We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Family Vacation Site!”
Architecturally fabulous Hay Barn House fully furnished with the latest comforts on historic estate.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Architecturally fabulous Hay Barn House fully furnished with the latest comforts on historic estate.
The Hay Barn interior is a thrill to enjoy the all pine walls, historic barn with contemporary comforts. towel bar in bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Architecturally fabulous Hay Barn House fully furnished with the latest comforts on historic estate.
The Hay Barn interior is a thrill to enjoy the all pine walls, historic barn with contemporary comforts.
towel bar in bathroom
iron stairway to 2nd floor
twin bedroom with TV, bed lamps and storage
Master bedroom with king bed, bath and deck
The fabulous Hay Barn!
The LINWOOD mansion house on property
large, in-ground swimming pool for residents only
In-ground swimming pool for resident guests only
Gateway to the swimming pool
A view of the award winning gardens at LINWOOD
The front view of the LINWOOD property on West Richardson Ave.
Maple tree in fall on the lane to Hay Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Summerville, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dette2014
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“The Perfect Family Vacation Site!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The Hay Barn was the perfect spot for me and my family to relax and explore the Charleston area. We chose this location because it was not too far from downtown Charleston and close to Goose Creek where our son was stationed in the Navy. We arrived late our first day due to plane delays, so we were exhausted when we pulled up to the Hay Barn. What a pleasant surprise when we pulled down the drive, and we saw "the Barn" lit up. It felt like a welcoming smile after a long day of travel. Upon entering, there was a bowl of fresh tangerines and cold bottled water (this hit the spot for a late night snack).
The decor was perfect and complimented the Barn motif. The grounds were picturesque and private.There was a fire place that not only provided a nice ambiance, it also warmed up the living area perfectly when were didn't want to use the forced heating. The rooms were clean, and the beds very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return to the Hay Barn the next time we travel to Charleston.
Thanks Phil and Linda for creating such a quaint place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
The Hay Barn is a unique and comfortable renovation. Everyone seems to love it. But, it is really nice for us when a guest takes the time to write a review. Thank you. Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmonacell...
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm Comfortable Home”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a nice place for a vacation. We were centrally located for many activities. We went to 3 plantations, the Audubon swamp, kayaking, and 2 days in Charleston. We ate dinner at a different place in Summerville each night then came "home" to this comfortable home. Thank you to Enola and Linda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for writing a review. It is always helpful for future guests to have some ideas/suggestions as to local activities. We are delighted that you found some of the extraordinary interests and activities available in the area. Hope to see you again. Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwreynold...
Max Meadows, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The only place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

We were in the Charleston area for our daughters dance competition and needed a place to stay for the week. We came across The Hay Barn at Linwood in Summerville, SC which is located about 15 miles away from North Charleston. It was a perfect place to stay! We were close enough to visit the historical areas of Charleston but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of tourist season. The pictures listed in the rental description do not do justice to the actual structure and the Linwood grounds! This place is amazing and the Shelbournes, their family, and friends made us feel like we were at home!!! This is the only place to stay if visiting the Charleston area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
It is such a pleasure to have families enjoy the facilities at LINWOOD. Thank you for your helpful review. We are eager to represent the property honestly so our guests thrilled with their choice when they arrive and not in any way disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teacherlm...
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Living History Luxuriously”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Our stay in the Hay Barn at Linwood Estates was fantastic. It was a perfect setup for our family of 4, 2 adults, 8 and 10 year old boys. The full kitchen allowed us to cook full meals and reheat leftovers from trips to restaurants. Every time we looked up we would discover another knick knack that had historical significance or a fun story. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature for cooling off after warm May days. The gardens are simply beautiful. Linda was always available to offer great information and suggestions. Because of this experience I will always look to furnished rentals rather than hotels whenever we travel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: full kitchen, pool
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
This kind of review is helpful to future guests but also encouraging for us. Hospitality is our passion and we are always so pleased to hear that our guests are more than satisfied. Thanks so much. Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 13 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
8
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review which is full of good information for future guests and also a great encouragement for us as we try hard to meet their needs. We are so glad you enjoyed you stay. Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$275
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing