We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Marion Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Marion Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Sebastian, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Needs updating!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed overnight, wanted to support the local businesses, hotel needs TLC. The bed was very comfortable and the front desk clerks were nice, but rooms are outdated and sparse! AC worked good! TV reception was sketchy at best. No shampoo or conditioner, maybe we had to ask for it? I don't believe there was a hair dryer either. Did not go to the contintental breakfast. It would be awesome if the hotel owners had the resources to return the hotel to its original retro decor! Oh well, it was only $46 for the night!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Day 1 started at the small nice Lake Marion Inn. This Inn is simple, clean, and comfortable. Not fancy or flashy - but it was the best night sleep of the trip. The front desk was very nice and the free breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MNSNOWBIRD1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Traveling home from PA, my grandparents, mother, and I needed a place to stay. The other hotels in the area cost around $100 a night, and we were only going to be there from 11pm until 7am the next morning. We stopped by the Lake Marion Inn. The price was so good that I asked to see the rooms. I was pleasantly surprised. There was a small fridge and microwave in each room, and the rooms looked very well taken care of. The beds were very comfortable (more so than the beds at another hotel we paid more than twice as much for) and the shower was great (lots of pressure). For $46 a room, we had a clean room, hot shower, free wi-fi, and a modest but pleasant complimentary breakfast. The staff was also so helpful. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

At the last minute our plans fell through and we needed a hotel room for our friend's wedding. The owners of the inn were extremely helpful, kind, and considerate. We had to check in late and the girl who was working made sure to write out a letter and make sure that everything was ready when we got there. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. Much better experience than I would have expected, and the prices are unbeatable! Would definitely come back if we're ever in the area again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldengirl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

I stopped here because the of the reviews from trip
advisor. The outside of the property looked nice. I checked out a room and the smell hit me as soon as I walked in the door. It was one of those "Moldy like smells." The carpet appeared new, the bathroom tub had mildew all around it. The room was dark. I left and checked out the next best priced Motel 6, from tripadvisor. I was much more impressed with Motel 6 and stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakemarioninn, Manager at Lake Marion Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dizzi52, Thank you for sharing your concerns and we apologize for your experience. As newer management, it is our aim that guests will not encounter the concerns that you did. To that end, since arriving at the property, we have completed deep cleaning of all rooms and implemented more stringent standards to include refreshing rooms that have not been recently used by a guest to make sure they meet the standards we have set. Maintenance issues are addressed straight away once identified by a guest, housekeeping or management staff. We look forward to welcoming you again and having you encounter a more pleasant experience with our property. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This hotel gifts us a little miracle.
We had a long trip, it was a night and it was not easy to find hotel to spend night because of the Spring break. My wife was tired and desperatly wanted the berries. We cound't not find a store near the road to buy it.
We turned from the road to tried to find a free room and saw this hotel. It wasn't on our map, but my wife offer me to check it. I did. It was the right decision. We took a room. And when I asked a manager where I could find the grocery store to buy berries for my wife the manager's wife said that it was closed but she would glad to give few strawberries for her.
When we came in the room, manager's wife brought a bowl full of strawberris. It was so enexpected!
We had a good hight in the hotel. The breakfast was nice: cereal, milk, breads, spead, jam, juces, fruite salad.
It's a neat place if you need to stop for the hight during your trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel lacked decor/updated amenities but made up in value. When you get a room at such a low rate...don't expect too much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlestonBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santee hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Santee Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Santee
Hampton Inn Santee
#1 of 13 in Santee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santee
Holiday Inn Santee
#3 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Santee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Santee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Marion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Marion Inn

Property: Lake Marion Inn
Address: 628 Bass Dr, Santee, SC 29142-8986 (Formerly Santee Economy Inn)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** We are Under New Management ** Lake Marion Inn is a 41 guest room property and includes a dining area. A porte cochère shelters guests at registration entrance. Rooms have King, Queen, and Double beds. The Inn also has beautiful landscaped palm trees, and a large pool onsite. Large parking area for boats and larger vehicles.We are so excited to be able to manage this Mom & Pop motel and we take Pride in everything we do here. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing