We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Spartanburg
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Spartanburg
Reviewed 10 June 2014

PROS - Easy access to Interstate, good bed, very clean, roomy, quiet, staff were excellent

CONS - Shows a bit of wear, but it didn't detract from the stay. Getting to the hotel parking lot is a bit confusing coming off the traffic circle, you need to take the immediate first right instead of heading up the on ramp.

After reading a couple of the negative reviews, I was worried I might be disappointed, but I wasn't. I've been a Marriott Rewards customer for years, and while the decor is definitely outdated, it's in excellent condition. Overall I found my overnight stay quite pleasant.

I was returning from a trip to New Orleans and didn't realize that I was in a different time zone as my laptop clock doesn't automatically change. I'd changed the time ins NOLA and hadn't realized the time was an hour behind. I got up early to write and was deep in the midst of my story when housekeeping knocked. I yelled out that I'd be leaving shortly and continued to write.

A friend called me at what I thought was 11:00, but was really noon. I freaked thinking the hotel would bill be more another day because I hadn't checked out yet. I contacted the front desk and apologized explaining that my time was off due to my NOLA trip, and that I'd be gone in 20 minutes. The receptionist laughed and said it wouldn't be a problem at all. The next time I head south, and I need a stopping off point, this hotel will be on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaBurnsAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Probably one of the oldest Courtyards I've stayed in. I could hear more hall traffic than I usually do at marriotts. Bed was comfortable. I put fan on high, but it didn't seem to stay on and that added to the frustration of being able to hear all the noise in the hall.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank tjeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have lived in Spartanburg for 22 years. I have never used this hotel because others were close to where I live and worship. In looking for a venue for our 13th Family reunion which I hosted this year, I decided to look at the Courtyard. I was impressed with the upgrades that had been done and realized the hotel has been completely renovated. I also noticed right away how friendly and helpful the staff weere.
After contacting Marriott and working through some things, we settled on this hotel. I was not always pleased with the negotions from the corporate Marriott office, but we worked through them.
I can say the staff at the Courtyard is more like a family. If you asked for anything, no one said, I will get back to it, they all chipped in to do whatever was needed. Their attitude was so great. My family is still talking about the staff at the hotel!
If you come through Spartanburg, right off I-85 business find your way to the Courtyard by Marriott. You will enjoy the total experience.
I highly recommend anyone planning an event to look into the venue.
Valerie Q

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Typical highway-side Courtyard, but with some differences.

Suffering from Fibromyalgia, I'm somewhat of a bed comfort fanatic. I've found Marriott brands vary dramatically, not just between brands, but even within a single brand.

In addition, with Courtyards, I often request a feather-free room, as something in their cleaning products seems to trigger some allergies I don't find in their other brands, and feather-free seems to do the trick.

This Courtyard, hands down, had the best feather-free option! It felt like a memory foam mattress/pad was brought in to alleviate the issue. What a wonderful night's sleep! Still supportive but soft, no allergy issues whatsoever. On top of that, the front desk had made sure to have everything in place in advance of arrival. Even as a Platinum Premiere Elite, that's usually not the case, and it is so appreciated.

Location is convenient to the highway, but not a lot else. BBQ restaurant on other side of freeway gets good marks, a few fast food joints nearby, but their Bistro staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had an awesome wonderful glorious blessed stay. Coquita greeted us with love and care when we first entered the hotel. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Even though there were a family reunion there with lots of children, the hotel was very quiet and peaceful to stay. I might suggest your adding the check out time to the final bill that is left under the door so guest can remember the check out times. Thank you again for such a great experience.

Room Tip: When I first called and received senior citizen rates, I was not informed that the cost would be jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Could be a very nice hotel but my experience with the cleanliness makes it a little lacking. I like to use the table they have on wheels that pulls out from under the desk. On the two stays there within a month both times the desk was filthy. On the first stay the desk was covered with a sticky substance. On the second stay it was covered with dust and there was a receipt from a local store (dated three days prior) on top of it where it clearly not been cleaned. Even though the place looks fairly nice and it makes me wonder how good of job housekeeping does cleaning other things.

The location is fine and I never felt uncomfortable but it isn't the best. There is a cheap hotel next-door that often has derelicts hanging around outside.

Ultimately, there are other better hotels in town for the price. I would stay here again if the price was right and I needed the proximity to a location nearby.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank jbbtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryl K, General Manager at Courtyard Spartanburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback concerning your recent stay at the spartanburg Courtyard. Please accept my sincere apology for the cleanliness isssues you encountered with your guest room. I will use your feedback as continual training for the staff to improve. I hope if you find yourself in the Spartanburg area again you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Darryl Kosiorek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Started with personable, customer service driven front desk rep, Christina, who had to get creative and patient to find my reservation because it had gotten logged improperly. We had a good laugh, and she never had a tone of wondering if I was in the wrong hotel. Her tone was more about helping me find a way to be IN the hotel. Appreciated her follow through. Her partner, Jen, was also friendly and conversational. They definitely were there to be of service. Thanks ladies.

Heard one of the room attendants softly singing as she was doing the laundry. She blushed and apologized when I complimented her, but I didn't find her to be disturbing at all. And (since I am a non singer) she definitely sounded better than I do... so I gave her high praise. LOL

Room Tip: I think I'll go with the first floor inside room next time. Inside rooms face into the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rking3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
3 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 30 in Spartanburg
466 reviews
3 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 30 in Spartanburg
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Spartanburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Spartanburg

Address: 110 Mobile Dr, Spartanburg, SC 29303-2025
Region: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range: £77 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Spartanburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Courtyard Spartanburg located near Wofford College, Converse College and the University of South Carolina’s USC upstate campus. Our hotel has received a complete makeover – from its state-of-the-art lobby and well-appointed guest rooms to its meeting and outdoor areas and fitness center – to provide guests with more comfortable and flexible spaces than ever before. Relax in our outdoor swimming pool or workout in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Spartanburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Spartanburg Hotel Spartanburg
Spartanburg Courtyard
Spartanburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing