We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Liked It Here.”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Richburg
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The woman at the front desk was very nice. That made a huge difference. Offered me a wake-up call and called me "hon" which was nice after driving alone all day. Yes, it's your basic interstate motel and the area in general seemed a little dumpy, but there's a beautiful southern forest behind the hotel you can stand at and take in. Room was clean and updated. Overall I would definitely stay here again. I chose it over the Days Inn nearby, where I went first, because at Days Inn they would not take the interstate coupon from the booklet even though it said "no gimmicks" in the booklet. I'm glad I stayed here instead. If I drive that way again I'll stay here. :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

A basic interstate motel. You get what you pay for. Indian family owned. Rooms dated and furniture ragged and needing replaced. Not clean enough to feel comfortable in, in my opinion. Obviously this motel in my opinion thrives on the one time interstate visitors that they will never see again, knowing people are tired and are ready to just get some sleep and get off the Interstate and if their not happy oh well. The front desk and management staff don't seem to have a clue on who is in charge or what is going on. They didn't even make our reservation after we called and the manager we talked to on the phone was apparently not the manager after all according to the person who checked us in who said she was the manager? The area doesn't seem real safe. The owners own the motel next door the Relax Inn which seems to be a step down from this one, they both allow week long living. Room issues - Pillows flat and sucked. Bathroom toilet lid wouldn't fit the tank? Toilet was slow to flush. Tub finish coming off. Sink faucet messed up. Cheap flat screen TV. Carpet rough. Really cheap Kleenex, unless you like to poke your fingers through when you blow your nose. Basically a cheap motel not real clean worth maybe $25.00. We got a price of $39.95 an they acted like it was a great deal, not so in my opinion. The "breakfast" was a joke, the juice was terrible and the coffee really bad. There is not a lot of choice in this area, I-77 and Highway 9, but I would suggest looking at the Comfort Inn, they wanted $84.00 a night so it must either be worth it or overpriced? The Motel 6 in the area is also owned by another Indian family, no surprise right, and from staying there before it may rank one step above this motel. The best part of this area is the Omelet House Restaurant just down the street, great breakfast.

Room Tip: all drive up exterior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank apspres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here on my way to Florida. Was looking for a cheap place to spend the night halfway and thought this would be okay. Price was low but you get what you pay for. Room had microwave and fridge but no coffee maker or alarm clock, I've stayed in some real dumps that at least had a clock.Room was clean but not crisp if that makes sense. Staff was friendly and breakfast was ok but nothing special (bagels, toast cereal, coffee and juice). Wouldn't stay here again but can't say it is terrible. Seem to have had a better expierenjce than some other revuers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to fill out our survey. We are taking action to help make our property better everyday with the help from our guest. With your comment we can help retrain our staff to help bring our hotel up to better standards. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Your review was passed on to our Front Desk Manager to help retrain and insure this issue does not happen again. Please know that your comment goes a long way and changes are being made. Thanks again for your time and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place was the worst I've ever stayed at. Dirty walls, wallpaper coming off, broken tiles around the bath tub accompanied by mold, people had left their initials scratched on the inside of the metal door. There was a fridge that hadn't been defrosted in years, about 3 inches of ice in the upper portion, some one had left garbage in the drawer with the bible and who knows when or how long that had been there. Not even a coffee maker in the room. After 10 plus hours on the road I was too tired to go some where else, but the sheets were clean. You only get wgat you pay for and this place was cheap, but never again.

Room Tip: There is an Econo lodge across the street, check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neenienooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We would have had a better nights sleep in a cleaner environment if we had slept in our car and used an outhouse!!! The bed was horrible, the facets in the shower encrusted with soap scum, holes in the carpet, dirty mirror and the rug filthy: my white socks were BLACK in 2 hours.

I completed an online survey later and the management responded that they were refunding all our money but we were charged $89.50 and they only refunded $44.75. Ah, well live and learn; no more Econo-Lodge motels for us.

The kitchen eating area was horrible hot and moist due to the laundry being right next down and the doors were open between. It felt as tho the dryer weren't vented outside. No fruit, no yogurt, milk in a gallon jug and water in a pitcher - non sanitary. The cereal was stale. The staff stood at the desk - and griped the entire time we were in the eating area - which wasn't long.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here. There are several other motels very close by - surely one of them is clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to fill out our survey. We are taking action to help make our property better everyday with the help from our guest. With your comment we can help retrain our staff to
help bring our hotel up to better standards. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Please know that your comment goes a long way and changes are being made.
Please Contact our front desk manager at the hotel to insure that we have corrected all issues with you. Thanks again for your time and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The day desk clerk was helpful, as she had to flight with our door to open it.
Had to turn handle up and kick the door to open it.
No hair dryer, no coffee in room.
Bathroom flo or was sticky and shower was a problem.
Stayed there last year and it was ok but not this year...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for review.. We are taking action to help make our property better everyday with the help from our guest. With your comment we can help retrain our staff to help bring our hotel up to better standards. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future. Please know that your comment goes a long way and changes are being made. Thanks again for your time and comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This place was soo nasty..the people we are traveling with had people staying in the room that thay got a signed.mind you that it's 2 adults and 2 children..so thay moved them up stairs and made him move a roll away bed and bedding up to the top dloor all by him self after another guest complained about her room not being cleaned.so we unpack our stuff and 20 minutes later we find cock roach's in our..this is unacceptable to run a hotel like this and apparently after reading the blogs about this place we are not the only ones!!I don't know how or why trip advisor recommend's this place..

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigpro225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm138, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Sigpro225,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out an online review regarding your recent stay at Econo Lodge.
Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the roaches you saw on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with our pest control company to ensure these types of situations are handled differently in the future. We will reschedule with our pest control company to insure we make a difference for you and everyone.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Richburg.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Staff & Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Richburg
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Richburg
Motel 6 Richburg
#3 of 6 in Richburg
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Richburg/Chester Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Richburg
Days Inn Richburg
#4 of 6 in Richburg
215 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3200 Lancaster Hwy, Richburg, SC 29729-9038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Richburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Richburg
Price Range: £45 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo lodge property exterior corridors, two story, drive up rooms, Very quiet place to have a good night rest, Free breakfast, free internet, free long distance calls, and great clean room for a reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Richburg
Richburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing