We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mike Strantz gem”

True Blue Plantation
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Mike Strantz, this is the more rugged and challenging sister course of the Caledonia.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Mike Strantz gem”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A Strantz course is unique and this is no exception. Played the gold tees which allowed for a lower score than average. Very generous fairways. The only fairway I missed was a short par 4 that I tried to drive using a 3 wood. As typical of a Strantz course, there are some blind shots and some mystery to some holes until you play it a 2nd time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulobry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    7
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice Course for Good Players”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The course was in great condition. The fairways were lush and the greens were in great shape even in 95+ degree heat. Some really nice holes.

This is a Mike Stranz course so expect huge waste bunkers up and down the sides of many fairways. These can really put a strain on a high handicapper. You may want to either play close tees or play somewhere else if you have high handicappers, wife or kids with you. An off day can really punish you. Definitely practice in the sand before you get here.

This is a great course but Caledonia is so much prettier. Play both if you can but if you must choose one, play Caledonia.

A towel with the cart and some extra water stations would have been nice in the heat.

We stayed at the True Blue Villas as part of a golf package and they were very nice. Right on the course.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimmyfgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Condo was a scene from a Brady Bunch Nightmare.....”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom condo @ True Blue last July 2011 with my husband and dad, the furniture was old and hard, the bed was miserable, there was dried blood on the wall in the master bedroom, we had to take the mattress off the couch bed and put it on the king to add some cushion because the bed was so stiff. The DVD player nor Stereo worked in the den, I called to complain to the lady at the clubhouse and all she said was I will contact the owner. We needed extra bath towels and were told we would have to pay for them, There are better places to stay in Pawleys Island, for sure!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HallieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Greens by far.”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great layout and great course. Only issue we had was the walk from some cart parking to greens seems to be way out of line compared to many courses but we will go back again since the greens at this course are the best. Don't buy the photo as it is a rip off for what they give you and don't dare ask for a digital copy because the guy who does this for them will not deal and I'm glad I didn't since I found a great work around. Take you own camera.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ned G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Nice but pricey”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

True Blue was in good shape, nice greens but would have expected more for the price. No GPS on the carts. Our cart's parking brake did not work. Divot bottle holder was broken so bottle had to flop around in the bin. Restrooms only on the 12th hole. On one hole we had to wait for the groundskeeper to finish mowing the green. Not what one would have expected for the $124 that we paid. Will go back when the rates go down in the summer.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dakota-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed True Blue Plantation also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to True Blue Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing