We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campground Great During the Week, a Zoo on Weekends”

Table Rock State Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Pickens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State Park featuring trails and the significant Cherokee landmark, Table Rock Mountain.
FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Campground Great During the Week, a Zoo on Weekends”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It's a beautiful place. It's clean...thanks to the Rangers and Campground Hosts. It has great hiking trails. But there is campground over-use on the weekends. The rules state only 6 people per site. During our stay, one tiny site had 11 people and 5 tents on it, plus 2 cars and an equipment trailer to haul all their stuff. This was one family, not a scout troop. There were multiple sites with many more than 6 people on them. This inconsideration by campsite renters over stretches the small, inadequate, out of date bathroom facility. If I can't get back there during the week, I'll rent a cabin on the weekend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank fthikerFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    57
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The park has most of what you're looking for in a mountain getaway. Fishing, camping, hiking, swimming, and boating are all offered here. There's also a lodge for those who don't want to rough it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great vacation spot!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Third time we have stayed in a cabin at this park, but the two campgrounds are really nice, too. This park is a great place to spend time with family: fish in the lake, hike some trails, & swim in the wonderful old swimming hole, where you will see high & low diving boards on a platform unlike any in a blue-water "citified" pool! A true gem in the foothills of SC!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beachnut83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome Hike!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We went here to kayak and fish and we accomplished both with big smiling faces. The hike up was fantastic than as you reach the top of Table Rock you are treated to amazing views and photo opportunities. A fast tip there are some tough slippery spots especially after it rains so wear proper footwear also if you have physical disabilities such as leg or cardio trouble stay far to the right side so you can go at your own pace and faster folks could pass because the trail could get busy. I loved the view when kayaking it was breathtaking! The park was very clean and spread out and the staff is very friendly.

Helpful?
3 Thank My3boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun family day!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This was a quick planned fun filled day with my boys. We enjoyed one of the short trails for a hike that had several waterfalls and streams to keep my boys interested. Would totally recommend the park for a family day of exploring with all ages of children!

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather_mlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Table Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Table Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing