We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable little getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Spartanburg
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Spartanburg
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My wife and I chose to get away for a night and a day for some shopping for her birthday. We were assigned Courtyard by Marriott as we booked on Priceline. We had a great experience. I had read some negative reviews previously about certain aspects of this facility. But, we were very well pleased with our stay. Our room was very nice with what appeared to be new carpet in the rooms and throughout the hallways. While the room did not have a microwave or a refrigerator, this was only a one night stay for us and it did not matter much. I would stay at this property again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

What a dump, especially for a Marriott Courtyard. Old tube-type TV with barely functioning remote. No refrigerator or dressing mirror in the room. No full-size ironing board in room. No WiFi in room. Had to request a wired ethernet cable. Got a 3-ft cable that was too short to use from bed. Clanking, clunking AC unit that convulsed all night long and barely cooled. Need I say more. Marriott should be embarassed to put their name on this property. Would have left as soon as we saw the room except that we were there for a wedding and all of the out-of-town guests and family members were staying there. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryInAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I booked online and was given a handicapped room, although I am not handicapped, on the third floor (room 309). The front desk clerk was not very friendly or helpful. The room smelled musty and the carpeting and bedding was damp from humidity. The air conditioner was not turned on---only the fan with outside air was on. The room was outdated and had been advertised as having a "living area" which consisted of one dirty stuffed chair and a desk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlo625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

When i walked in to check in after a 4 hour drive, it took 5 minutes for anyone to actually BE at the front desk. I was given a handicap room, although i am not handicapped, and i would feel sorry for a handicap person in there. The shower shot water out at strange angles, the toilet tank flapper leaked, causing the toilet to run run run, and the towel rack fell apart . The pool was dirty, and i was afraid of the whirlpool. I wont be back there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This is a well run hotel, certainly not fancy, but comfortable, clean, practical, with reasonable rates. A good choice if you're on a budget.

The TV is crt, but works well. Better than the AC which did the job - but just barely.

Free wifi, which is nice, but no room safe, which I think pretty expected now a days.

I'd certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry_Yon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

We selected the Courtyard from the AAA Tour book while on a long road trip. One oddity was that after the person who answered the hotel's phone determined that we wanted to make a reservation, she switched us over to the 800 Reservations number where I waited on hold till someone took my information.

We'd stayed in a Hampton Inn the night before and I consider Hampton and Courtyard to be comparable brands. The prices were similar ($100/night before taxes) but the Courtyard was older and in need of updating. More importantly, while the breakfast buffet had more hot items, it was $9.95/person, making the effective cost of this room more expensive than the place where we'd stayed the previous night.

Look carefully for the entrance to the hotel- it's off a traffic circle and if you miss it and keep going you'll end up on a highway! The immediate area has every imaginable franchise, many within walking distance (Taco Bell, KFC and a Bi-Lo grocery).

Wi-Fi was free and the signal was weak at night and stronger when I logged on in the morning. The only pool is outdoor- a nice size, but not a good option in December. The exercise room had only a few pieces of equipment and was windowless, with little air circulation.

The Courtyard had the essentials- a clean, quiet compfortable room- but if we passed through the area again I'd either select something cheaper, or another property that provided more for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

My husband and I spent one night at the Courtyard while visiting relatives in Spartanburg. We chose it because we had stayed here a year or so ago and been pleased. While it was OK this time, there were one or two "cons" worth noting.

The biggest minus for us was the lack of wireless internet in the rooms. With wireless almost everywhere it seems odd that a hotel would not have it.

While the rooms were clean, the bedding was quite wrinkled and a little shabby and the pilllows very much needed replacing.

On the plus side, the staff were very helpful! We checked in about 30 minutes before check-in time and had to take a room other than the type we requested. The desk clerk asked if we would like a small refrigerator in the room and it was delivered in less than five minutes! Amazing.

We would stay here again if they upgraded to wireless internet.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ClaudiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spartanburg hotels
3 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
3 mi away
Spartanburg Marriott
Spartanburg Marriott
#2 of 29 in Spartanburg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spartanburg North
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in Spartanburg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Spartanburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Spartanburg

Address: 110 Mobile Dr, Spartanburg, SC 29303-2025
Region: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range: £77 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Spartanburg 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Courtyard Spartanburg located near Wofford College, Converse College and the University of South Carolina’s USC upstate campus. Our hotel has received a complete makeover – from its state-of-the-art lobby and well-appointed guest rooms to its meeting and outdoor areas and fitness center – to provide guests with more comfortable and flexible spaces than ever before. Relax in our outdoor swimming pool or workout in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Spartanburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Spartanburg Hotel Spartanburg
Spartanburg Courtyard
Spartanburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing