We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Spartanburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Spartanburg
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Spartanburg
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have lived in Spartanburg for 22 years. I have never used this hotel because others were close to where I live and worship. In looking for a venue for our 13th Family reunion which I hosted this year, I decided to look at the Courtyard. I was impressed with the upgrades that had been done and realized the hotel has been completely renovated. I also noticed right away how friendly and helpful the staff weere.
After contacting Marriott and working through some things, we settled on this hotel. I was not always pleased with the negotions from the corporate Marriott office, but we worked through them.
I can say the staff at the Courtyard is more like a family. If you asked for anything, no one said, I will get back to it, they all chipped in to do whatever was needed. Their attitude was so great. My family is still talking about the staff at the hotel!
If you come through Spartanburg, right off I-85 business find your way to the Courtyard by Marriott. You will enjoy the total experience.
I highly recommend anyone planning an event to look into the venue.
Valerie Q

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    65
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
24
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Typical highway-side Courtyard, but with some differences.

Suffering from Fibromyalgia, I'm somewhat of a bed comfort fanatic. I've found Marriott brands vary dramatically, not just between brands, but even within a single brand.

In addition, with Courtyards, I often request a feather-free room, as something in their cleaning products seems to trigger some allergies I don't find in their other brands, and feather-free seems to do the trick.

This Courtyard, hands down, had the best feather-free option! It felt like a memory foam mattress/pad was brought in to alleviate the issue. What a wonderful night's sleep! Still supportive but soft, no allergy issues whatsoever. On top of that, the front desk had made sure to have everything in place in advance of arrival. Even as a Platinum Premiere Elite, that's usually not the case, and it is so appreciated.

Location is convenient to the highway, but not a lot else. BBQ restaurant on other side of freeway gets good marks, a few fast food joints nearby, but their Bistro staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an awesome wonderful glorious blessed stay. Coquita greeted us with love and care when we first entered the hotel. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Even though there were a family reunion there with lots of children, the hotel was very quiet and peaceful to stay. I might suggest your adding the check out time to the final bill that is left under the door so guest can remember the check out times. Thank you again for such a great experience.

Room Tip: When I first called and received senior citizen rates, I was not informed that the cost would be jus...
See more room tips
Green Features: As stated above. Had a wonderful experience a wonderful time.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Could be a very nice hotel but my experience with the cleanliness makes it a little lacking. I like to use the table they have on wheels that pulls out from under the desk. On the two stays there within a month both times the desk was filthy. On the first stay the desk was covered with a sticky substance. On the second stay it was covered with dust and there was a receipt from a local store (dated three days prior) on top of it where it clearly not been cleaned. Even though the place looks fairly nice and it makes me wonder how good of job housekeeping does cleaning other things.

The location is fine and I never felt uncomfortable but it isn't the best. There is a cheap hotel next-door that often has derelicts hanging around outside.

Ultimately, there are other better hotels in town for the price. I would stay here again if the price was right and I needed the proximity to a location nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jbbtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl K, General Manager at Courtyard Spartanburg, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback concerning your recent stay at the spartanburg Courtyard. Please accept my sincere apology for the cleanliness isssues you encountered with your guest room. I will use your feedback as continual training for the staff to improve. I hope if you find yourself in the Spartanburg area again you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Darryl Kosiorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Started with personable, customer service driven front desk rep, Christina, who had to get creative and patient to find my reservation because it had gotten logged improperly. We had a good laugh, and she never had a tone of wondering if I was in the wrong hotel. Her tone was more about helping me find a way to be IN the hotel. Appreciated her follow through. Her partner, Jen, was also friendly and conversational. They definitely were there to be of service. Thanks ladies.

Heard one of the room attendants softly singing as she was doing the laundry. She blushed and apologized when I complimented her, but I didn't find her to be disturbing at all. And (since I am a non singer) she definitely sounded better than I do... so I gave her high praise. LOL

Room Tip: I think I'll go with the first floor inside room next time. Inside rooms face into the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rking3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is good hotel with a really great and friendly staff, I want to start off by saying that to make sure this review starts off on a good note. My wife and I stayed here one night and the house was full. A few volley girls' volleyball teams were staying there as were a couple of baseball teams. I noticed when we arrived around 7pm, housekeeping was still busy with several rooms. I found that several of the teams that day that were leaving needed a late checkout...5pm. However, the hotel staff was able to accommodate and turn the rooms quickly. Our room was very clean and fortunately was not one still a work in progress. Upon checking in, my wife found that the house does not provide makeup removal wipes as does the Fairfields. Internet is advertised as "free" but that is the basic iBahn service that provided me with an average of 0.97 M/bs. The $4.95 per night per 2 devices "enhanced service" got me 2.73 Mb/s, not my definition of "high speed". There is a limited "Bistro" in the lobby that will provide breakfast but we did not partake. Expect the typical Marriott hospitality. Staff are very attentive and helpful. the building in an "L" shape with the lobby and registration area at one of the 'tips". A long walk to rooms, if they are on the end and a long walk to the elevator since it is in the crux of the "L". Would stay there again but would first check to make sure they are not full with "groups". One other thing, the online reservation stated the room was "non-adjoining". It was and the family next door got the kids up about 5pm for volley ball, I guess, and dad had a commanding voice. Also, the HVAC made a little too much noise. Forgot what my sound meter read but it was about conversational level at times when across the room.

Room Tip: Clicked Room Service but did not require room service...could not de-click.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripprider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl K, General Manager at Courtyard Spartanburg, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for providing feedback concerning your recent stay with us. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to improve. We hope if you find yourself in the Spartanburg area again you give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Darryl Kosiorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

After a very thorough review of several hotels in the Spartanburg area, I decided to select Courtyard by Marriott. I read multiple reviews for the hotel so I was very pleasantly surprised to find out the good reviews were right on track. The hotel is very nice, the rooms were spacious and clean. The bistro is pleasantly appointed and the breakfast was delicious. I would encourage those who are looking for a hotel with breakfast included to chose this hotel. We had a $18 dollar breakfast for only $10 in addition to the cost of the room (it's a great bargain for actual home cooked meal). The staff was friendly and even gave my husband a free cup of Starbucks coffee before closing up after breakfast. If we need to stay in Spartanburg again, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bware1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
3.0 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 28 in Spartanburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Spartanburg
Residence Inn Spartanburg
#5 of 28 in Spartanburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Spartanburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Spartanburg

Property: Courtyard Spartanburg
Address: 110 Mobile Dr, Spartanburg, SC 29303-2025
Region: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Spartanburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Courtyard Spartanburg located near Wofford College, Converse College and the University of South Carolina’s USC upstate campus. Our hotel has received a complete makeover – from its state-of-the-art lobby and well-appointed guest rooms to its meeting and outdoor areas and fitness center – to provide guests with more comfortable and flexible spaces than ever before. Relax in our outdoor swimming pool or workout in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Spartanburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Spartanburg Hotel Spartanburg
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing