We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Richburg
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We would have had a better nights sleep in a cleaner environment if we had slept in our car and used an outhouse!!! The bed was horrible, the facets in the shower encrusted with soap scum, holes in the carpet, dirty mirror and the rug filthy: my white socks were BLACK in 2 hours.

I completed an online survey later and the management responded that they were refunding all our money but we were charged $89.50 and they only refunded $44.75. Ah, well live and learn; no more Econo-Lodge motels for us.

The kitchen eating area was horrible hot and moist due to the laundry being right next down and the doors were open between. It felt as tho the dryer weren't vented outside. No fruit, no yogurt, milk in a gallon jug and water in a pitcher - non sanitary. The cereal was stale. The staff stood at the desk - and griped the entire time we were in the eating area - which wasn't long.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here. There are several other motels very close by - surely one of them is clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to fill out our survey. We are taking action to help make our property better everyday with the help from our guest. With your comment we can help retrain our staff to
help bring our hotel up to better standards. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Please know that your comment goes a long way and changes are being made.
Please Contact our front desk manager at the hotel to insure that we have corrected all issues with you. Thanks again for your time and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

The day desk clerk was helpful, as she had to flight with our door to open it.
Had to turn handle up and kick the door to open it.
No hair dryer, no coffee in room.
Bathroom flo or was sticky and shower was a problem.
Stayed there last year and it was ok but not this year...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for review.. We are taking action to help make our property better everyday with the help from our guest. With your comment we can help retrain our staff to help bring our hotel up to better standards. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Please know that your comment goes a long way and changes are being made. Thanks again for your time and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place was soo nasty..the people we are traveling with had people staying in the room that thay got a signed.mind you that it's 2 adults and 2 children..so thay moved them up stairs and made him move a roll away bed and bedding up to the top dloor all by him self after another guest complained about her room not being cleaned.so we unpack our stuff and 20 minutes later we find cock roach's in our..this is unacceptable to run a hotel like this and apparently after reading the blogs about this place we are not the only ones!!I don't know how or why trip advisor recommend's this place..

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigpro225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Sigpro225,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online review regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge.
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the roaches you saw on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our pest control company to ensure these types of situations are handled differently in the future. We will reschedule with our pest control company to insure we make a difference for you and everyone.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Richburg.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Staff & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We needed a room for 2 nights, the room was big, a bit dated, clean.
They don't have a Breakfast, or coffee. You have to make an awkward call to the phone to get service, So if you don't have a cell phone or yours is dead, your in trouble.
Nice people, helpful.
For the price and location, this place is exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on 2 other occasions and were pleased but this time was a different story. We found a dirty tissue on the nightstand and a dirty towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door which left us skeptical about the overall cleanliness. The TV was outdated and shut itself off randomly and there was no remote control in the room. Discussed with manager who was apologetic but that does not change the uncomfortable feeling you have when you're staying there. Unfortunately, not sure we can trust staying there again in the future.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sk_mcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

On behalf of my whole staff I apologize for the issues you had while you stayed with us. I have addressed the issues about housekeeping with the housekeeping manager. I sincerely hope that you come back and let us give your the service that your deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Loved the motel. Beds were comfy and the room was very clean. The breakfast buffet was home cooked and it was all you could eat. Free managers cocktail hour at night as well with free beer and wings--lawdy dey wuz good eatin

or was that the place in charlotte?

hmm?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you Fred for the great review, although you are talking about another hotel. We do have great services and breakfast but we don't offer what you have commented on. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In the FIRST room we were given, sheets/bedding & bathroom were filthy. Hair on pillowcases, dirt/crumbs in bed. Found a "crack-pipe" (as the staff member called it) under the sheets!!! Informed staff. Took pictures.Second room we were offered had not been cleaned at all, either. Beds were stripped, with bedding piled on floor. Shower was running, and we thought someone was in it! The lady on duty was helpful, checked the rooms & the shower, continued to offer another room & called a housekeeper, who yelled at her that we were lying, stated that she HAD, in fact, cleaned both rooms. The third room we were moved to was only SLIGHTLY better. The sheets APPEARED clean. The bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly (although better than the first two!). There were also no personal hygiene items (shampoo, etc.). Thank goodness we brought our own!! The rooms were in disrepair. Mattresses were sagging. All three rooms, carpet was filthy & rooms had an unpleasant odor. Doors appeared to be coming apart/separating, so we definitely did NOT feel secure! We do a lot of traveling and this was, by far, the most disgusting & filthy place we have ever stayed. I would not recommend to ANYONE, EVER.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVgirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to type a review. We are taking action to help make our property better everyday with the help from our guest. With your comment we can help retrain our staff to help bring our hotel up to better standards. We are sorry to hear about your stay and hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Please know that your comment goes a long way and changes are being made. Thanks again for your time and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Richburg
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 6 in Richburg
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Richburg/Chester Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 6 in Richburg
216 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3200 Lancaster Hwy, Richburg, SC 29729-9038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Richburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Richburg
Price Range: £45 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo lodge property exterior corridors, two story, drive up rooms, Very quiet place to have a good night rest, Free breakfast, free internet, free long distance calls, and great clean room for a reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Richburg
Richburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing