We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty but boring”

Camelot Farms Equestian Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a horseback ride on the beach and along moss covered tree lanes in the low-country of SC. We have something for all ages. Lessons, boarding, training, pony rides, guest house, camping areas, and a brand new gift shop. Enjoy the day discovering SC by horseback!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty but boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I like to "ride" but don't like the nose to tail plodding routine where the horse can do the trip with its eyes closed.

The other two people on the trip knew next to nothing. Well, one didn't know anything and I had to tell her to hold the reins. Altho the horses COULD do the trip with no reins. Her horse was slow and she had no idea what to do.

Having no instruction other than "Just Kick Him!" is insufficient. It was an unpleasant ride as we had to stop to keep waiting for her horse to catch up.

The good thing was the very brief mentions of the original plantation house and the road shown in Forrest Gump where he runs down losing the leg braces. Other than the view and just being on a horse, was good.

The ride - not so much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great staff, well behave horses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

If you like horse back riding and going for an extended trail ride, Camlot Farm is the place for you. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Love the coastal ride through the beaten path.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely and off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We did the two hour ride, through forest, beach, old plantation house... beautiful area. Nice horses and pleasant, helpful staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you love to ride horses, this is the place to go in the Beaufort area. You can rent or bring your own horse and ride the trails or the arena or even ride the beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and attentive staff, forest gump site seeing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

My mom and I did the 2hr riding trails. I'd never riden before, but the staff was very friendly as I caught on right away. The horses were very nice. The trail was pretty and we rode on the beach for a little, but you're not allowed to ride very far. At high tide the horses can go in the water! We also rode down the road from Forest Gump where Jenny yells "run Forest" and saw the plantation house. Great fun!

Helpful?
1 Thank Smashleybear89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camelot Farms Equestian Center also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Camelot Farms Equestian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing