We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but good food and fun here”

Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile
Ranked #7 of 36 Restaurants in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nothing but good food and fun here”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on the way home from Savannah and couldn't have been happier. Gracious friendly people serving and cooking great food in a fun interesting old timey setting with bluegrass music on the front porch. Nothing wrong with that picture.
You can either get the buffet (my choice) or an a la carte plate (my gf's choice). The a la carte plate takes about 10 or 15 minutes or so but it is cooked fresh to order and was excellent (she had the fried fish plate with a stuffed crab and incredible potato skin fries). The buffet on the other hand is the traditional southern style but all cooked perfectly and while we were there the staff was constantly bringing fresh helpings out so no warmed over food sitting. The BBQ and fried chicken were both excellent. The collards were delicious but a high point for me was the tomato pie, it was like thanksgiving stuffing with fresh tomatoes and was 3 helpings good.
A really fun place to eat with great food and delightful people, can't wait to go back and I highly recommend you stop by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank soundsource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    86
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Bar-B-Que in antique setting”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It's a Bar-b-Que buffet inside a 100 year old mercantile building. Although I'm usually not a fan of buffets, all the selections at this one were great (and, if you are getting take-out you can order anything you want separately). A must stop if your passing by. The hours are sporadic, so check ahead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to tuck back into this food and this place!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If someone visited this place and didn't LOVE it... well they just don't GET it! Lone Star BBQ is the definition of authenticity! Everything we ate screamed fresh local flavor and the buildings and atmosphere were such that we just couldn't stop taking photographs. I would simply like to say thanks to these folks for keeping such a fine place for us to visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisP2214FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is as good as it gets. Bluegrass and awesome food. Such a great historical attraction as well as the best food around. Im a local, eat here every chance i get. Never had one complaint

Helpful?
1 Thank rocky-n-beefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent late service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stopped in the large and rambling compound of Lonestar BBQ on my way from Central PA to Miami. Due to traffic and the unavoidable vagaries of long distance travel I arrived about ten minutes after the posted closing time (8:30PM) on a Thursday. The staff graciously put together a heaping serving of much needed food and let me hang around for a while. The hash and baked beans were standouts and they do a very good sauce. I didn't get to sample the entire lineup since they were understandably starting to clean up for the night. I'll be happy to come back under less rushed circumstances. Thanks again for helping me get through a long trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing