We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ridgeland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I didn't check reviews on this hotel and will never stay in one that I haven't checked out. I wore my socks to bed because walking on the carpet and in the bathroom scared me.
The breakfast room is very small, decent breakfast but they ran out of orange juice.
The Comfort Inn was very full so that should tell you something. Pool not open, probably because of the terrible pollen.
Sundays few restaurants are open. Jasper's was closed not sure if it was because of Easter or they just weren't open on Sunday.
We went all the way back to the last exit in GA for a meal.
SC and GA do not sell liquor on Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomac114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    5
    8
    26
See reviews for
15
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kenvalley,n.b.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

this was only one of four quality inns i would not recommend. It was still value at $52 but just! Bit run down, small rm, says it is newly reno but coudldn't see it. small bkst rm with passable continental bkst.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brokenjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

It didn't bother me that the clock didn't work, or that they booked us next to really noisy people, or even that the toilet ran for 20 minutes after we flushed. It didn't really even bother me that the ceiling could have fallen in at any moment or that the bathroom floor was disgusting. Believe it or not, what did it for me was that even on "stop" the air WOULD NOT TURN OFF. We almost froze to death. It was so bad that I finally had to put the heat on. We did not get good sleep whatsoever. The room did it's job of a place to sleep for the night and a place to shower, but don't expect anything more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ridgeland hotels

SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2009

. It was very dark , old, lack of security other than a chain on the door , Most of the lights didn't work. I told the desk on the way out but don't know if it got fixed. The whole place needs a make over. I read reviews on Trip Advisor and most said it was a good place to stay. We were afraid to take off our shoes and worried about the safety of our car and persons. I realize it was $60 for a night at the senior rate. It was in the middle of nowhere, next to I-95 so it shouldn't cost much. But still, I would hesitate staying at any Quality Inn ever again. To check in at night, you couldn't get in the lobby, you had to hand your credit card through a space at the window. The breakfast room was nasty and the food unappealing in appearance and taste. Never go there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCtraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, WV
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Pros:
Nice grounds. Easy check-in and check-out. Conveniently located. Lots of pillows. A/C works well.

Cons:
Only lukewarm water in the evening, only cold water in the morning. Wi-fi (still) not working. No mattress pad on bed. Breakfast area inadequate in size for the number of people trying to use it (we went elsewhere). Carpet in the room was totally, disgustingly filthy! Upholstered chairs in breakfast area and in lobby also dirty. Some fixtures in room are rusty. Sloppy paint job last time it was done.

I stopped at the Comfort Inn as I was leaving and asked a guest about the cleanliness of the Comfort Inn. She said that it was very clean. I believe that it would be worth the few extra dollars to stay there rather than the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeble24740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Very nice hotel and front desk girl was very friendly and welcoming. There was a beautiful park in behind that was a lovely spot to walk. It was Christmas time and it was decorated with tons of lights and different moving displays all through the park and along the boardwalk. We could view all of this from the window in our room. The beds were wonderful, and rooms tastefully decorated. We could hear a train rumble by during the night, with an engineer that loved to sound that whistle!!

A couple of problems...we could not connect to the internet from the room, or from the computer in the lobby. They told us the wind had knocked out their router, and they were having it fixed. Also the breakfast was depleted by the time we got down there...which was early. There was no waffle mix, no fruit, no knives, no muffins, no coffee, and only a couple slices of bread left, so that pretty much left just cereal. The girl at the front desk was also responsible for the breakfast area, which was part of the problem.

We mentioned these problems when we checked out, and the girl offered to print us out the directions that we needed from the internet. We thought that was great...until we realized that we were following directions that were not correct!!!

Hopefully these problems were temporary...we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — Breakfast needed to be replenished
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 4givN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast, US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Customer service was disgusting for the first night of our honeymoon. We were first given the wrong room - with two double beds & took 1/2 hr to get a new room. The King room they gave us had bugs on the walls, muddy footprints on the sheets, & blood on the sheets. We felt dirty even standing in that room breathing the air around us. We went back to report our findings to the hotel clerk. We wanted our money back & were so disgusted with the cleaning service abilities that we felt every room would be covered in filth. Another clerk had to get involved. Her name was Elizabeth Smith & she should NOT be working with customers. She was probably the rudest individual I have ever met & she had my husband and I crying in disbelief and frustration. She was APALLING. She refused to call the hotel owner. My husband works for a hotel & this kind of situation would have never happened & and if it did - would have resulted in someone being fired. They ruined our honeymoon. I will tell everyone this story and contact BBB! We deserve a week’s free stay somewhere to make this up to us. Blood, bugs, mud, and horrendous screaming and swearing customer service representatives represent this hotel. We didn't sleep in the room - we didn't get our money back - and we left in tears! This was a honeymoon nightmare!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ShockedBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgeland
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Ridgeland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Point South
Best Western Point South
#1 of 6 in Ridgeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Hardeeville-Hilton Head
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hardeeville Inn & Suites
12.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Yemassee
Red Roof Inn Yemassee
#2 of 6 in Yemassee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Yemassee/Point South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 511 James L. Taylor Road, Ridgeland, SC 29936-8575 (Formerly Quality Inn Ridgeland)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ridgeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgeland Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing