We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner Out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile

Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Santee
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goose Creek, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent place to eat if you like Bar B Que buffet style service Nice variety on the buffet. Less the $20.00 for the early bird (before 5:00 pm) A unique variety store with some antique decorations. Good atmosphere on Saturday night after 5:00 pm you are entertained with blue grass music.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    82
    17
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great South Carolina BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I eat here often as we live less than 2 minutes away. The restaurant is made up of old buildings moved to this location from the small country town of Lone Star. It is rather unique with old photos and advertisement along with last century items found in an old General store- Food is GREAT, Try it you will enjoy it. Live bluegrass musi for free on Saturday nights

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't let the exterior fool you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a fun and interesting place. The buffet was fairly small but the down home quality of the food makes up for it. Plus it changes and on weekends expands. The old timey pickin' musicians were great! Nice family style restaurant with a fun atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hurricanemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, original setting, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The restaurant building is made of four old country stores moved to their current location. They still contain merchandise from then.
The all-you-can-eat buffet is excellent, I recommend the chocolate dessert!
The evening we were there, there was live music.
We enjoyed the food and the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
333 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We've been looking for somewhere special that we can make a repeat stopping place between our home and Charleston, Savannah, WDW. Reading the reviews this place was hopeful. Unfortunately it just didn't quite make it. The BBQ was dry and I just can't get myself to like the mustard based sauce. The chicken was a little dry as well. The black eyed peas were just like Mom used to make but that was sort of the only think that stood out.... until we were told about the homemade desert in the far room. This was very good and truely home made. All in all a decent place and probably alot of fun when the entertainment but won't be on our permanent list for food stops on I95. Sorry

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing