We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

The Obstinate Daughter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a combination of flavors! Everything is so fresh and seasoned so well! YUM!!! Service is outstanding even with an overflowing crowd - Fun and lively atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    150
    34
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not up to what we expected”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a disappointing experience at O/D. The reviews we read on this website led us to think that we were in for a memorable evening of dining. Instead, we encountered impudence from
our waiter/bartender, a minimal menu of overpriced offerings and a lingering memory of a "lost"
evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not your typical beach tourist restaurant”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

After playing golf this morning with two of the best chefs in Charleston, I mentioned taking my wife to lunch. You have to stay on your wife's good side, so I needed a good place to take her. At the same time they both said The Obstinate Daughter. They were right. The restaurant is on the second floor of a building on Sullivan's Island. It does have an elevator on the right side of the building. The dining room is very comfortable. The white washed plank walls and woven rope light fixtures are a nice touch. Our sever John was fantastic. We shared the peach, arugula, Gorgonzola, spiced pecans and prosciutto appetizer. The peaches were as sweet as any we have eaten. My wife ordered the Ricotta Gnocchi with Short Rib Ragu and Horseradish Gremolata. It was very good and the Gremolata worked really well with the Ragu. Having a hard times choosing what to eat, John suggested the Farro Salad with Roasted Chicken and seasonal vegetables. It was a great dish for lunch. Filling but light. We will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank goosemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great new restaurant on Sullivan's”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ate there last week and shared several items suggested by our cute waitress.
We loved them all. The Lowcountry soup was a hit as well as the fish. I will definitely be going back. The menu is rather confusing at first so it helps to ask your server for recommendations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CreativeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onaway, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sullivans Island SC Gem”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food is outstanding and a great value thanks to talented Exec Chef Jacques Larson and staff. As we bellied up to the bar mixologist and server John Aquino started us with a Dark and Stormy as our inaugural cocktail. You can finish the night with Lemon cello. Ricotta Gnocchi - short rib ragu, horseradish gremolata, is the best we have ever eaten. The Lamb Collar - yogurt, cucumber, red onion, almond, mint is like your favorite meat popsicle! The Shishito Peppers - sea salt, smoked paprika aioli, where did they come up with this magic? The Mepkin Abbey Mushrooms - kale, breadcrumb, parmesan, and farm egg is decadent. I am running out of room for accolade's, Miss Carolina - green and red tomato, mozzarella, basil, olive oil. The pizza is awesome!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank socalwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Obstinate Daughter also viewed

Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Obstinate Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing