We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Pines View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Three Pines View
Ranked #2 of 2 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
1 review
“A True Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

... the raw beauty of Lake Jocassee, Lake Keowee, and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains as we drove in... the roaring fire in the lodge that crackled from dawn till late in the evening... the cozy tea service available around the clock... the en suite Jacuzzi and thick robes... the sunset views from across our private balcony coupled with the gas fireplace, both enjoyed from our luxurious bed... the delightful, organic breakfast in the lodge overlooking the mountains and the crackling fire... the guided boat tour around the lake with Steve... our intimate dinner at dusk with Sinatra in the background at our same table... these are a few of our memories of a most amazing weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
119
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winder,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My 3rd time to TPV since 9/2012, each time bringing others to enjoy all that is here. TPV is truly like another world, however so close to so many of us. We plan to 'book the house' for family and friends to visit and watch the mountains and listen to the silence. Nothing other than excellence exists here - Diane and Steve make sure of that!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Of all the B&Bs I've ever visited, this one is the best by FAR. Tucked away near Lake Keowee in a wooded setting is a lovely lodge B&B run by 2 of the nicest people you may ever meet. Diane & Steven are the perfect hosts - friendly, accommodating, happy to share their space and very focused on providing a great experience for their guests. We ran across the inn quite by accident while in the area checking on property, and it will be an absolute go-to for us in the future. The rooms are tastefully decorated (not that nauseatingly frilly style typical of so many B&Bs), and the detail and thoughtfulness with which they have set up the space is incredible. We arrived late, but there was tea service in the main lodge, which is made accessible to guests 24/7, and the music that plays around the clock in the common area was a fabulous touch. Coffee service starts as early as 6, earlier if you want to set your hand to the dial before the pre-programmed brewing starts. Breakfast is usually from 8:30 to 9:30, but they are kindly accommodating if you need to have it outside the usual time range. Steven is a trained chef, and the breakfast he prepared for us (transcendental omelets with beautiful ingredients like boursin cheese and arugula and all manner of other transformative elements, along with fresh, delicious coffee, freshly cooked bacon, and a variety of sweetbreads & fresh fruit) was THE best breakfast in recent memory - and I'm not even an omelet fan, but, as I said, these were SO much more than typical pedestrian omelets - just amazing. The room was super comfortable, extremely clean, ULTRA high quality bed linens and towels, with plenty of shampoos and soaps - and Diane made sure there was wine available for us in case we wanted to have a glass when we arrived. Each room has a microwave, convenient for warming up the ad-hoc dinners that Steven will prepare and leave for guests in their room for a very reasonable rate and with 24 hours notice. Each room also has a small wine cooler, handy for chilling water bottles (or wine!) and storing a bucket of ice which Diane fills and makes available for guests on arrival. Bathrooms have a shower, a jet tub with in-line heat to keep the water warm no matter how long you want to soak, soft, fluffy bathrobes, and plenty of the necessaries, including extra towels - lots of them. Electric fireplaces in the rooms are a great touch, with adjustable heat and blowers - a great option for turning down the central heat and cozying up! In-room, wall mounted televisions also double as computer screens, and each room has a balcony with a fan and comfortable porch furniture (which we were actually able to enjoy, given that we were there in a little January warm snap!). Downstairs, centrally located to all rooms at the lodge, is a guest kitchen, which is gorgeously appointed and fully equipped with quality appliances and tools - guests are welcome to help themselves to the facility at their whim. The view from the property (which sits higher than the surrounding area) was limited while we were there because it was raining and foggy, but even without being able to enjoy the vistas for which the place is known, we still found the scenery to be beautiful and woodsy and enjoyable. Much as I've tried here, I simply cannot express in mere words the level of complete comfort we felt staying at 3PV, it is, by far, the homiest, best-feeling accommodation we may ever have had the pleasure of staying in - it is simply apparent at every turn that Three Pines View is truly a labor of love.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techwreck09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I spent our 20th anniversary in December at Three Pines View and it was fantastic. From the gourmet food to the warm and beautiful accommodations I can not imagine a better stay anywhere. The mountain views were as advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed the company of Steve and Diane. Will go again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We received a gift certificate for one night plus dinner at Three Pines View, and we are hoping this will be our new yearly mini-getaway. The lodge was impressive as we drove up, but the room was even better. We stayed in the "Lofty View" room, though we have heard all of the rooms are great (and cost the same per night). Our room in particular had no shared walls, so we loved that aspect of it. My first impression of the room: Wow, this is SO CLEAN. The furnishings are perfectly matched for a lodge and the bed was very comfortable. We also enjoyed the beautiful view of the mountains from our private balcony.

As wonderful and relaxing as our room and surroundings were, the food was even better. Seriously, I would not skip the dinner. Although dinner costs extra (breakfast is included in regular rate), it was probably one of the best meals I've ever had. There is no menu. The chef whips up a meal with whatever they buy at the market and what they have in their garden that day. Our meal included a delicious salad, honey cornbread, Chicken Venetian, fresh veggies, and raspberry cheesecake. It was thrilling (and a little scary) to have no idea what you'd get, but I'm confident that I'll love whatever the chef makes after that meal! My understanding is that they only provide organic foods, and they will try to accommodate specific diets.

Although breakfast is included, I wouldn't necessarily call this a "bed and breakfast" in the traditional sense. All of the rooms have their own separate entrances from either outside or off of the all-seasons porch. So you don't really feel like you're just staying at someone's house, yet it feels just as intimate because there are only 5 rooms total. The owners were very pleasant and hospitable, and even provided me with a couple of their recipes when I asked.

If you want privacy, a view, and a relaxing getaway in an updated yet rustic atmosphere, go here. Even if you just have the food, the trip is worth it!

Room Tip: If you want the maximum amount of privacy, get the Lofty View room. It is also the only room that ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MurdockMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to discover this wonderful intimate inn shortly after opening several years ago. We were married there and make it a point to return at least once a year since it's our top choice in the southeast for a relaxing & recharging getaway.

Innkeepers Diane and Steve couldn 't be more accomodating to their guests every need. Steve's a wonderful chef - breakfasts and dinners are healthy, creative and generous portions. They know everything about the area for that local perspective on the best places to visit, eat and shop.

We love to kayak, hike, bike...anything outside. All are options close by. Our biggest challenge is to pull ourselves away from the roaring fireplace, cozy sofa and a good book to take advantage of the sports & recreation in the area.

We've been to many B&Bs, this one is the tops!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

This B&B exceeded our expectations of what a true B&B experience should be. From the time we arrived we were treated warmly by the owners. They were extremely accomodating and helpful. Our room, as well as the entire property, was even better in person than what we expected. The fireplace in the room was a great romantic touch and the private balcony offered amazing mountain views! The food (we experienced breakfast and dinner) was high in both quality and quantity. We enjoyed the central location to the many nearby hiking trails and waterfalls and also quaint shopping towns! We highly recommend this B&B! We will definately be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Captain's Quarters", but all rooms looked equally appealing and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Seneca - Clemson Area
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
16.5 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
17.6 mi away
Hotel Tillman
Hotel Tillman
#4 of 10 in Clemson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Pines View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Pines View

Property: Three Pines View
Address: 151 Shack Hollow Rd, Salem, SC 29676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Pines View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and Comfort, Romance and Intrigue, Escape and Adventure - Three Pines view offers all! Come see why we have won the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence two years in a row! Three Pines View boutique lodge is located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains outside of Salem, SC. We are also convenient to Lakes Jocassee and Keowee, Greenville SC, Clemson SC , Asheville NC, Highlands, Cashiers NC and Atlanta GA. Your vacation getaway features: healthy living, fresh foods from our gardens, gourmet breakfast, spectacular mountain views, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Three Pines View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing