We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not authentic!”
Review of Bangkok Cafe

Bangkok Cafe
Ranked #34 of 327 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There are two locations - also 1398 Boiling Springs Rd., 864-814-0418
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not authentic!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Was taken here by relative. Was very surprised. There was a sushi bar there! There was wonton soup on the menu! Is this place Thai, Japanese, or Chinese? I wanted to play it safe, so ordered Pad Thai and was told they were out of bean sprouts! My relative ordered a dish and he was told they were out of snow peas! The spice range was confusing. There were 2 scales. One for hot oil and one for fresh peppers used. This was not explained on the menu, but the server explained it to us. Was missing fish cakes and Pad Prik King.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clbb813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic & delicious”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have eaten at this eastside restaurant and at the sister store, located in Boiling Springs just north of business I-85 on Hwy 9. Both offer fantastic, authentic cuisine and great service. The ambience on Hwy 9 is nicer however. Steven Lim is one of the co-owners, he's usually in Boiling Springs, knows all his customers. If you like it extra hot, ask for the spice tray to customize your dish at the table. Highly recommend both places for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai in SC”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I LOVE this place! If you go try the basil chicken stir fry! It is delightful. I think their wonton soup is the best i've ever had. If you like spicy dishes try their Panang Cury and Tom Yum soup. The servers are wonderful and the owner is very friendly. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimehuffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“World-class Thai food and service!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The Pad Thai was amazing, the service was amazing, the spiciness index was perfect! Great value for the money. Incredible Thai food with caring, knowledgeable staff! Can't wait to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Best thai food in the area! I highly recommend the Basil Chicken dish. They have the best wonton soup I have ever had! GREAT SERVICE. The owner is wonderful!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Cafe also viewed

Boiling Springs, SC
 

Been to Bangkok Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing