We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WOULD RATHER SLEEP IN MY CAR!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Expo Center
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Spartanburg
Durham, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I WOULD RATHER SLEEP IN MY CAR!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in! Scale of 1-10 .... 3.5! We stayed here for a week mainly bc we are on the road traveling, and it was cheap ( I guess you get what you pay for) The entire time we were there no one ever came to change the sheets and every time we needed fresh towels and wash cloths we had to get them ourself. The pillows had stains and looked like someone urinated on them, the picture above the bed had dead flies in them, the tub was constantly stopped up and the room previously had animals in it (allergies acted up, that's how I know) I would NEVER in my life stay there or at any 'RED ROOF' for that matter just based on this one. I will say, the other people staying there were pretty nice other than that 2 thumbs DOWN! If I had additional hands they would have their thumbs down too! On top of all of that the girl at the front desk has a nasty attitude! Next time I will spend the extra money or just sleep in my car!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    11
    13
    35
See reviews for
30
18
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This motel was ok for an overnight stay. The room was ok clean but the sheets had tears in them. Who puts out sheets with tears in them for their guest. I mean, come on!! The pillows, WOW those were pillows? My other concern with this room and the other room I stayed in 2 nights later was there was electrical outlets without covers exposing a possible electrical shock by anyone, especially little kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recoveringfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I'm not picky about where I sleep. I don't mind camping, sleeping in my car, or even in an old scout camp cabin. I don't require many amenities when I stay somewhere. But when I do pay for a hotel room, I expect certain things: towels, enough pillows, sheets and a mattress pad on the bed, and respect from the front desk when I give it to them. With that said, last night I stayed at the worst hotel I've ever seen, with the worst customer service: Red Roof Inn Spartanburg, exit 17 off I-26.

While the room itself was passable for clean, there was some serious issues with amenities. There was no coffee for the coffee pot. The bed had a threadbare cover and a flat sheet -- no fitted sheet, no mattress pad. There was only one bath towel (for two people). Only three pillows, on a King-sized bed, that were lumpy. When I asked the GM for additional towels, sheets and pillows... He told me that I didn't pay enough money to be given more! He resented that I got a discounted rate through Expedia. He also said he would prefer if I checked out early!

I did. And called several other hotels, who were more than willing to upgrade me to a feather bed, extra feather pillows, and a morning check-in so that I didn't sit around wasting my day!

In short, if you're in the Spartanburg area, avoid Red Roof Inn. As for me, no matter where I am, I will always avoid Red Roof Inn... The entire company. If they can't control one franchise, they must not have much concern at other places too!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Nice room, on the first floor with a king bed. It was clean, large, well furnished, and a flat screen tv. Only problem, we requested extra pillows twice, once in person at front desk, and another time by phone, and never got them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kytravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Friendly and helpful staff made our overnight stay pleasant. Fatz Cafe was within walking distance and the mall was just one exit up. Far enough away for relaxing yet close enough for convenience. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Red Roof reps must never visit their property or they would tear their banner down. I've stayed in Red Roofs all over the country and this is the worst. Trash everyone, Property totally run down both inside and outside. Top it off with uncaring clerks. Didn't seem to bother them that they had to cut my key card twice to get it to work involving my returning to reception twice. Stay away. It's awful. It wouldn't be worth it if they let you stay for free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seadream698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My overall opinion of this place is that it is run down. Many little things needed fixing. The pool was not open at all during my stay as far as I know. The continental breakfast was a big disappointment. My bed was not made during the time I was there except once. I had made the reservations online and confirmed them when I got there but somehow they still had me down as leaving after 7 days when I was actually staying 9. It was a disappointing stay overall. The only bright spot was that the staff were all very nice and friendly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Spartanburg Waccamaw
Days Inn Spartanburg Waccamaw
#17 of 29 in Spartanburg
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Spartanburg - Expo Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Spartanburg
Days Inn Spartanburg
#9 of 29 in Spartanburg
193 reviews
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 29 in Spartanburg
5 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#13 of 29 in Spartanburg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Expo Center

Property: Rodeway Inn Expo Center
Address: 2070 New Cut Rd, Spartanburg, SC 29303-4747 (Formerly Spartanburg Red Roof Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spartanburg Red Roof Hotel Spartanburg
Quality Inn Spartanburg
Spartanburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing