We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff need training....now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn St. George
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saint George
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Staff need training....now!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I checked in about 6:30pm after a very long, stressful day on the road. The weather was horrid, the roads crowded, I was tired!
I pulled in and was pleased to see this hotel had an easy entry and re entry to the highway very close by. I was greeted by the desk clerk, Cynthia I believe. She was professional and gave me the rate information I requested. I inquired on the acceptance of AAA and she adjusted my rate. It's was pricey for the area but I was too tired to go any further down the highway. After I got to my room I researched and they were well above the $55 average on that strip. My rate was 80 minus the discount.
I drove around to my room and found some young folks with a large truck packing up their items from or into the room next to mine. It was hard to tell. I unpacked and immediately hit the shower. My room was a handicapped accessible room ...not sure why she gave me that. The place was not full. The shower was lousy. It has a removable hand held shower head. The water pressure was barely enough to get my hair washed. Oh well, at least the water was hot.
I ate a snack and settled in to get some shut eye. The one bed in the room was comfortable. Clean. Plenty of pillows. I turned on the tv mostly to drown out what sounded like a comedy festival in the adjoining room. The folks next door maybe deaf. They had their set so loud I could hear it word for word. Very offensive ( and I'm no prude) show. I could hear no one laughing next door. No talking or comments so I figured it was just one person, maybe in the bathroom.
I tried so hard to sleep but the tv next door was just awful. I even knocked on the wall. No result. I looked for a way to phone room to room but the phone instructions were not there. I put my headphones from my iPod in my ears, covered my head with a pillow and tried to sleep. It was fruitless.
About 1am I called the front desk and asked the gal, Kathy I think, if she could contact my neighbors and ask them to turn the tv down or off. She said she would. I heard the telephone in the next room ring a short time later. Three rings. I wondered if she could spare the energy. No answer. I phoned her back and suggested she let it ring longer. Maybe they were in the bathroom. She did so. Four rings. Really? Wow!
I phoned her again and said she needed to knock. She walked to the room and I heard her knock. No answer. She left.
I phoned her again and asked if she could just go into the room and shut it off. She said no. They are not allowed to enter a guest room. She did offer to move me to another room upstairs on the other side of the property. Gee thanks. I asked if she had considered that a guest could be injured, a heart attack, dead? I also mentioned that when I checked in they asked for my cellphone number. Could she try the guests number. She said she would do that.
A bit later I heard her knock again. This time, thank you Jesus, she opened the door and turned the television down, a bit. Apparently there was no one in the room. I could still hear the tv but it was so much better that I immediately fell asleep. About fifteen minutes later I was awoken with a screaming of a very loud telephone. It was dear Kathy, calling to see if the tv situation was better.
Truthfully I wanted to really let her have it for waking me but I let it go. Thanks Kathy. Back to sleep.
My alarm went off at 6. I was exhausted but had to hit the road. I was looking forward to the promised hot breakfast in the lobby. Praying they had some good southern biscuits and gravy!
After I packed my car, I drove up front and spoke to the front desk staff about my issues overnight.
I received a bland oh that's too bad. My request for a refund or discount for a third of a nights rest was refused.
I went in to get breakfast and found very cold stale biscuits and day old cold gravy. I took a banana and left. Angry and hungry.
So, the lesson here? Complain early.
And don't stay here.
I used to be a quality inn fan. Not anymore.

Room Tip: Drive right past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliejudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    53
    32
    24
    31
See reviews for
62
48
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Sleeping accomadations very comfortable. However, breakfast was horrific.
Food area filthy, coffee cold, rotten bananas. Pastry and food tasted stale, waffle machine wouldd not cook waffle all the way through.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint George hotels

Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Needed a place to stay to sleep on a road trip that wasn't pre-booked. Not the best of location but easy access on and off the hi-way. Staff was prompt and helpful. Rooms are dated but I did find my bed comfortable and clean. After 8 hours on a motorcycle, I most likely would have felt comfortable in a bathtub.

Room Tip: don't expect to use the training room, not worth your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Price was right but very outdated and stale feeling. Needs to be updated with new carpet, shower head was horrible, update beds and bedding. Fresh paint and wall paper would make a huge difference. Breakfast was average. Not enough healthy choices. Mostly carbs with boiled eggs as the only protein available.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntMissyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Yes, it was only $70 a night, but this place is just plain worn out. They haven't had an update to the rooms in over 20 years. The sheets appeared to be clean, but the comforters were stained and worn. The exterior could use some updating, cleaning and paint. This is not what I would equate with the name "Quality".

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BeachTravel114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We found hair around bathtub, rug not cleaned well, wifi not working. It made us feel queasy.
Air conditioner was barely working.
Reception staff was alright.
Breakfast area fine. But outside area of hotel dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n756tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We checked in on a friday night headed to Daytona beach. I always book 6-8 weeks in advance. We were given a room by the pool area. The room was fair, the beds were awful for sleeping hard and slight odor. The air conditioner made a terriable racket when it cycled on and off. Between it making a racket and the hard smelly bed there was no chance of getting any rest. At check out we passed on the free breakfast as the area was dirty and the person on duty needed a new uniform a few years ago as it was worn and dirty. The check in area was bad fixtures hanging from the wall. The building could use a total rehab. This location is off our radar for our anual stop over when heading south.

Room Tip: There are breakfast alturnatives across the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davbeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint George
0.2 mi away
Days Inn St George
Days Inn St George
#3 of 9 in Saint George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.6 mi away
Peach Tree Inn
Peach Tree Inn
#1 of 9 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 9 in Saint George
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Walterboro
Econo Lodge Walterboro
#1 of 16 in Walterboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
22.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
Red Roof Inn Walterboro
#4 of 16 in Walterboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
19.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Santee Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn St. George

Property: Quality Inn St. George
Address: 6014 W Jim Bilton Blvd, I 95 Exit 77, Saint George, SC 29477-7806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Saint George
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn St. George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of this Saint George, SC hotel will enjoy amenities and features, including: Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free hot deluxe continental breakfast, Free local calls. Guests will also enjoy the relaxing seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like a lobby computer and access to copy and fax services and wireless internet throughout hotel. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Non-smoking rooms are available. This pet-friendly hotel offers a landscaped play area larger than four acres, perfect for pets to roam after a long day in the car. Ample bus and truck parking is located on the property. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, make the Quality Inn hotel your home away from home in the Saint George area. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn St. George Hotel Saint George
Quality Inn Saint George
Saint George Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing