We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”

The Obstinate Daughter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
madison, wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I went for dinner - great meal all around. Peach salad was very good. We had a grouper special and the gnocchi. The gnocchi were excellent. Service was also very good. All around great meal. The team has done an amazing job on the decor. Would highly recommend and go back when I am back in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fownog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    149
    34
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful restaurant, good service and food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We ate a late lunch here after a day on the beach. The restaurant is beautiful and we were welcomed. Our server Tom did a professional job without being over the top or intrusive and the food is clearly well thought out and executed and fresh. Excellent quality peel and eat shrimp and an inspired salad with SC peaches and prosciutto. Great craft beer list and espresso.

Helpful?
Thank cervoise_tiede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It’s All True, Obstinate Daughter is Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We read the rave reviews on TA before we made the call for evening dinner reservations on a summer Saturday. While we were too late to get a dining table for the evening, the host thought that bar seating or a high table in the bar area would be available for the two of us if we hustled to get there early. We arrived at 6 pm, which was just in time to snag a high table. Within minutes, every seat in the place was taken. Although we were seated in the bar area, the heartbeat of the Obstinate Daughter is centered on the bar and the open kitchen. So, don’t be concerned about where you sit, just get a seat in this restaurant. Calling well in advance for reservations is recommended. It’s casual dress, but not right off the beach. The crowd seemed to be mostly well-groomed young urban professionals out for drinks and dinner.
Our server, Josh, was passionate about the food and libations. Every appetizer, entrée, beer and cocktail was described with excitement. The descriptions were spot on. The cucumber gin cocktail we ordered was on tap, a new experience for us. The Prince Edward Island oysters, lamb entrée and pizza were fabulous. We finished the meal with a flight of Sicilian dessert wines and espresso.
Our meal for two cost $125, with $34 of that cost for the oysters, $18 for the savory lamb and $14 going to pay for the delectable fig and Gorgonzola pizza. The rest was for the flight of Sicilian dessert wines and espresso, a couple of cocktails and two delicious smoked dark ales from a local brewery.
Our recommendation is to be sure to dine here when you come to the beach in Charleston.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaGrange_Professors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Another SI secret”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having dinner with friends was a delight !!! Many menu choices provided the kind of dining experience Charleston residents can appreciate for guest or just getting away from their kitchens. Great pasta dishes, flavored with meats and veggies, professionally crafted by the chefs behind the counter. Wait staff and support crew are smart and kind to all ,who enter for a very soothing eating experience. Desserts, wow, can't leave the table before experiencing the choices given for that goodbye see ya soon memories ! Bravo to the owners. I'll be back with others.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch there yesterday. We split three interesting and tasty appetizers, and each chose a glass of wine from their wine list. Everything was delicious. A peach salad, a pate, and a shrimp roll. All fresh, beautifully plated, and great tastes. Service was also excellent. We visited based on other trip advisor recommendations, and those folks were right - this is a treat!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikedavis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Obstinate Daughter also viewed

Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
Isle of Palms, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Obstinate Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing