We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but smoke is strong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Summerville
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean hotel but smoke is strong”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed here for three nights and overall pleased with my stay. I would have to agree with one of the other reviews that cigarette smoke filters throughout the hotel. South Carolina is one of the few states that you can still get a smoking room. But the hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. Very close close to the interstate for easy on and off.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the front side it will cut the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    107
    73
    67
    58
See reviews for
246
75
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff from front desk to the housekeeping staff were very nice.

Unfortunately, that doesn't make a hotel the best place to stay. We stayed a week. Our biggest complaint is that the hallways smell like smoke. And all rooms on the 3rd floor were non-smoking, not sure if there are any smoking rooms. It filters in to the room and I HATE cigarette smoke. If you do stay here, the other thing is to be sure you get a room not facing the busy road behind the hotel. That made it hard to sleep.

Positive is that the room was extremely dark and made it easy to sleep late. Reasonably priced, comfortable.

Room Tip: Pick room on front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night on our way down to Florida. We had our pet with us and got a one bedroom suite for the night.

As others have said the décor was a little dated but we really don't care that much about that.

We felt the room had to much furniture in it and could have done with a few less pieces. It gave the room a cluttered look and felt closed in. The one bed suite is setup in shotgun style with the bedroom in the back near the window and the living area closest the door. It makes the living area seem darker. These are all small things.

John at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. There is plenty of shopping close by and and you can easily walk to a Cracker Barrel or Ruby Tuesday. We got take out from the Cracker Barrel and it was very good.

We would stay here again if in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv-to-travel-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had to spend one night in Summerville and my usual hotel was not available, so I gave this one a shot. The room was clean, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast was the usual scrambled eggs and assorted breads and cereal. Not a bad choice if you don't mind a hard bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff here is friendly and helpful. Lots of perks...newspaper at our door each morning...free internet access...complimentary cookies and coffee are available 24 hours a day. We checked into a king suite, and the layout allowed us to be able to shut our bedroom door, with the bathroom still accessible to our daughter, who slept on the pullout sofa one night of our stay. Our dog came with us, and we found our pet friendly room very clean and well-maintained with maid service offered every day. The complimentary breakfast had a tremendous variety of hot foods, fresh fruit, cereal, juices and bakery items. For $99 a night, this was the best deal around for miles and miles! I'll be back for sure. :)

Room Tip: Check out the King Suite rooms, with a sitting room, refrigerator and microwave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guesthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is just off the interstate about 2 miles from the center of Summerville. The location is very convenient, as there are malls, theaters, restaurants all right next door. We discovered a back way into the mall just across the street from this hotel. The breakfast is good and prices are reasonable. In low traffic times it's about a 20-25 minute drive to old town Charleston. The rooms are a little rundown, but we were quite happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hubby surprised me with a 20th wedding anniversary trip and we started out here. It was a beautiful place, close to a lot of good restaurants and we even did some Halloween shopping nearby. The staff was great, and I loved the rooms. Especially the beds; very comfortable! No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerville hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Summerville
Wyndham Garden Summerville
#6 of 10 in Summerville
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Summerville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Summerville
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Summerville
Hampton Inn Summerville
#2 of 10 in Summerville
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Summerville
Comfort Suites Summerville
#7 of 10 in Summerville
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 10 in Summerville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville
Address: 220 Holiday Dr, Summerville, SC 29483-7311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Summerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Summerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Summerville
Country Inns & Suites Summerville Hotel Summerville
Country Inn Summerville
Summerville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing