We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy and Quiet”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House Holiday cottage, overlooking the riding arena
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House Holiday cottage, overlooking the riding arena
River side spa, next to bbq area and comfy seating, overlooking the River Forth Games room with cinema, snooker table, table tennis & gym
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Coach House Holiday cottage, overlooking the riding arena
River side spa, next to bbq area and comfy seating, overlooking the River Forth
Games room with cinema, snooker table, table tennis & gym
Kitchen and seating area
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Living room with double grey sofa bed, just in view
Cosy chair to watch over your private garden
Living room with stairs behind up to second bedroom
Chickens.....looking over the chickens....
Bathroom
Main door, looking out over the riding arena and lovely garden wall
Refreshements at the seating area, next to the spa, overlooking the river
Just time for a quick dip
Private enclosed garden, next to our 4 girls (the chickens)
Chicken house - they still prefer the trees
Our girls
One of our two boys...
Sun setting over the river bank, next to the spa
View down the River Forth from the horses field
Stirling castle view from the horses field
Long drive way up to the house, tucked away in the trees by the river
Summer days, drifting away... from one of the fields along the drive
Sun setting over the Trossachs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gargunnock, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
claypoles...
Shefford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy and Quiet”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An idyllic, peaceful location which was completely tranquil - in fact this lovely house is so far down a long beautiful private driveway that you can't even see any roads ! Tastefully decorated rooms in a rustic style, well equipped modern kitchen and bathroom. The holiday let is attached to the main family home, located in one long wing of a square building which surrounds a central cobbled stable yard. This is wonderful for animal lovers. I loved being able to see the owners horse and 3 ponies in their stables on an evening and enjoy the company of 2 friendly dogs and a cat. My 2 children and I joined in with family riding sessions in the schooling area to the rear of the property which was great holiday bonus. The hot tub is in a woody glade a few mins walk from the house (take your flip flops or wellies and a torch!) and offers a fantastic view of a river, mature woodland and grazing cattle. A real touch of luxury for a holiday treat. We enjoyed playing outside, having a BBQ, lazing under the trees on the hammock and outdoor sofas and playing in the tree house with the Haddow family( the owners). Strings of fairy lights above the hot tub and large pillar candles in the adjacent BBQ area ensure a magical feel is created at sundown.
10 min drive to Stirling Castle which was a wonderful family day out. Pletny of supermarkets in Stirling (Waitrose, Sainsburys and Morrisons). A bus route to Stirling runs past the end of the private driveway

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet beautiful location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyser
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning residence to escape and relax with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Cottage, games room, outdoor facilities and surroundings were top notch.
This place made our holiday in Scotland so enjoyable for me and my family
Helen and Ross were the most genuine and hospitable hosts we could have wished for
100% recommendation to anyone wanting to seek solitude and fun in a setting abundant with beauty and nature
Thank you both for a wonderful experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room, horses and hot tub
Liked least: Sleeping arrangements for family of five were slightly cramped
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thanks for your lovely review - it was a pleasure having you to stay. Hopefully see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing break!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After a very stressful few weeks my family and I needed a short break at the last minute and we were so lucky that Riverside Cottage was available.
Amenities are excellent, rooms are lovely and comfortable and the hot tub is a great place to chill out (whilst slowing poaching in the hot water!)
Lovely setting in the woods and the weather was great so we managed to get a couple of nice walks in too.
Highly recommended and hopefully we'll be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you was wonderful to have you guys.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroliner...
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This place is paradise. I live in London and to come to this part of the world is a treat anyway but this place is stunning. I am loving it so much I am actually writing the review while I am here! Helen greeted me, the lovely owner, and sat and drank some prosecco with me for hours, which was so sweet as I am traveling alone.. she made my evening! I will definitely keep in touch. The bedroom was gorgeous, I had the best night sleep ever.. not used to such peace and quiet. The house is so homely and I am just braving myself for getting my costume on for the hot tub :-). This will be the best place you have ever stayed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing to say here!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonesmcc7...
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total Tranquillity”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We arrived on a Monday and were met by Ross, who showed us around and answered all our questions. Within about 10 minutes all three of us were in the hot tub soaking up the scenery (and prosecco)
The weather was wonderful and we stayed in the hot tub for hours. There wasn’t a sound, other than the occasional conker falling from the trees surrounding the outdoor seating area.
When it got darker the area was lit up by strings of fairy lights. We ate outside with the fire pit glowing beside us.
This is basically what we did for the whole time we were there! It was such a relaxing break. I usually come back from a holiday needing a holiday but we all agree that this was by far the most restful experience any of us have had.
We got our weekly shopping delivered to the door so we didn’t have to go into Stirling for any supplies. When we read the guest book, it looked like a lot of the visitors had used the cottage as a base and had gone off sightseeing. We never left the seclusion of the cottage, hot tub and outdoor eating area the whole time. Peaceful, beautiful surroundings, great facilities and the owners Ross and Helen were very friendly.
We were even lucky enough to get a couple of 4 legged visitors, namely the family cat “Cracker” and the cutest Beagle puppy you will ever meet.
We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
Manama, Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family getaway where the pace of life slows down, time to just chat.”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself my wife and 2 grown children stayed over 12 nights in mid August as a family holiday.
The cottage was as advertised and having travelled in from Bahrain that day the welcome from Helen was wonderful. We felt at home from the start and were able to settle in very comfortably.
Most days were spent around the local area and access to main road routes was excellent, 10 mins into Sterling 45 into Glasgow etc.
Hot tub, games room, BBQ by the river, perfect. Most evenings we sat out in the BBQ area enjoying beers from the local brewery and a whisky or two from Deanston Distillery, ten minutes down the road and well worth a visit.
Later evening into the games room for a couple of games of snooker, no big breaks but a great place to carry on chatting into the small hours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, peaceful riverside location.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, comfortable cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Visited with a group of friends for a 40th birthday - the welcome was amazing from Helen and Ross and they ensured we were settled in. The cottages are in such a wonderful setting next to the river and its so peaceful. The hot tub was well used and in a lovely sheletered area under the trees so even though it was raining when we were there, it was still really lovely. The cottages are beautifully decorated and feel really homely and the beds super comfortable. If you add in the games room, wonderful countryside and welcoming hosts - you just cant get better.

Overall a lovely place to visit and I will definately be returning with family soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing