We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Quality, Food & Service !”
Review of Captains Quarters

Captains Quarters
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
NH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality, Food & Service !”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Third year in a row that we have stopped here on the way to Miami.The prime rib is of
the highest quality and the catfish was delicious. Very clean restaurant and friendly Southern
staff. Desserts were very good. Adjacent to hotel and golf course. Exit 98 off Rt. 95 provides easy
access off/on to the Interstate. Smoking is permitted in the bar only (separate room).
Good food, cleanliness and excellant service is a recipe for a successful restaurant and this
place has all three.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    161
    69
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time Traveler to Comfort Food Dining”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is the sort of restaurant I remember going to when traveling with my parents 50 years ago! The food was outstanding, the decor was clean but retro and I loved it. A fresh, cold green salad comes with the meal and it was terrific. The three of us each had a different seafood entree which was fresh and light, not a heavy meal and all of us were ooohing and ahhhing. Had we wanted a more filling, heavy meal there were lots of choices from steaks to fried chicken and pork chops but the fish was delicious. Lots of side choices and desserts. For family dining or driving after a long day this was perfect. The last thing I want is fast food after a day of driving. This is real comfort food!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Make a reservation - get a bad table”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Why when there are plenty of tables for two would you be seated at the worst table in the restaurant? I saw the book and we were the only reservation for the next hour. I have never been bumped, had to duck busboys and felt like I might as well be eating in the kitchen in a #2 rated area restaurant before. A very poor experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Choice”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stopped at a nearby hotel at 6 p.m. and asked about this location. Suggested we go right now to get in. Thus we did (2 of us) and first thing they asked if we had a reservation on a Weds. night.
Signed in a sat in the small bar area and called in about 15 min. One of us ordered broiled talipia and the other broiled grouper each with baked potato. Food tasty and hot. Remember folks this is down-home Santee location, not a white tablecloth place and we were pleased with our decision to dine here. Service getting the final check was a little slow. Would return. Traveling from Florida.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

It's hard to believe that this "fine" seafood restaurant is rated number ONE when tarter & seafood sauces are served in pre-measured little plastic containers! Salads are also accompanied with little packets of plastic wrapped soda biscuits and the baked potatoes come with plastic containers of sour cream! Nothing very classy there! I'll take Red Lobster any day over this place!

In fairness, the fish was good but the ambiance wasn't = it was very noisy, the cutlery was cheap and the waiters were stressful with their impersonal rushing from table to table ... not worth the $80.00 tab!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank guy63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Captains Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing