advance. Still, Frank's exceeded even our inflated expectations. Our waiter - Trip - was outstanding. Accessible without being intrusive, sincere without being doting, and truly interested in providing a satisfying experience for us, which he absolutely did. The food was wonderful and I wish we had time to go there again during this visit to SC, but we will save that for a future trip. Do not pass up an opportunity to dine at Frank's. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Such a fun place with great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stopped by Frank's Outback for drinks after dinner. They had a live band, heaters on since it was a cool night, and it was packed with people of all ages. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. What a great time! Can't wait to come back and possibly have dinner here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank laurakaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frank's Restaurant & Bar and Out Back at Frank's also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Frank's Restaurant & Bar and Out Back at Frank's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing