We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location & Gracious Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linwood Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Summerville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My husband and I just spent 8 nights in the Matthew suite of the main house. The accommodations are comfortable and the extra room added great space especially for the 3 nights that our children stayed with us.
Linda and Peter are very gracious hosts and made us feel so welcome. I especially appreciated the simple, healthy breakfast in the morning.
The property is absolutely beautiful; peaceful and so pleasing to the eye. The location is just a short drive from Charleston, so we were able to enjoy all the amenities is the city easily.
I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trips4mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linwood2016, Owner at Linwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We are so pleased that you found it to be a pleasing experience to stay in the bed and breakfast at LINWOOD. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in the hay barn on the property, a guest house behind the B&B. Very rustic and comfortable with a lot of cool little touches. It was very easy to set up for the week in the house. Summerville is a great location - close to Charleston and an hour and some to Savannah. The pool and gardens were lovely. The driveway is a little tight with the three guest houses stacked together, so we would end up backing the truck in the curvy drive. There really weren't garbage cans in the house either (except in the upstairs bath), so that was a bit inconvenient. Other than that, it was a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyparty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linwood2016, Owner at Linwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your thoughtful and nice review.
Sincerely,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed three nights at Linwood in May and this is the only place that we have ever stayed in that never provided any clean towels or serviced our room during our stay, except to empty the trash bin.

Breakfast was poor with the same fruit platter, rehashed every day, complete with mould on the raspberries. There were also cereals and bread and two muffins cut in half between four people!!

On a positive note the garden was lovely and the house was in a nice setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I spent four nights in early June 2012 in the Guesthouse and had a wonderful time. The price was very reasonable and the accommodations were clean and well furnished. There are several restaurants and grocery stores nearby however the site itself is away from the town noise on a very peaceful and beautiful property.There is a well equipped kitchen and due to the proximity of grocery stores we were able to do a mix of eating out and cooking at the house to reduce the cost of meals. The property is about 25 minutes away from Charleston so we were able to head down there everyday to visit museums and attend Spoleto shows without paying the exorbitant prices to stay in Charleston. The Guest house has two bedrooms, a master and a room with 2 twin beds making it great for small families as well as couples. We would recommend Linwood and would stay there again if we found ourselves in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TodayIsAGift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linwood2016, Owner at Linwood Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay while renting the 1920's Guest House at LINWOOD. and thank you for taking time to write a great review.

Sincerely,
Linda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our family usually stays closer to the beach in Charleston SC. We found Linwood through Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. Mostly because we wanted a house this time instead of a condo and the rates for a house on the beach was much more than we wanted to pay. This property is only 10-15 min from Charleston and access to several beaches for our family which included my wife and 2 children ages 6 and 16.
The house itself sits directly behind the main house which is the Bed and Breakfast house. There are actually 4 homes on the property in which they all are together on a corner block. They all are beautiful homes surrounded by beautiful plants, trees, flowers, and the like. The house was fully furnished and was very comfortable and cozy for our family. We went to the local supermarket and stocked the fridge with drinks, sandwich stuff, snacks, etc... Had several meals in Charleston too.
The pool on the premises is very nice and my wife and children loved it. We met Linda upon arrival as she stopped by to say hello. Thats about all of the interaction we had with her except at the pool. My wife wasn't really pleased in the fact that every time she went to the pool with the kids, the owners and their family came out there too, and she felt uncomfortable with that. She felt they were watching her and the kids for some reason. They weren't really conversing at all just kind of patrolling the pool. Dont really know what that was about.
I would highly recommend this property for people with no small children as i don't think it's what the owners really prefer. It's very quiet and location is great if you dont have to be right on the beach. Hope this helps as we are being very honest with our review. Our stay was an entire week beginning on June 5, 2012

Room Tip: This home is very quaint and decorated nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank wesleygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

If you want to relax and just BE, this is the place. Beautiful surroundings to stroll or excercise. The views from the top is beautiful especially if you are fit enough to conquere the tower above the treetops. We loved the whole feeling about this place and the service at the hotel and its restaurant was excellent. We would love to go back

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights over our anniversary and were overall very happy with our stay. Linda was very accomodating and offered to help us with planning activities in the area and recommending places to eat. She was also so kind as to get up early on our last day to make sure we had coffee to take with us on our 10 hour drive home (she even offered to have fruit set out for us).

The house is a beautiful old historic home that has lovely gardesn all throughout the property. I recommend walking back through the paths to find your own little "spot" - there is a Koi pond we enjoyed watching and there is also a couple hidden swings on the grounds that made us feel completely secluded from the rest of the property. We also greatly enjoyed sitting out by the pool in the afternoons and when the heat got to be too much, we were able to cool off in the pool. The pool is not heated, but with temps in the upper 80's to 90's the water had warmed up nicely.

The only thing we were disappointed in was the breakfast. Having stayed at many B&B's, we're used to having a hot breakfast available. The property provided different breads w/ jams (which were delicious), cereal and fruit along with coffee and tea. So it was enough to start our day, but just not what we had expected.

Overall, we areglad we chose Linwood for anniversary trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerville hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Summerville, SC
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Summerville
Wyndham Garden Summerville
#6 of 11 in Summerville
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Summerville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Summerville
Comfort Suites Summerville
#8 of 11 in Summerville
104 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Summerville
392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 11 in Summerville
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linwood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linwood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 200 S Palmetto St, Summerville, SC 29483-6042
Region: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Summerville
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful and historic LINWOOD estate in Summerville, near Charleston, offers extended stay accommodations in the gracious B&B mansion built in 1883, and also comfortable, fully furnished separate rentals with in the nearly 2 acre, award winning gardens. Each has 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Walk just 4 blocks to the fine restaurants and unique shops of Summerville. Explore Charleston and the beautiful SC coastal region. Return for a refreshing dip in the large, in-ground swimming pool. Enjoy the views from your own private deck or porch. Check with us about upcoming events. LINWOOD is just 2 minutes from route 78, 2 miles from I-26. In Summerville, it is conveniently located between Jedberg and Ladson for executives relocating to the area. Hospitality is our heart. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing