We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in course conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Founders Club

The Founders Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest courses on the Southern Strand, this club offers large greens, and no parallel holes; two characteristics that tend to be absent from many of the modern courses at Myrtle Beach.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed in course conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

After playing Caledonia and Heritage, played Founders for the first time. I'm afraid it will go on my "I've played it once and never need to play it again" list. Nothing wrong with the staff - all pleasant and professional. And the layout is not bad, it just was kind of "scruffy". The greens especially were poor. It has a great location right off of Rt 17 but personally, would rather play better courses, and there are plenty of options in the area.
On the front nine mostly have to cross a lot of roads, which didn't bother me, but bothers some people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank psteinhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    13
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Played this course during Veterans Tournament and will not return. The course was soaking wet with terrible greens and lots of muddy waste areas to drive around in. Driving range consisted of a couple of mats and large net.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maigolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“VERY different and unique course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Well, I've never driven in so many waste bunkers to get to a ball on the fairway before. This course is uniquely designed with very little water and LOTS of hard packed sand in waste bunkers. It was ok but almost seemed repetitive after a while. A lot of holes looked like cow pastures with a weird mix of grass and these bunker things...not sure what was going on. It was sure something I hadn't seen before.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very different track with sand down the lateral sides!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I enjoyed this course , first time the rough was sand. Loved the challenge. There was a lot of water trees and bunkers to give you a hard time the staff was friendly and polite... I will play again. Check local papers for coupons ... have fun

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank walkerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
320 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Unique design but Many Better Courses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Average rating may be somewhat generous. Played several times but first time in about 3 yrs. Fairways were very thin; had not been over seeded. Many of the greens had bare areas and had been painted green. Staff are professional and courteous. Clubhouse and pro shop are very nice. In summary, it will probably be another few yrs until I venture back to Founders Club. Too many much better clubs in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Founders Club also viewed

Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Founders Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing