We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Eat Here Twice A Year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clark's Inn and Restaurant

Clark's Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Santee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Clark's Restaurant is Santee's Favorite Place for Food & Spirits. A truly exceptional dining experience, Clark's offers guests three beautifully furnished dining rooms including working fireplaces.
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“We Eat Here Twice A Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

On our travels from NY to Florida and back, we make it a point to stay at Clark's Inn and eat in their restaurant. We have yet to be disappointed in any dinner we have had at Clark's. Their fried chicken continues to be the best I have ever had. The service is always cordial and efficient. The prices are reasonable and the overall quality of their offerings is very good. We can recommend it to fellow travelers without hesitation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    162
    79
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manotick
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Decor, Good Food, Long Wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

After driving through rain for eight hours we were looking for a warm, restful and comfortable place to eat. Our hotel (not Clarks) suggested that Clarks would fill the bill. When we arrived we were told by a pleasant young lady that we had a twenty minute wait. It turned out to be longer. The place is obviously popular. Some of the other people who were waiting left grumbling. We spent some of the waiting time in their interesting gift shop. When we were finally called to our table we found a pleasant room with a mixture of a few young families with children with mostly older folk (and when I say older, keep in mind that we are in our late 60s!) The warm rolls were wonderful, and the excellent half southern fried chicken would have been enough for both of us. The available wine was over-priced, making us think that we were back in Ontario. But the food was not expensive considering the quality of the room and service. We would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Bad service and bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently stopped for lunch at Clarks Inn. The waitress who waited on us said she normally does not work the lunch shift but works most evenings. We ordered fried green tomatos that were not cooked all the way through and the taco salad beef was burnt and overcooked. I told the waitress this and she said it is cooked so that it is soft in the middle and walked away. She ignored any thing I said. I was not expecting any discount but was disappointed because when we traveled to Georgia or Florida, we would always stop here. I had a hard time getting service or check from her. She disappeared many times in the back . I finally had to get another waitress to get her so we could get a check. She was young and had short blond hair. N.A. from Virginia

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Newell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Been coming here on golf trips for 18 years. Very good restaurant and dependable. Had dinner in the bar area one evening. Megan was our server. Through the years, the bar area has had slow service. Megan did an excellent job serving us with the food and drinks. Best server we've had in the bar area in all these years.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful change of pace while travelling to NJ from Florida.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great ambiance and food. A welcome change from the usual chain rest stops. Clean friendly.nice gift shop too. Wish I lived closer
,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clark's Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing