We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn: Spartanburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn: Spartanburg”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I booked this hotel online and made the mistake of securing a smoking room and I don't smoke. The hotel was booked solid and the staff attempted to get me changed over but couldn't. Even though the room wasn't very smoky (I am highly allergic to smoke), you could tell people had smoked there in the past. Other than that one problem (which was my cross to bear), the hotel is great. The rooms are comfortable and the color scheme is really pleasant.

The staff are very friendly and did everything that they could to assist me. Each night I arrived, all of the complimentary cookies had been devoured. I was craving something sweet so one of the staff found a bag that a former guest had left and got me a chocolate bar. It was wonderful and I thank her for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear JohnathonL,

Thank You for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Spartanburg North. I hate that you were booked in a smoking room. I'm pleased to see that our staff was accomadating for you. I will share your comments with them. Again Thank You for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    38
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
39
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Rooms:
Stayed in a double queen room. Everything was clean. Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Updated appointments to the room. Flat-screen TV, small coffee maker, ironing board, hair dryer and a few toiletries. My only criticism is the internet connection was very weak.

Location:
Conveniently located near the Mall area of the city.

Food:
The free breakfast dining area was lovely and the attendant exuded southern charm. Nice options were available, from healthy cereals and fruit, to eggs and sausage, pancakes and cinnamon rolls. All of the food seemed fresh and well-maintained.

If in Spartanburg again, I would definitely stay here for value and service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atltravelm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear AtltravelmOm,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Spartanburg North. I appreciate the nice comments on the hotel and staff. I do want to apologize for the poor internet connection. We have called our internet provider and asked them to check on this right away. I hope the next time your in Spartanburg you come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Spring, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

we really enjoyed our stay at the holiday inn in Spartanburg we were greeted by Shawn at the front desk and she act like she had known us forever and was really happy to see us. My husband has a bad back and he said that the bed was great and he really slept good we are telling all our friends to stay when they can and about the friendly staff. Also our room on check in was really clean and I just loved the large bathroom. Great place to stay keep up the good work.

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor at the end and it was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodge2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Dodge 2002,

I want to thank you for staying with us at the Hoilday Inn Express. We are so pleased that Shaun was such a delight to the both of you. I will let the housekeeping know that they are doing a good job also. I hope the next time your in the Spartanburg area you come back to stay with us.

I hope you have have a Wonderful Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I would rate this between a "good" and "very good" because of some things. First, easy access to highway, places to eat, etc. Front desk was friendly, and room was clean, bed was good. I was sad to see there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room like in other HI Express hotels I've stayed in. My wife and I were also really bummed that there was no jacuzzi/hot tub, just an indoor pool.

The other thing that could be improved was breakfast. The younger girl who was handling food wearing a hooded sweatshirt with headphones in her ears was very unprofessional and smelled like bad body odor. The older lady working was rude when I asked if they had any more ripe bananas as the bananas that were out were completely green. The eggs were old and dry and tasted horrible.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator which is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeege777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear squeege 777,

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how we are doing. Please accept my apologies for both of the breakfast attendants. I will be talking with them about the importance of good hygene and good customer service. If you would like to talk about this any futher please contact the hotel directly. Next time your in the Spartanburg area please come back and see us.

Have a Wonderful Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were leaving from GSP Airport and needed a hotel near the Interstate for quick access. We were pleased with the offerings at this property. Quick check in, elite status recognition with gift, warm cookies, and a super room made this a great choice. Our room was clean and spacious. Our room faced the parking lot so we were not bothered by any interstate noise. The hotel is located along an exit so there are several restaurants close by as well as places to gas up. We had a chance to speak with several of the staff; front desk, housekeeping, and breakfast attendant were all very friendly and took the time to answer our various questions. There is ample free parking for cars and larger vehicles with easy access.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnurseUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear TravelnurseUSA,

Thank You for staying with us and giving us your feedback. I will post this for are staff to see. I hope next time your in Spartanburg you will come back to see us.

Have a Wonderful Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heppenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed to weeks due to business. 4th floor nonsmoker.
Typical HOLIDAY INN Express, but due to the very near Interstate too loud.

Negativ:
If you stay two weeks like we have done.then Breakfast has no variations , every bread is wrapped in foil, pancakemachine very often out of service
Housekeeping is poor, emptying of litter, making bed, but very often the "complimetary coffee" was not filled up, floormat in bath dirty, sometimes no fill up of soap etc., I was missing vacuumcleaning and there were long black hair in the bathroom on the floor.
The Hall and elevator is very offten dirty and the tilefloor partly sticky.....

No fridge and microwave as I get used from a lot of hotels in the States.

Positiv:
Friendly staff at reception, lots of free parking, eveningcookies,

Result: I prefer clean hotel with fridge and microwave

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear gmjk,

Please accept my apologize for the problems you had with your stay. We strive on making every guest happy and I see we didn't do that with you. I will talk with our housekeeping staff to make sure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Alfred, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Exhausted after packing to move. Made it only 90 miles and found this place to stay. Checked in, no reservation. Found out Bojangles would provide chicken strips/sauce/biscuits and wine/beer,soft drinks and water. What a blessing. I was too tired to go get something. Slept well. People ALL very friendly. This is only 3 nights a week. AWESOME.

Room Tip: I think any room would be good. I was too tired to enjoy indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xangotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresaM880, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Xangotravler,

Thank You for staying with us and giving us such good reviews. I happy to hear that you enjoyed are managers reception. I hope when you visit Spartanburg again you make this the place to stop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
7.7 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Spartanburg
97 reviews
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Spartanburg
Courtyard Spartanburg
#7 of 28 in Spartanburg
157 reviews
5.1 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#3 of 28 in Spartanburg
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
Address: 161 Sha Lane, Spartanburg, SC 29307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Express & Suites at I-85 Spartanburg North, South Carolina. We offer 91 comfortable, modern leisure rooms and upgraded executive suites. All our rooms feature flat panel LCD televisions and over-sized work space, perfect for the business or leisure traveler. We also offer an indoor pool, fitness center, guest laundry, business center and over 1000 square feet of meeting space.Come experience our new look and feel and all the same award winning hospitality you ve come to expect. We ve got just what you need to relax, conduct business or recharge while on the road, and now we have it all in an updated, fresh contemporary atmosphere with all the same great amenities: free long distance calling, free wireless Internet access and our new hot breakfast bar. Located just 4 miles from Mary Black Hospital and Spartanburg Regional Hospital and only 5 miles from downtown Spartanburg. We are the perfect choice when you re traveling to Spartanburg for business or for pleasure. You couldn t make a smarter choice when visiting Spartanburg! We are just minutes from USC Spartanburg, Converse College, Wofford College, Spartanburg Memorial Auditorium, Spartanburg Tech, Cowpens National Battlefield and Gaffney Shopping Outlets. Come see why the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at I-85 Spartanburg North just got a whole lot smarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North Hotel Spartanburg
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Spartanburg North
Holiday Inn Express Spartanburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing