We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st, Class Value and Food..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gargunnock Inn

The Gargunnock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gargunnock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scone
Level Contributor
206 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“1st, Class Value and Food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Pick your times right and your have the best deal in food for Miles and Miles...£8.50 for two courses or three courses £10.95 or pick from the main menu and the terrific wine list.
They do real tasty roasted vegetables here none of this boil them to death Veg, also none of this out of the packet chips they serve up freshly cut wedge chips.Its OK they do fine dinning too.. :)
Three dinning areas the two front ones are light but the bar is a little bit on the dark side could do with a few corner up lights, there is also a rear bar and beer garden..

So if your travelling from Stirling to Loch Lomond on the A811 its no more than a minute out of your way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdisapointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    41
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with a great atmosphere. The service was second to none, the waitress was very friendly and attentive. The food was beautiful and cooked perfectly. We will defiantly be returning in the near future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gargunnock, Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although we stay in the village this does not detract from / add to the review.
Great food and prices and the 2 course special menu ( Monday - Friday I think). Good selection of starters and mains had the bruchetta to start and the steak pie for main
Service was quick and efficient with friendly staff
We will be back as food great and we can walk home after a glass of wine..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant little pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Dined here tonight with my cousin , we opted for the 3 courses for £10·95 , excellent choices on this menu , we thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses, food was hot, tasty & very well presented , will most definitely return as there is lots more things on the menu that I'm sure I would love to try ! Excellent little pub with very yummy grub !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wend0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gargunnock Inn and lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Returning from Loch Lomond to Edinburgh and near lunch time so stopped at the Gargunnock Inn (this place can only be expressed by growling "Garrrrrgun-uck").

A rambling pub with a genuine homemade steak pie, created on the premise with good meat. Also had really fresh Scampi with simple fresh salad. There were new potatoes with local carrots and squash(fractionally over cooked) but all very good tasting. Chips cooked in light fresh oil but dare I suggest the two brothers think about par-boiled King Edwards, wedges , then fried in goose/duck fat to lift the pub food experince just that bit more.

We usually avoid eating in pubs due to the mundane and predictable poor produce. Here it is different and satisfying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank japlah .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gargunnock Inn also viewed

Stirling, Stirling
Thornhill, Stirling
 

Been to The Gargunnock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing